We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great indoor pool!”
Review of Palmer House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palmer House
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great indoor pool!”
Reviewed November 6, 2005

I paid extra for a suite, and I'm glad I did! It was still reasonable--cheaper than most B & B's--and the room was BEAUTIFUL. Clean, tasteful, and the pool was wonderful as well. The adjoining restaurant was a real deal with excellent, reasonably priced food. We had a wonderful night in Manchester, and will surely return.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    91
    23
    7
    9
See reviews for
60
177
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2005

We stayed at the Palmer House in February 2005 for three nights and had the 129 pp/per night ski/lodging package. Overall, it was fine. The room was spacious and clean (some iron stains on the carpet). The bed was a bit firm (very firm). I wouldn't say it was a great value, but it was adequate for what we needed. It seemed a little stark. Hot tub was great (would be better if it was outside), and the location of the property is excellent (right in town and close to everything). I recommend eating at Ye Olde Tavern which is adjacent to the property.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 4, 2005

A real bargain in the off-season -- standard rooms are spacious, marble baths, separate dressing areas, quiet. Nice, sunny breakfast room for continental breakfast. Very well kept up property. We always stay here when we're in Manchester.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2004

We stayed at the Palmer House for 4 nights. We had a suite. The place was spotless, the staff was kind and accomodating. We would definitely stay again.

Terri McCullough

Helpful?
1 Thank mibuswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2003

My young son and I spent two days at the Palmer house in June -- we had such a great time that we went back for another two days in early November. We were not disappointed! During both visits, we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly -- everything we asked for we got. Our rooms were huge, comfortable, clean and we enjoyed the grounds, the outdoor pool / jacuzzi (June), and the indoor pool and whirlpool / sauna (Nov) tremendously. As a family, we have vacationed in Manchester on and off for over 10 years and, considering the price and amenities, the Palmer House is far and away one of the best values in the area. We will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2003

Allthough the location is great, the Palmer House, a combination motel and resort with suites, was extremely expensive for what you got. The desk staff was poorly trained, the room, which we paid $175 in the off season, should have been priced at $90. It was motel room-like, with thin towels, very synthethic bedding, and low wattage lightbulbs. Also, it was not very clean and the walls were so thin between rooms, you could hear others showering next door. I would not recommend this place at all, although Manchester is a great place for an overnight stay if you like to shop, tour and dine!

Helpful?
8 Thank WendyWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2002

My mother and I took a trip from Syracuse to Bennington and then up to Manchester, VT in Oct 2002. Please don't miss 2 great stores on the way "Basketville" & "The Jelly Mill".

The Palmer House looks a little older in the front, but it has the most AMAZING suites I have ever seen (in the back near the pond). You get a full kitchen, living room with fireplace, HUGE bathroom with big jacuzzi, and a large bedroom with a great king bed. VERY nice. I think they came to $129/night or less off-season.

The hotel has a cute practice golf green and right next to the suites is a very nice and clean indoor pool. It is brand new...about 5 feet deep the whole length and olympic sized! Huge! It's awesome to float on your back and look up at the recessed ceiling with hidden lights that is shaped exactly like the pool. For $2 you get a continental breakfast in the main sun room (bagels, toast, cereal, fruit, muffins, coffee, tea, orange juice and milk.

If you are lucky enough to get a suite, this hotel is definitely worth staying at. If not, the other rooms are quite nice too. Very big with a separate kitchenette/sink area/fridge and very nice upscale bathroom.

I WOULD definitely stay at the Palmer House again.

Helpful?
2 Thank kariann121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
621 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
1.7 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House

Property: Palmer House
Address: 5383 Main Street , Route 7A North, Manchester, VT 05255
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmer House is a 4 season resort located in Manchester center, only a short walk from the center of town. We offer a variety of rooms and suites with either a king bed or two double beds. Our suites offer a king bed, fireplace, two person jacuzzi and a private balcony with views of the trout/Bass pond and Equinox Mountain. During the summer and fall months enjoy our 9 hole par 3 golf course, two tennis courts and our own stocked trout/Bass pond. In the summer take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool with attached jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Manchester
Palmer Hotel Manchester Center
Palmer Motel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing