We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jonny”
Review of Firefly Restaurant

Firefly Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: this used to be Maxwell's Flat Road Grill, which sold about a month ago, and by the way, is MUCH better, you really need to list it, btw, I am a regular, but that is neither here nor there. They are doing very well with both locals and tourists which is a welcome change, phone number is the same, owner is Susan and Jon French, please give them visibility on this site, for the record, this location has a deep and long history, starting as the Taco House in the 70's- 80's, OTL (Out to Lunch) in the 80's-90's, then Maxwell the past 9 years , now Firefly. People still come in and call it the Taco House, imagine that,,, regards, wmfox@att.net if any questions
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jonny”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Now for some great news during these frigid days: Yup, you guessed it!! It's the yearly return of Jon's Chesapeake Bay crab soup. Takes me back to my MD days. This is just the thing to warm you from the inside out. If crab isn't your thing, Jon also makes the best French Onion soup I have ever had......thx, Jon!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    31
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very local spot”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Good beer list, friendly local type service and great wings. We were there for the 50 cent special night, four flavors (Asian is the best) keep them coming.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fine for a quick lunch”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nothing special about this place. The salads were fresh, burgers a bit overcooked. Average prices, for average food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alogan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE PORPOISE
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Too noisy to truly enjoy our meal”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

To be fair the Firefly is a fairly small restaurant/bar combination in an old building with minimal sound proofing. The night we were there the crowd at the bar was watching a loud TV and talking in very loud voices. It was impossible to talk to my husband across the table from me due to the noise. The food was very good....especially the French Onion Soup and the Mud Pie, but the noise level would prevent me from returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Maybe a good bar but food so so”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

3 p.m. On a Monday and very noisy bar crowd watching loud TV Nice waitperson but we won't be back since food not good for half the price

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iintrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Firefly Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing