We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating with good BBQ and Mexican treats”
Review of Gringo Jack's

Gringo Jack's
Ranked #18 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Accomodating with good BBQ and Mexican treats”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great pulled pork and chicken fajitas. Fresh and tasty. The beer choices were good but the Rita was a tad basic. The desserts were homemade and very good, too. Very accommodating and friendly service. Overall a great place for a casual dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    165
    93
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, CT
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfectly OK Mexican”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a good dinner here, just nothing spectacular; we are hard to please as we have an incredible Mexican restaurant near where we live in CT. This was maybe a bit pricey, although I realize it is high season in Vermont.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveler717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“recommended Manchester stop!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We ate at Gringo Jack's on our last night in Vermont. The food was delicious! We started with the guacamole and homemade chips. Very good! I had the pulled pork sandwich and my boyfriend had the taco's. We both enjoyed our dinners very much.

The only disappointing part was the service. The waitresses were working as hard as they could, but there were only two of them and a restaurant full of people. At one point we were promised more chips that never came and we waited about 15 minutes after asking for our check. Again, nothing an extra waitress or two can't solve.

Overall, I recommend Gringo Jack's. Great food, affordable prices and a good location for window shopping after dinner!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ak195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
452 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Good Mexican ... in Vermont”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I went here with friends while visiting Vermont recently. They were open late (when other restaurants had turned us away). The plates were large, well-presented and servings were generous. Each of the four of us in our party ordered a slightly different dish, and everyone enjoyed his meal. Mine was spicier than I was led to believe it would be... but then again, "spicy" is somewhat subjective. Of note was our waitress, who was spunky, outgoing and quite friendly- and we got good service. I would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
2 reviews
“Great food, Awesome Service”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is one of my favorite places to eat. The food is super good and freshly made. Lots of food and drink options- very accommodating for dietary requests. Our server, Emma, was helpful, polite, and informative.

A great evening all around!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo Jack's also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Gringo Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing