We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Work”
Review of Gringo Jack's

Gringo Jack's
Ranked #18 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs Work”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband, our 2 daughters who are 7 and 11, and I went to Gringo Jack's for dinner and were placed in what was clearly the "families with young kids" room. It was loud, service is slow and the tables are close together. The food was terrible, except for the chips. I got a mojito and sent it back b/c it was so bad. I got a plain margarita instead and that was fine. If you go here, stick with the basics - don't try anything too unusual. Also, if you go and either don't have kids with you or have kids that are well-behaved, definitely ask not to be seated in the room that has loud families with screaming kids.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    168
    95
    41
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice southwestern/Tex-Mex”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Housed in a nice 1800's brick building, the southern decor was immediately inviting and interesting with original art covering the walls (that was also available for purchase). As others have mentioned, the complimentary chips were probably the best i've had in a Tex-Mex restaurant. The Guacamole was also excellent. My wife and I had an appetizer from the specials menu, an arugula salad with baked goat cheese - outstanding.

Our table had a variety of mains, pulled pork and beef tacos, chicken salad and seafood/rice dish. These were unfortunately not on par with the starters. While not bad they were nothing noteworthy and slightly disappointing after the yummy appetizers. The BBQ sauce on the brisket tacos was somewhat overpowering. The service was very good and a mistake by the waiter with some dishes for the kids was remedied within 5-6 minutes.

All in all a solid choice for Tex-Mex in the Stratton/Manchester area.

Summary:

Location/Ambience: 6/10
Warm and eclectic interior in old brick building on Main st.

Food: 6/10

Service: 8/10

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duna36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A Fun Night Out!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had dinner at Gringo Jack’s in January 2013. The atmosphere was festive and we had no issues with the service. The complimentary chips and salsa definitely stood out (compared to other Tex-Mex restaurants.) The food and drinks were good; our only complaint would be that our table was a bit close to our neighbor’s. We would recommend Gringo Jack’s for a casual and fun night out. (Note: If you are going on a Friday or Saturday night, make a reservation, we didn’t and had to wait 40 minutes for a table.)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherryTravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Q!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We really like the BBQ Pork Sandwich, nice tang!
Always and great burger too. I like to get the chipotle Creme on the side for dipping the fries.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“o.k food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had lunch at Gringo's over the Holidays, it was not busy and we were seated quickly. The salsa was bland and the chips were very greasy. My chimichanga had very little chicken in it and this bad tasting barbeque like sauce all over it, the guacamole was good. The enchilada's were o.k but also greasy. This was not authentic Mexican food or even Southwest style food. Service was slow but fine. I would not eat at Gringo Jack's again, Manchester has much to offer when it comes to restaurants, to bad Nipper's Cafe does not serve lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim and Gretche... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo Jack's also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Gringo Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing