We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Aspen at Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Aspen at Manchester
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will be back again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

After seeing the lovely grounds during a previous visit to Manchester, we wanted to give The Aspen a try. We were fortunate to secure a room during a busy weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Our large room was beyond spotless, comfy bedding, refrigerator, nice size bathroom. The property is with walking distance of lots of nice shopping and great restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    35
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
41
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at the Aspen on the recommendation of a family member who lives in Manchester Center. Other family members often stay there while visiting their father and mother. Our room was very clean, water was hot, bed was comfortable. We could not get our original request as the motel was busy with people participating in a golf tournament. We did get a room with a double and a single bed which was fine. I had difficulties with the WiFi but contacted the owner at the desk and he quickly got me online. There is no continental breakfast but there are many options in town. The owner will put in a mini refrigerator in the room for a $10 fee. We paid under a hundred for our room which seemed OK for the area. We would stay at this facility again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theavailablemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Large rooms. Lots of space but corners cut a bit. For 150 a night I would at least expect fresh coffee, not those cheap makers in room. Soaps, etc could be better. I was expecting more based on the reviews I read. I think there are better options than the aspen.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Aspen for four nights in July 2013 having chosen it because of the good Tripadvisor reviews; we weren't disappointed. The web site has an old fashioned look and even more old fashioned was telephoning to book (you can of course send an email request) but that just reflected the traditional values of the Aspen.

We thought that it might be a bit close to the road but the 7A is relatively quiet and the accommodation is set well back. Our room was, well roomy. Very comfortable bed and spotless bathroom with decent towels. The $5 extra charge for the fridge was well worth it in 90F heat! Speaking of the heat the pool was a delight to cool off in after a day sight seeing in Vermont.

The position of the motel is ideal with just a short walk in to town with plenty of restaurants and cafes to chose from. As others have said the rates are very good value and the owners Steve and Bruce are most helpful. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We travelled to Manchester extensively when our daughter worked in the area. We tried quite a few of the motels and always kept coming back to the Aspen. Very comfortable rooms at an excellent price. If you expect a Ritz or Sheaton experience you are not getting it, but if you want a clean comfortable room and great owners that bend over backwards for you - THIS IS THE PLACE. When our daughter got married in Arlington, VT, they even let us keep some of our possessions at the Aspen even though we moved to another hotel nearby for the wedding day itself!

If you are looking for a pleasant stay with no worries you will have found it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidworth59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Aspen several times over the years and we have always had a pleasant experience. Room are clean, pool is a plus and staff is very nice. We take motorcycle rides into VT a few times a year and when we come through Manchester we always stay at the Aspen.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prodpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night over Memorial Day weekend for a wedding at the the Equinox. We didn't want to pay the resort rates!! The owner was conversational, room was clean and bed comfy. We did notice a faint wet dog smell when we got into the room, but no pets are allowed so I'm not sure where that came from. Rates were good compared to similar accommodations in the area. Just a note... We took a "cab", and a random guy in an SUV with a GPS picked us up and kept changing the fare as we drove... Just be careful with the cabs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.2 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#8 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aspen at Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aspen at Manchester

Property: The Aspen at Manchester
Address: 5669 Main St, Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05255-9736 (Formerly Aspen Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly New England hospitality in the heart of Manchester Vermont. A variety of homey, comfortable lodging accommodations to suit all your vacation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Aspen at Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Manchester Center
Aspen Motel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing