We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best you can get for a motel”
Review of Brittany Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brittany Motel
Ranked #10 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best you can get for a motel”
Reviewed March 2, 2009

The price is very reasonable, the location is a short drive to town and ski areas. It's very clean and simple. The owners are awesome. It's nothing fancy just simple. The rooms are decent size. There's a DVD player in the room and they have several DVD's and games to borrow. The Brittany Motel has restored our faith in motels.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks in the New England area. We only spent one night in Manchester but the Brittany Motel served our needs nicely. Very clean, convenient, and Bill, the owner, was very helpful with things to do, places to eat, etc.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2008

stayed for 3 nights during foliage season. clean room, good size, well appointed, convenient location, nice owners, close to Manchester, well-priced, BUT, the walls are very thin and we could hear the people next door actually hanging clothes up on the clothes rod (there wasn't an actual closet, but a rod on the wall), heard their television, etc. .

  • Liked — inexpensive, good location
  • Disliked — thin walls - could hear neighbors
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank frankie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

We were able to obtain last minute reservations for a busy snowboarding weekend (US Open at Stratton). The motel was simple, clean. The hosts were friendly. They did a great job clearing snow from the paths and parking lot. The room was surprisingly warm at night despite being ground level with a door directly opening to the parking lot. Continental breakfast was very simple: cereal, bagels, oatmeal, granola bars. Easy drive to shopping and skiing. Overall worth the price.

  • Liked — Free wifi
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kwanleilei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, NJ
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

The Brittany is located about 5 mins. from Manchester on the main road 7A. It is set up like a traditional motel on 1 storey with parking directly in front of your room. You can definitely here traffic noise swishing past, but that's probably true of all places along that road.

The rooms are very clean, although the furniture is a little mismatched. Our room had a twin bed and a double bed. The twin was fine, the double's mattress needed replacing. The sheets/ covers were nice quality, but the pillows were hard and lumpy. If you're driving, bring your own.

There was a small fridge in the room which was nice. Ice had to be requested from the front desk. There was also a coffee machine that brewed excellent coffee. I had this instead of the complimentary breakfast on offer in the office: Lenders bagels and English muffins. (There are a number of lovely little restaurants in Manchester that serve breakfast as well as a bagel shop and several coffee/bakery places).

The bathroom was small, but fine. The towels were fluffy, but on the small side. Basic soap and shampoo were provided, but nothing luxurious.

Be sure to open the curtains on the window at the back of your room. The view of the mountains and fields is stunning and peaceful. The front forecourt is also very pleasant with a green area where you could play games. In fact, the front desk has a number of outdoor activities and board games available for the asking.

The place is run by a husband and wife who live on the premises. They are very friendly and we had a nice chat. Rates were alot more reasonable than the fancy B&Bs at about $100 for the night. It's quite basic, but perfectly fine.

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — Mattress was not comfortable
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2005

We have stayed at the Brittany Inn Motel and we love it. The property is lovely, with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains and meadows and just a three minute drive from Manchester. The rooms are cozy, comfortable and charming, much more like a country inn than a motel. The hosts, Jennifer and Bill, couldn't be more helpful and knowledgeable about the area. There are a lot of expensive places to stay in Manchester, but save your money for the great shopping and dining and stay at this place instead. It is by far the best moderately priced lodging in the area and well worth the money: a wonderful choice and a real bargain. We go to Manchester all the time and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Helpful?
11 Thank aquamarinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
5.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Weathervane Motel
Weathervane Motel
#13 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.0 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brittany Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brittany Motel

Property: Brittany Motel
Address: Historic Rte 7A, 1056 Main Street, Manchester, VT 05254
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brittany Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brittany Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brittany Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing