We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would come back! Great price and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hoboken
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would come back! Great price and location”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Considering the pricing at many of the other places in Manchester, this was a great value! It was in a beautiful setting, and even though we only bumped into the host for a few minutes, she was great! The rooms were basic, but suited us just fine! They were large, and also had a fridge which is always nice when traveling.
Would recommend skipping the coffee in the coffee maker- it took quite a while and did not come out so great.
Only stayed one night passing through, but on future trips to Manchester, would definitely consider staying there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neopolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thanks a bunch for taking the time to write the review. I enjoyed my talk with you and I can't wait to get up to Montreal next week. So sorry for the coffee maker soon we will be serving breakfast. Hopefully you will make it to Manchester again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    101
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
107
145
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We did not spend a lot of time here as we were in something of a rush, but got a great impression nonetheless. We showed up way after hours, unannounced, and were welcomed very warmly by the owners. They gave us some good advice on places to go. The room was clean, well-sized, and the grounds are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dabendschein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thanks a bunch for the comments sorry you didn't have more time to chat and many thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The motel is set very convenient to town on well maintained acreage and the rooms are quaint and well kept. Karen and Adam are wonderful hosts. For the money, I do not think there is a better choice in the area!

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank laurel1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
You were a joy to have and can't wait to see you guys next year. The house will be completed - I will send photo's when the bathroom is done. Thanks a bunch for taking the time to write the review on know you are very busy. Looking forward to next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have family in the area and have stayed here periodically for decades. It's always been a homey, country-type place at a good value, but we've noticed some great improvements lately. This time, we found a new AC unit, flat-screen TV, sweet second-hand dresser and redone shower in our room. Nice! This time of year, the owners' green thumb is evident in the bounty of beautiful perennials throughout the grounds. We understand that plans for an onsite restaurant are advancing. We look forward to even better things from the Stamford!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thanks a bunch for taking the time to write the review and add the pictures. The gardens had been really impressive about three weeks ago. Now I can only bite my fingers so I don't start cutting everything down. The restaurant will be open mid-September and we can't wait. It was a pleasure seeing you again and I wish your daughter much luck at college. Thanks again and look forward to your return next year. Thanks, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Beautiful spot w incredible gardens and priced right for my budget. They r building a restaurant and I was sorry we missed it. Adam and Karen were very helpful in telling us where to eat and where to go when we had free time after the meetings. Ever back in Manchester we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room fourteen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scout W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Your trip flew by so fast. It was a pleasure talking to you every night - I hope the flight home to Hawaii was safe and we hope that you return next year as planned. Thanks a bunch for the comments we greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Quiet, comfortable room and great location. Upon arrival we got great recommendations on places to eat. Beautiful gardens and views. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmtrees16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thanks a bunch for taking the time to write the review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Simple, clean, friendly, close to everything. We had a great stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermonttravler05446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thank you for choosing us and more importantly for taking the time to write the review. It really helps us a bunch. Glad everything worked out o.k. Look forward to your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Property: The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing