We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal, great service, great value.”
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Ranked #6 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: It opened about 2 weeks ago
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service, great value.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friends and I all enjoyed the delicious lunch and prompt service, all at a reasonable price. Will return for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mangophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    108
    23
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Consistenly Wonderful”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I eat out in Manchester at least once a week and Thai Basil is one of our favorite dining spots. I always get Salmon green curry & asparagus--it's so incredibly good I can't bear to try another dish. My husband likes several entrees, specifically the crispy duck with tamarind sauce. Friends from Philly joined us at Thai Basil during the recent holiday weekend and had great meals as well, Pad-See U with chicken for her, Pad Thai with shrimp for him. We then shared mango pudding with coconut ice cream for dessert. Absolutely scrumptious. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2doglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another good choice in Manchester”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on a beautiful sunny afternoon and ate outside. Pad Thai was very good. Service was good. A nice alternative for something a little different in town. We'll go back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nutmegger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
592 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Good quality Thai Green curry chicken”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We ate lunch here and the Green Curry Chicken with rice was not part of the lunch menu but we ordered it anyway. At $15 it was expensive compared to massaman curry at $8 but it was worth it. Very good flavour and heat. Quite authentic.
Dumpling appetizers were a small portion but tasty and Tom Kha soup was also good.
Tasteful decor and a good menu selection also on offer.
One downside - something sticky (we think curry) was on the chair my husband sat on. Our laundering solved it but no offer of help from the restaurant staff (we think they could not work out what they should do). A tip - offer a wet cloth instead of looking at him futilely wiping with a paper napkin. So service was ok but could be better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A gem not to be missed”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Snuck in before the lunch time dining ended. The Tom Yum soup was wonderful! As we're the two appetizers; dumplings and spring rolls. Next time will return for a full dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing