We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse
Ranked #10 of 61 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North Road
Description: A casual dining experience offering exceptional meals at breakfast and dinner. All of our sauces, soups and dressings our handcrafted on our property. We serve prime cut steaks, fresh seafood, pork loin (one of the favorites after the steaks and seafood) at dinner, along with hamburgers, salads and panini's. Nipper's has become popular amongst the locals and tourist for serving up outstanding fresh food. Whenever possible we use all local produce or preferably the vegetables come from our own organic or hydroponic gardens. At breakfast we offer 11 different kinds of eggs benedicts and you are able to choose from 2 or 3 eggs. We offer a variety of griddle items (cinnamon french toast, pancakes and more) with mix or max options. Of course our corned beef hash is homemade. We have a variety of omelettes and you are able to have them prepared with egg whites if you like. We are located 1.5 miles North of town on route 7A - Go the extra mile, we do.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Not gourmet but good home cooking. Steak that I had was very fatty but homemade mashed potatoes were delicious! Would recommend especially as most restaurants in Manchester are rip-offs and not good quality.

Thank essie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

The furthest thing from gourmet or a four or five star restaurant. Just good homecooked food at a reasonable price. Thanks so much for dining with us. We hope that we filled your belly. We look forward to your return visit in the near future. Thanks for writing the review it is nice to get a great review from someone who writes so many reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 358 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

As a first timer to your restaurant I must say that I was very impressed . The food was very good and the service was great . We had a family gathering of around 12 -14 people which was handled at very professional level . Would I go back ? You can count on it ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

It was a pleasure to have your family dine with us and we are so very happy everything worked out so well for breakfast. I know much thought went into deciding where to dine due to the fact that everyone was traveling. We were happy that you choose us and ecstatic that we lived up to your expectations. We look forward to you dining with us again in the near future - hopefully another family event. Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

food was delicious and the prices were very reasonable. atmosphere was great. staff and owners were very friendly and on thier toes whenever we needed anything. we stayed in thier hotel too. (the stamford hotel) a great romantic trip all around

Thank amelia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you guys stay with us and dine with us. We are so happy that we lived up to your expectations and had an enjoyable dinner. Hopefully you will join us again in the not so distant future. Once again many thanks for finding the time to write both reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were told this was the number one restaurant in Manchester Vermont so we made a point to try it out. We called ahead to be sure there was avaialble seating and was told that we needed to make a reservation, so we did only to find the restaurant empty we when we arrived, only two other guests arrived while we dined. The meal was average, frozen and unremarkable. the server was nice but overly chatty, ok thats fine , and we left feeling a little bit confused. How does a restaurant in a Motel lobby with portion controlled, average frozen vegtable meals earn a FIRST in class rating, come on.
maybe it was an off night, well we won't be dining there again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

I certainly won’t wait two days to respond to this – horrified. You were totally misinformed and didn't know where you were going.

First off we are perhaps a two star restaurant offering delicious fresh homecooked food at affordable prices. The most expensive item on our menu is a $24 filet – doesn’t that tell you something we can’t compete nor do we try to compete with Mistral’s, Chantecleer or the Silverfork – we are not offering that type of food or that ambiance. We also enjoy those restaurants for a nice and expensive meal out. Did you not think to look at our menu - if you had you could have recognized the fact that we certainly aren't the four or five star dining experience.

If you called to inquire about making a reservation of course you would be advised to make a reservation because we have had evenings where the place has filled up – we only have ten tables. We certainly weren’t forcing you to make a reservation and upon walking in you could have left. We are very small and we do not keep extra hands in the kitchen if we don't need to. So we will advise so we can get a rough idea of how many people may or may not be dining with us we can have the kitchen run smoothly and your food can come out in a timely fashion.

We take great insult to your comment about frozen vegetables – in the summer we try to grow all of our vegetable and in the winter all of our vegetables come from our purveyors – they aren’t frozen nor are they close to being frozen. As you saw the restaurant is very very small – how big do you think the kitchen is – even smaller. We don’t have a walk-in freezer – we have two small fridges and everything is fresh. We have limited storage and buy everything in small amounts – one so we don’t waste and two so we can provide our consumers with the best product we can offer. You really shouldn’t make slanderous comments when you are so misinformed. So before you lie perhaps you should know what kind of food you are eating.

We were rated the number 1 restaurant not because it was the best meal in town and we are quite capable of stating that we don’t nor do we try to offer a $40+ to die for meal. What put us in that #1 spot is just a numbers game – we had a bunch of people who enjoyed a good home-cooked meal at an affordable price – so they rated us high. It’s all a numbers game and we had more reviews and the ratings were high because people understood who they were comparing us to – unlike yourself who is comparing us to a Mistral’s etc... since it is quite evident that you were looking to dine that evening at a four or five star establishment and not our little two star restaurant with a casual ambiance.

We are the first to admit that the ambiance may or may not be ideal but once again our price point warrants the experience and the food we are serving. We certainly don’t try to stick it to the tourist like many places do. So perhaps you should understand where you are going and really do your homework before you make a reservation.

Once again people like you shouldn’t be allowed to write reviews because 1. You don’t understand how tripadvisor works 2. You aren’t comparing us to our competition so we aren’t fairly judged 3. You may have been hired by the competition to bring down are score.

I do apologize it seems as though I or another server spoke to much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Pleasantry

My grandmother once told us that "it's the simple things in life that make us happy"

Nippers café is a breath of fresh air when looking for reasonable prices and great food.
In a world of hotels and motels nippers café stands alone for its simplicity and great food!

Upon entering the doors to the café you are pleasantly surprised with the quaint setting and warm hospitality.

I had the pecan / horseradish crusted salmon with mashed red potatoes. I travel quite a bit, more than most and this is without a doubt the best tasting salmon I've had the pleasure of eating. My wife had a similar experience with her lamb both of these dishes were well proportioned and would have made the chopped judges smile!

Bottom line..... looking for a great place to eat in a great atmosphere where the prices are as friendly as the smiles.... make the trip to nippers café !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

So happy that the two of you were able to join us. Glad that we were able to live up to your expectations we look forward to serving you again in the not so distant future. Thanks for the great review and happy holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing