We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice...and getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have family in the area and have stayed here periodically for decades. It's always been a homey, country-type place at a good value, but we've noticed some great improvements lately. This time, we found a new AC unit, flat-screen TV, sweet second-hand dresser and redone shower in our room. Nice! This time of year, the owners' green thumb is evident in the bounty of beautiful perennials throughout the grounds. We understand that plans for an onsite restaurant are advancing. We look forward to even better things from the Stamford!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thanks a bunch for taking the time to write the review and add the pictures. The gardens had been really impressive about three weeks ago. Now I can only bite my fingers so I don't start cutting everything down. The restaurant will be open mid-September and we can't wait. It was a pleasure seeing you again and I wish your daughter much luck at college. Thanks again and look forward to your return next year. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 408 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Beautiful spot w incredible gardens and priced right for my budget. They r building a restaurant and I was sorry we missed it. Adam and Karen were very helpful in telling us where to eat and where to go when we had free time after the meetings. Ever back in Manchester we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room fourteen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scout W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Your trip flew by so fast. It was a pleasure talking to you every night - I hope the flight home to Hawaii was safe and we hope that you return next year as planned. Thanks a bunch for the comments we greatly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Quiet, comfortable room and great location. Upon arrival we got great recommendations on places to eat. Beautiful gardens and views. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palmtrees16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thanks a bunch for taking the time to write the review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Simple, clean, friendly, close to everything. We had a great stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vermonttravler05446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thank you for choosing us and more importantly for taking the time to write the review. It really helps us a bunch. Glad everything worked out o.k. Look forward to your return. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

it was very comfortable esp. for a long stay..owners were very friendly and helpful.they also take dogs which was great and not many do anymore.looking forward to staying there again next yr.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corgis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

You guys were great. I so enjoyed cocktail hour with you guys and just playing chatting at the end of the day. You were a breath of fresh air for the two weeks you were with us. So glad you switched spots this year and I'm looking forward to having a beer with you in the new restaurant. Thanks a bunch for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I loved staying at the Stamford in August 2010 and will be back in 2011. The room was very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. I stayed for a week and a half with my small dog while I attended the horse show in Dorset. There is a big lawn behind the hotel that was great for walking the dog and giving him a run. The location was very convenient to Manchester Center. I didn't have time to try the pool but it looked very nice. Gorgeous flower gardens out front.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Owners were nice, but we had to go out and buy air spray and spray the bedspread, carpet and anything else we could. The squawking birds they have in a pen was a little unusual as well.
I would try another motel in town before I came back here, but I have stayed in a lot worse places as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supergirlfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t have a nice experience at the motel. We are both trying very hard to be very accommodating to everyone and make the place really nice for our customers and make sure that everyone is having a wonderful stay. We wish that you had said something to us while you were at the motel – we can’t fix something if we don’t know the issue. If you had been in one of the rooms with a piece of antique furniture that would be where the scent was coming from and the piece of furniture could have easily been removed or we would have been happy to move you into another room. All carpeting, comforters are fairly new. The “squawking birds” are guinea hens and they actually serve a purpose normally they are walking around eating bugs. We purchased them for one important reason – they eat ticks. We are trying to keep our property tick free to prevent our children or guests from getting lyme disease. Now that our restaurant is almost complete we will soon be collecting and serving the eggs from the birds. We apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations but we are assuming that you paid a fair and reasonable price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
681 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
0.7 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
361 reviews
1.2 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
153 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $89 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing