We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Palmer House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palmer House
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Palmer House in August 2013 while doing a 4 day bike ride in Vermont. We stayed at a few motels/hotels in the area, both my son and I agreed that the Palmer House was by far the best! The room was very clean, spacious and had a large dressing area next to the bathroom. The grounds are well manicured with a 9 hole golf course. There is also a beautiful pond on the property with rooms overlooking the pond. The group of cyclists that we were with all commented how nice the Palmer House was. It is obvious that the owners and employees take pride in the Palmer House. If you plan on a visit to the area, I would highly recommend you consider the Palmer House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hello and thank you for your delightful review! How nice to hear not only you but an entire group found us to their liking! I remember a bike group staying with us in August and I must return the compliment as everyone was very friendly and just happy to be here! But it's also helpful for us to hear how we are faring in comparison to other hotel stops you make along the way...so thank you and please return with the rest of your family...bikes included!
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 337 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a motel style room, king bed, nice sitting area with a full size sofa, comfy chair and table - felt like a living room! Nice table and chairs outside the room too, looking over the nicely manicured green. The grounds were beautiful with a little 9 hole golf course surrounding the buildings, hike to fishing pond..very relaxing. Bed was comfortable, bathroom nicely appointed. I did have a little troubling keeping the shower temp consistent. Room had a nice size min-fridge with a freezer compartment that was very handy. Breakfast in a common room near the office, $2.50 a head, honor system - toast, English muffins, mini bagels, cereal, juice, milk, coffee - basic but really all we needed. Walking distance to some nice dining spots, and you really could walk to the shopping areas. Office staff was very friendly and helpful. Given the location to hiking, golfing, skiing, shopping, on top of the pleasant atmosphere we will definitely return!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GreenVTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hello and thank you for the nice description of the Palmer House...made me want to get a room myself! I will pass on to our Maintenance team about the shower...always good to hear if there's anything that needs attention...thank you. I'm very happy to hear you plan on returning.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I just returned from one of my many visits to the Palmer House and once again it was a wonderful experience. The room was very clean with a large bathroom. The hotel grounds are beautiful and expansive. My unit overlooked the pond which was very nice this time of year. The owners are gracious and devoted to their guests. It's proximity to town, skiing, hiking and restaurants is a major plus. Excellent experience all around.

Room Tip: The suites are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello and thank you for your delightful review! Your description aptly describes your stay in one of our Deluxe Suites. If I had my way, I would live in one of them permanently....they have everything you need...including no kitchen! Although each room is quite spacious and also has a small refrigerator and coffee pot, the Suites have that much more charm with the fireplace, private balcony and jacuzzi tub.
We do hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The rooms were clean and well appointed. Very close to city activities. Plenty of nice dining available within short distances. A simple, light breakfast was available for $2.50 per person. The grounds were clean and well kept. My wife and I enjoyed our stay; we stayed four nights. I definitely would return to this establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hello and thank you for your concise and positive review! I am always pleased to hear that our guests like the 1. cleanliness 2. location and 3. comfort and sounds like we succeeded in all three! Please do return, we would love to have you.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a very clean motel/Inn. We happened upon it close to dark and stayed one night. They only had a few rooms left in the front house/Inn which we accepted. The grounds and room were very clean and well appointed, however, upon entering the front door of the house, we immediately smelt a musty smell. The fan in the room helped, but the musty odor was strong all night. I believe they have a mould issue in the house, but not was visible. Not our best choice.

Room Tip: the motel rooms might be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rda_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Palmer House. As you might imagine, it was distressing to read about your less than perfect stay with us. The nature of historic buildings -despite how well-maintained and clean they are- at times lends itself to an older smell, particularly if it has been raining. (I know, because I own one!) Most of our rooms are more modern and have the convenience of driving right up to your door. We have guests with both tastes...some prefer the older with all it's quirks and charm and others who prefer modern and new. We do hope that you will come back to us again and let us offer you a room we know you will truly enjoy.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a great motel in Manchester - easy walking distance to local restaurants and the outlet shops. Rooms are large and clean and the motel is set in large grounds (golf course, tennis courts and pool) so it all feels very spacious. Breakfast is a simple cereals and toast which suited us fine. Service from the hosts was very friendly and helpful. One very minor gripe is that the door from the room to outside had a window in it and there was no curtain over the window - just a venetian blind - which meant that light did come in at night from the lamps outside. We like a dark room to sleep and so had to use towels to smother the window. We loved Manchester and I'm sure will be back, staying at Palmer House again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IJMCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello and thank you so much for your constructive review. We really appreciate these little tidbits so that we can consider alternative ways to make your visit as pleasant as possible. (I also like a dark room to sleep!) And thank you for sharing your appreciation of our grounds which we work very hard at...to keep those compliments coming in!
Please do come again.
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I have chosen to vacation at the Palmer House, in Manchester, Vermont for the past 37 years. Our son and daughter-in-law have followed in our footsteps as they too, love the Palmer House.

The owners are hard working, conscientious individuals. The fruits of their labor have produced a place of beauty and tranquility. Their grounds are beautifully landscaped and their rooms are meticulously decorated in style and comfort.

The Innkeeper and Assistant Innkeeper are both friendly, knowledgeable of the area and always willing to help in any way. They are an added asset to the Palmer House.

If you haven’t been to this magnificent resort, you don’t know what you’re missing. If you have been there, you will want to return many times over.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina F, Front Office Manager at Palmer House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Palmer House and may I add...so eloquently! How awesome is it when one generation is followed by another generation to the doorsteps of the Palmer House? It is marvelous indeed. And please know, as warmly as we have been assessed by you, you are just the return guests we dream about! So thank you again and please return again....and again....and again!
Sincerely,
Tina Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
682 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
153 reviews
1.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House

Address: 5383 Main Street , Route 7A North, Manchester, VT 05255
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $98 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmer House is a 4 season resort located in Manchester center, only a short walk from the center of town. We offer a variety of rooms and suites with either a king bed or two double beds. Our suites offer a king bed, fireplace, two person jacuzzi and a private balcony with views of the trout/Bass pond and Equinox Mountain. During the summer and fall months enjoy our 9 hole par 3 golf course, two tennis courts and our own stocked trout/Bass pond. In the summer take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool with attached jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Manchester
Palmer Hotel Manchester Center
Palmer Motel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing