We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Ring in the New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inns at Equinox
Ranked #6 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Westport, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Ring in the New Year”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family and other family friends have been going to the Equinox for the New Year's Eve celebration for the past 5 years. It is a great place to enjoy family time and celebrate the holidays. There are events scheduled for the kids - a magic show, movies at night, bingo, hot chocolate and cookies at tea time every day, and a party with a DJ just for them on New Year's Eve. For the adults, there is a formal New Year's Eve party, the Spa, exercise classes, an outdoor hot tub, a big bonfire with champagne on New Year's Eve and a warm sitting area with a roaring fire. But what impresses me the most about the Equinox during this week is the generous attitude and extra effort they make to ensure this is a pleasant experience for everyone in the family.

The Hotel is old, but I believe it has incredible character and that the rooms and public areas have been kept up very well. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. And the staff is always available to help address any needs if you have them. The pool, spa and exercise areas are never crowded and they are kept impeccably. In addition, the hotel is situated on such a pretty New England street right in front of Equinox Mountain. If you are outdoorsy, like us, this is a great plus. The kids can sled right behind the hotel (with sleds provided for free by the hotel) on an awesome hill and my husband and I can strap on our snowshoes and hike any number of trails up and around the mountain. The hotel also provides free shuttles to 2 of the ski resorts in the area.

At night, after a satisfying dinner, either in the pub or in Manchester, we all reconvene in the library for drinks and a rowdy game of cards. To our family and friends it is a beautiful winter weekend and a great way to ring in the New Year and spend it all together.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea12902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    47
    36
    26
    13
See reviews for
45
103
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel offers a great location and spacious accommodations. The hot tub is great, the tavern food is ok and the room was fairly clean (though dated). The public spaces in the hotel are grand and comfortable. Sadly the beds are too soft and smell of carpet cleaner, and the Formica sink area holds plastic cups wrapped in plastic. Manchester has a lot to offer besides the mountains and was worth the visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Patty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The equinox reminds me of an aging musician (I was thinking rock star, but somehow using that term in conjunction with the equinox seemed incongruous). If you go to their concert late in their career, you either love the nostalgia, or wince at how far their talents have eroded. Having stayed at the equinox numerous times over many years, I feel a little of each of these emotions. Some of the old features live on, but many do not. Admittedly some of my dismay was a factor of timing, the place was overrun with I'll-behaved families (picture staying at Chuckie Cheese overnight), but some was a factor of the mass market touches that Starwood has imposed, such as plastic disposable cups in the guest rooms a la motel 6. Space does not allow me to list all the short comings, this was just emblematic of the chain hotel touches compliments of the current owners.

The food was uneven. Dinner at the Marsh Tavern was still quite good, although breakfast was virtually inedible. If you like Manchester there are now other places you can (and should) stay. If you are not tied to Manchester, great alternatives abound elsewhere in New England. Bottom line, for only a little more money, one could stay at the Mayflower, and have an infinitely better stay. On the other hand if you want to be surround

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently I stayed with my “tween” daughter and her friend at the Equinox Resort and Spa for a quick girls getaway. This was my second stay at this property and I noticed some disparities from my prior visit. This visit, instead of the main inn, I stayed in the Townhomes building. There, the rooms were much larger and well equipped. This was a welcome change in comparison to the “quaint” sized room in the main building. Our room had two entries and we had our own patio with a lawn abutting a beautiful view of the mountains.

In contrast to our room, the level of service and graciousness of staff were quite varied. During our first trip to the pool, the girls were instructed to use the family locker room which had no shower and no toiletries. In addition, while I was freshening up in the elegant and luxurious women’s locker room, the girls conveyed they felt uncomfortable, as the spa staff watched their every move while they explored the items for sale in the spa lobby. I got the same sense when I had to notify the staff member of an unpleasant odor coming from the hot tub. While they had to drain and refill the hot tub because of a “chemical problem”, the staff member appeared annoyed that I brought it to her attention. We later had a small snack and hot chocolate at the marsh tavern and while the wait staff were cordial, the hot chocolate was very cold (spirited and non spirited!).

Finally, while the activities flyer notified us when we arrived at the pool for our “do over” of our hot tub experience that children were not permitted during the morning aerobic class; we were able to make the most of our finally day by convincing the water aerobics instructor to allow us to join in her class. The three of us had a great work out and met some nice women during the class. While I selected this property for a “tween” spa like getaway, I would not recommend this type of visit in the future, as children under 16 years of age can not participate in ANY spa services.

Room Tip: Townhouse Building on the the first floor gives you direct access to outside and the mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leighcarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga springs
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Thanks to a Living Social steal of a deal, my husband and I headed over to Manchester, Vt which is about 45 minutes from another great town - Saratoga Springs in NY. The brilliant fall foliage of the Green Mts offered the perfect backdrop for this pristine, historical New England inn set in Manchester, Vt. The accommodations, food, service, and all the finishing touches were first rate. Everything sparkled. We stayed in the main inn which was originally built in 1769, though today is quite grand and sprawling, modernized with furniture, fresh paint, and lots of windows to let in sunshine. We were greeted with cozy fires in each fireplace located in the public rooms all day and night. After a delicious dinner, we walked into the Falcons Bar for drinks and chocolates! There is a nice selection of both moderately priced. A favorite feature was the large fire pit on the rear patio that invited conversation by visitors sitting around it. All around us were the beautiful Green Mtns. Changing colors before our eyes. The new spa - unfortunately, in a separate new building? Was worth the short walk. A nice fitness center, large indoor pool, and other amenities were pleasing, as well! Also, on the premises is The unique school of falconry ( rare indeed!). Shopping abounds with nearby outlets and an Orvis Store and trout pond! A perfect over- nighter!

Room Tip: Stay in the main house if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Knolte124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I previously wrote a review titled "Robbery" and after spending a night at the Equinox I feel the need to clarify a few things.

1. The Townhouses: I read from many reviews that the rooms were tiny and haven't been renovated. I disagree with both. I'm a NYer, so perhaps my idea of tiny clashes with the rest of America, but my room in the Inn was definitely not tiny. I'm still not sure why we were told a cot wouldn't fit; there was plenty of room. I guess they wanted to cash in on the fact that there were 3 of us.
The room itself was very nicely renovated and clean. It sort of reminded me of a W Hotel. And the Molton Brown products in the bathroom were a nice touch.

2. Price: I still think this hotel is waaaaay overpriced. I just don't get it.

3. The staff: Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating.

So... I guess if you have to stay at the Equinox it wouldn't be a terrible thing, but I won't be rushing back anytime soon unless they lower their prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cushing, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We were in the area for my husbands attendance at the orvis fly fishing school. The ambience,service with a smile,relaxing atmosphere and the plethora of things to do in the area made for a magical 23 days.Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EILEEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
311 reviews
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inns at Equinox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inns at Equinox

Property: The Inns at Equinox
Address: 3567 Main Street Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inns at Equinox 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inns at Equinox offer a traditional way to experience the charm of southern Vermont with access to all of the amenities of the Equinox Resort. The 1811 House, which is the former home of Abraham Lincoln's granddaughter, is an excellently maintained romantic country inn offering soaring mountain views and a glimpse into history. Retreat to one of 13 unique guestrooms, which delight guests with graceful details, such as canopied beds, private porches, authentic antiques, and prized artwork. The 1811 House is open seasonally, Memorial Day weekend through the end of October. The Inns thirty newly renovated townhouses have a fresh new look. Designed by sought-after interior designer Mitchell Gold for the Bob Williams Collection, this new decor includes new sofas, furnishings, light fixtures, reclaimed floor wood for side tables and area photos from local photographers. A 75-yard stroll from the resort brings you to The Dormy House, situated just off of the first tee box of our golf course. Two distinct suites offer comfortable sleeping and dining quarters with the feel of an upscale Vermont country home. A private patio is equipped with outdoor furniture for an impromptu barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inns at Equinox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing