We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, charming Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inns at Equinox
Ranked #9 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Have stayed at the Equinox several times. The location is downtown Manchester Center which is very pretty, and quite peaceful. The grounds of the Equinox are beautiful, and there is a nice spa, also fitness center and indoor swimming pool. The rooms are just OK, nothing fantastic. ...but always clean. The service is wonderful, and the staff is always friendly and helpful. Do be sure to look for deals on the internet or on their site, as the rates vary dramatically.
Would definitely go back, but I think the rooms are starting to show some wear. If you chose to stay there , stay in the main hotel, not the townhouses. 4th floor rooms are always quieter and sunnier too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are quieter and sunnier. Request a view of Mount Equinox if possible. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a stunning hotel and location. Ok, the weather was kind, but we had a wonderful 3 days based at this hotel. The room was stunning - thank you for the Gold member upgrade - the outdoor hot tub soooo relaxing and the Chop House perfect for a celebration meal. The service was great too.

Manchester itself was a great base, but don't expect much from the outlets.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived at the Equinox hotel looking forward to our stay in the green mountains. We received a very warm welcome from the reception staff and were very quickly directed to the town houses at the back of the hotel. What a disappointment! The rooms are basic to say the least and as mentioned by a couple of other reviewers the rooms have seen better days. The views of the mountains were great but that didn't make up for the peeling wall paper and hairs in the sink. Be warned ... We stayed on the ground floor and we could hear every movement of the people staying in the room above. The walls are paper thin and you could hear the doors banging as people left their rooms. It's a real shame as the hotel itself is lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doozy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is what we sent to the Equinox:


I have just filled out the survey linked to this email. I hope the results of the survey are beneficial to you to make improvements. We have been significantly disappointed with the recent stay our parents endured. They began their 8/8/13 stay by entering a room with a strange smell, slanted floors, peeling wallpaper, and hair in the bathtub. They went to enjoy the salt water pool and found out it was closed for their entire stay due to some child urinating in it. From their they tried to use the outdoor hot tub which they found littered with children (probably because the pool was closed for so long). My parents reported then went back to the room exhausted of their experience, tried to take a bath and found they had no hot water - my mother in law was crying at this point. They finally found the bath to produce hot water but could not hold the water - so it just drained slowly out. Overall their experience was horrible. We were ashamed for purchasing this for them - it was a gift for their 35th wedding anniversary. Please take this has a chance to make grave improvements to the resort. We don't want anyone else - especially our family to go through something like this again.

As a result they called to confirm and we repeated what was just wrote then did nothing - stating our parents should have called and reported the discrepancies. In talking to our parents, we found out they did, and the front desk never called them back! The Inn did not provide us with a refund or much less a future free stay - as we have money being held hostage there because of a groupon deal they refused to let us use in helping our parents stay. I am beyond disgusted with this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Abigail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Avoid the 1811 house. The plumbing sounds like Niagara Falls, neither the TV nor internet worked, the electric keys failed several times, heating either high or off. Get your receipt in person - the email receipt never came. The whole place is nice - spa particularly - but the personnel although pleasant and helpful don't seem well organized.

Room Tip: 'nough said
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The townhouse were very noisy. Could hear people walking upstairs, taking a shower or flushing toilet next door . Heat/air did not work had to move. At almost $200/night,way over priced for lack of comfort and quiet.

Townhouse should be torn down and rebuilt as it is negative to the rest of the facility.

They said Townhouses were not part of Starwood program but other 2 facilities on site were.

Also tacked on a $25 "resort fee". Grounds were nice.

Room Tip: Stay in another part of hotel (for over $200/night) but not townhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Art1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just returned from 2 days at The Equinox. It was our 3rd time back.

First the plusses. The bell hops in their knickers who greet you on arrival are just fabulous. Always a smile and always helpful, as in the checkin.The hotel has so many small intimate places to just and relax, I especially loved the outdoor fireplace with loads of comfortable chairs and cushions to sit on and just relax and look around at the flowers and green.

Talking about the lawn areas, I defy anyone to find a weed. The outdoors are just kept up beautifully. We were up graded from a Superior room to a Deluxe one which was huge and with the most comfortable beds that I have slept on in a while. Our room was 402 but we had to get off on the third floor . When we opened the door there was a flight of stairs to get to the sleeping area. The room was slightly slanted and took a few minutes or longer to get used to. I was told that the concierge knew the story but we never asked.

A nice touch was that valet parking was included in the room rate and we were asked on checkin if we wanted the Times and/or Wall Street Journal delivered each morning which it was.

The buffet breakfast served was top notch. Anything you wanted was there for the taking.

I did not play golf this time but I had in the past and the course is really great; a true mountain course.

I won't discuss the outlet shopping in Manchester Village but surfise to say that the outlets there carried nicer merchandise than at other outlet centers I have been to.

Now for the minuses which are far outweighed by the plusses but should be mentioned.

There was no coffee maker in the room and if you wanted early morning coffee there was a coffee bar set up on the lobby floor. They did not provide sleeves for the coffee cups which when carried up to the room were quite hot. This should be easy to fix.

While the golf course was excellent there is no driving range. If you want one you have to drive a few miles out of town to get to one.

We decided to eat at the hotel our first night and I asked to see the menus for The Chop House and Marsh's Tavern . The prices at the Chop House were outrageous. Steaks were$43-$49 each and that was without sides. We live in New York City and eat at some of the best steak houses in The City. The prices in NYC at some of these places were less than the Chop House. I think that the Hotel is just taking advantage...This is Manchester Vermont not NYC.

Some of the green shutters need repair and paint as do some of the Window sills and frames.

Finally, and I still cannot understand this, with all the property that the hotel has they have never put in an outdoor pool. The indoor pool was lovely but in the summer people want to be outdoors not indoors. This was echoed by a several guests who were first time visitors. we have stayed at the Woodstock Inn and Top Notch Resort, both comparable hotels and both do have both indoor and outdoor pools. This omission gives me second thoughts about making the Equinox my first choice for a Summer vacation in Vermont, a state that I just love.

O

Room Tip: Stay in the Main House as the Hotel has other properties not connected
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hwayne310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
3.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inns at Equinox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inns at Equinox

Address: 3567 Main Street Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $167 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inns at Equinox 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inns at Equinox offer a traditional way to experience the charm of southern Vermont with access to all of the amenities of the Equinox Resort. The 1811 House, which is the former home of Abraham Lincoln's granddaughter, is an excellently maintained romantic country inn offering soaring mountain views and a glimpse into history. Retreat to one of 13 unique guestrooms, which delight guests with graceful details, such as canopied beds, private porches, authentic antiques, and prized artwork. The 1811 House is open seasonally, Memorial Day weekend through the end of October. The Inns thirty newly renovated townhouses have a fresh new look. Designed by sought-after interior designer Mitchell Gold for the Bob Williams Collection, this new decor includes new sofas, furnishings, light fixtures, reclaimed floor wood for side tables and area photos from local photographers. A 75-yard stroll from the resort brings you to The Dormy House, situated just off of the first tee box of our golf course. Two distinct suites offer comfortable sleeping and dining quarters with the feel of an upscale Vermont country home. A private patio is equipped with outdoor furniture for an impromptu barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inns at Equinox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing