We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly ordinary for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Aspen at Manchester
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
483 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Fairly ordinary for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

As we got a room at the last minute we couldn't expect too much. But the room was spacious, we had a choice of two and opted for the more expensive, there was wifi in the room and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was so so with minimal amenities. But in spite of the $156 price, breakfast wasn't provided, not even a breakfast bag. As for a rating, could do better.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    35
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
41
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Just what we needed on a college visiting roadtrip - clean, homey, informative host. Manchester a lovely town too.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galoompus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

We have stayed in Manchester many times over the years, usually at Palmer House which we really like. The Aspen Motel is only a couple of hundred yards further from town and was much cheaper at that time of year. The grounds are very nice with lots of flowers. The owners were very friendly. The rooms were very clean and decorated in a country motif (very 80's but comfortable). All in all a very good stay and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Chatham, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Clean room, friendly service. We stayed here during the December 2010 blizzard, our car was cleaned off for us in the morning. Never had that happen any where else before. It made me feel like they appreciated my business. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone. The bed where very comfy and rooms very warm. We will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leya79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, ME
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

A very nice and quiet motel set back from the road. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Not a lot of fancy amenities or extras that some other motels may offer but the reasonable price made the place a great value. Friendly host made you feel welcome. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPL034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Convenient to town, quiet setting, comfortable immaculate rooms, tastefully furnished.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25jor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

We spent two nights at the Aspen and found it to be very convenient to town, very clean, well maintained and an overall pleasant stay..........except for the beds, my gosh, the beds. The mattress was incredibly FIRM and made it quite difficult to get comfortable. The only reason I wouldn't stay there again is because of the bed, otherwise it would be my go to place in Manchester.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ofustravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Aspen at Manchester, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed our motel other than the beds!

We are also happy to report that we have replaced many of the mattresses in the motel as we continue to strive to meet our customer's needs. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.2 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aspen at Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aspen at Manchester

Property: The Aspen at Manchester
Address: 5669 Main St, Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05255-9736 (Formerly Aspen Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly New England hospitality in the heart of Manchester Vermont. A variety of homey, comfortable lodging accommodations to suit all your vacation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Aspen at Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Manchester Center
Aspen Motel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing