We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Ranked #2 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Islip,ny
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Inn at Ormsby Hill and enjoyed it very much. The Inn is beautifully decorated and immaculate. The owners, Yoshio and Diane, are welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast room was lovely and we were lucky to sit at a table centered in the large window overlooking the back garden. We were not only treated to delicious breakfasts, but we were also able to watch a variety of local birds at the feeders. We stayed in the Thomas Purdy room which had a very comfortable king sized bed and great pillows. Although the Inn dates to the 18th century with additions in the 19th century, every modern convenience is available to guests including flat screen TV and large Jacuzzi tub. The owners also thoughtfully provide a little bag of things that a guest might have forgotten (such as toothpaste, shaving cream and razor) in the room. The common rooms are also lovely and very cozy with fireplaces blazing. The grounds were covered in snow, so we are looking forward to a return visit in another season to enjoy the outdoor areas.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We are so happy your visit transcended weather woes. Thank you for the stellar review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    22
    6
    10
    19
See reviews for
23
310
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed in the Frances Suite and we were so pleased with every aspect of our stay. Yoshio and Diane were warm and friendly hosts and we look forward to staying again in the spring, summer and fall. The fireplace, tub and steam shower made my husband so relaxed and happy that he can't wait to go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
It was wonderful meeting you ( and sharing stories). We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I planned on spending a two night get away for our anniversary/valentines day , as usual my wife had a great idea, we should go up early due to the weather. We checked with Diane and Yoshio about room availability and they were able to accommodate us for the extra night . This is the second year we have spent our anniversary at Ormsby and it is Second To None . The rooms at Ormsby are all unique, warm, and romantic. Diane and Yoshio are fabulous inn keepers they make you feel right at home, Diane's breakfast are absolutely mouth watering and Yoshio is just the perfect host. After our conversations with Diane about her perennial gardens my wife and I have decided to go back this summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
What can I say except it is sheer pleasure sharing our inn (home) with you. Thank you! This summer we will talk gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed in the Tower Room for a Valentines weekend getaway with my husband. Had such an exceptional time, felt compelled to come right home and review! From the moment we arrived, I knew this would be a comfortable and memorable weekend. The inn is impeccable, clean, and with extra attention to detail. The ambience was romantic, with fires roaring in each room, including our own. Less than a 5 minute drive into Manchester Center for restaurants, shops, etc. Yoshio and Diane are amazing hosts, and obviously take great pride in what they do for their guests. The breakfasts were of gourmet status, and you can tell that great thought and planning goes into each plate. Eating against the backdrop of mountains and freshly fallen snow...couldn't have asked for more! We cannot wait to return to this special place again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefWB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Honestly, your review made me teary and I don't know why. We truly thank you for your words and thoughts, and for being such wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We spent a long weekend here and used it as our base to enjoy some winter sports, including skiing at nearby Stratton Mountain and snowshoeing at Hildene.

As we said in the title, this was our second stay, with the first being fall of 2012. There are many reasons we have picked this as our "go-to" B&B in the Manchester area. First, the innkeepers are personable and knowledgeable about the local area, having helped with dinner recommendations and other local insights. They were flexible with our unplanned late arrival. They set up a couples massage for use with two wonderful masseurs. As always, the room was luxurious and impeccably clean. And did we mention that the inn is conveniently located just south of town, so it is remote enough but still close to everything?

There is a reason Yankee picked this inn as one of the most romantic, and we fully agree.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Tower and Anne Eliza rooms. Both were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJSnowbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
We are thrilled to be your Vermont home away from home. We appreciate how you helped us expand our world by sharing your local dog sled adventure. We can't wait to see what you do next time. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Diane & Yoshio welcomed us into their inn with open arms. It was a lovely 2-night getaway. The room was very clean and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. Yoshio passionately discussed the history of the inn with us, and we were amazed to see the old inn book containing the signatures of important historical figures. We finally got a chance to visit Hildene, right nearby, and the history of this site, Robert Todd Lincoln's home, was fascinating and informative. We look forward to visiting with Diane & Yoshio again soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review for us. It's wonderful to know you enjoyed the rich history of Ormsby Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Vermont
Level Contributor
277 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Inns, and innkeepers, are cyclical in nature. First comes the courtship when the starry eyed couple takes over a neglected property from the burnt-out previous owners. Then comes the honeymoon when they restore the inn to greatness, treating guests like royalty along the way. That's the phase that the Inn at Ormsby Hill is in right now. Diane and Yoshio are making this a world class property, by adding personal touches to enhance your experience. Catch them before they collapse in exhaustion. This is luxury and tastefulness at its best. (Ps-thanks for the birthday card. Another nice touch.)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StepMorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
It was our great pleasure meeting and chatting with you yesterday. Your review is spectacular, and we appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#3 of 12 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Property: The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Address: 1842 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years and a Select Registry property - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing