We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Ranked #2 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful getaway”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I chose the Ormsby Inn for a trip to Vermont for our fourth anniversary. It was a good choice.

The Inn itself and the surroundings are just beautiful. It's an immaculately well-maintained old manor with breathtaking mountain views. That alone would have made the trip successful for me, but on top of that the staff was friendly, the food was excellent and everything was amazing.

We were greeted by Christine when we arrived. She showed us around and explained the area and the inn to us. She was a delight, really just the friendliest person you can imagine. She gave us the keys to our room (in our case the Gideon Ormsby). The room was very nice. There's a comfy king-sized bed with a pretty canopy. The bathroom is HUGE (I seriously think it was as big as the room itself). There's a jacuzzi and a nifty wooden panel that opens up so you can see the fireplace from the jaccuzi - very relaxing and very romantic.

Breakfast was awesome. It's a three-course affair, so if you're like me and you're used to just eating a granola bar for breakfast you're going to be VERY full after the first bowl of fruit. Of course, after the fruit there's a yummy Japanese loaf of bread. Then, after THAT there's a plated meal that varies by day. It's all delicious and will leave you full until well passed 2 in the afternoon. Diane and Yoshio, the owners, introduced themselves at breakfast. They were also very friendly and pleasant people.

Everything was better than I expected and I would very much like to go back. While I did love the room we had I'd like to check out some of the other rooms in the future since they're all unique.

Room Tip: If you have something specific you're looking for book your room well in advance. Only two room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are delighted you chose to stay with us for your anniversary getaway. There is nothing like young love to make a house vibrant and alive. You brought that element to Ormsby Hill last weekend. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    22
    6
    10
    19
See reviews for
23
314
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Mass.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at several B&Bs and The Inn at Ormsby Hill (IOH) ranks abong the best. We made last minute reservations with Christine over the phone. She was very gracious and helpful.
Upon arrival, the new owners, Yoshio and Dianne, welcomed us as family. We received a tour of this spectacular example of colonial architecture before being led to the Lincoln Room where we spent two glorious nights in the lap of luxury.
Dianne's sumptuous gourmet breakfast is served in the dining room with its huge hand carved fireplace and views of the majestic surrounding mountains.
Yoshio, Dianne and Christine catered to our every wish, from reservations at nearby restaurants to getting tickets to tour the nearby Hilldean Estate where we toured the mansion and snowshoed around the surrounding trails.
When we returned to IOH, we found fresh baked cookies and coffee by the sitting room with its huge burning 18th century fireplace and comfortable sofa. I could go on and on, but you get the picture.
We hated to leave. But, all good stays come to an end. The IOH is a must if staying in the Manchester area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are so happy you had a wonderful time. We all agreed it was a pure pleasure being your hosts. Hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Ny
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had the opportunity to book a Valentine's Day getaway and was fortunate to be able to share some time traveling through the beautiful Battenkill area of VT to Manchester and the Inn at Ormsby Hill. The Inn is a few miles south of Manchester but that ws not a problem as we planned to go out for a nice dinner at the Ye Olde Tavern in Manchester and then enjoy the Inn's surroundings.
We stayed in the Thompson Purdy room which is on the second floor and nicely decorated with a comfortable king bed, two chairs and table in small sitting are at the foot of the bed and in front of the gas fireplace. A real wood fireplace would have been more romantic (the Inn has a few i think) but it was nice.
The bathroom is spacious and has a shower and a 2-person jacuzzi soaking tub with bath salts - which was wonderful..Oh yes!
Breakfast was very nice - all guests were asked to meet in the dining area at 9am - which was a open and airy sunny room with many fresh flowers on tables and in windows looking out at the mountains....coffee was on from 7am for early risers and the owner chef prepared a nice meal - OJ, mixed berries with a coconut lime glaze - yum, and an egg dish (forgot the name - sorry) with goat cheese and red raspberry glaze and 2 delish sausage patties...accompanied by Japanese milk bread with maple butter. .
The Inn was very nice inside with a large sitting area and a separate game room sitting area..there were 14 guests and a nice mix of people all welcomed by the owners and staff...oh did i mention that they had fresh baked cookies and cupcakes in the dining area all day with coffee or tea..nice touch. Stop in - you will be glad you discovered this Inn.

Room Tip: Thompson Purdy room is nice and on second floor by a common area with ice & refrig available nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaratogaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Ormsby Hill for your Valentine's getaway. Thanks for your kind words, too. We are committed to making every stay as romantic as possible...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

From start to finish we had an excellent experience. When I made reservations I communicated with Christine and she was extremely helpful with which room to pick and activities to do in the area. It being our first visit to Manchester. When we arrived Diane and Yoshio our hosts greeted us and gave us a tour of their beautiful Inn. Our room was immaculate and welcoming. The breakfast on both days was excellent. My husband and I both look forward to returning to the Inn. We only wished we stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinaM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are happy you discovered us! I enjoyed talking to you at breakfast and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend. Christine was managing the house while we were there and is as pleasant a person you could imagine. She made us feel incredibly welcome. Loved the Frances room - Real fireplace, plenty of space and a great view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We are so grateful to Christine and Candi for taking special care of you, and the inn while we were away. We hope to meet you some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

There is something special about a place that entices and welcomes a visit, relaxes so comfortably and evokes the kind of feelings you might have when staying with close family. Diane and Yoshio are most kind, and truly are excellent and gracious hosts. Christine was ever-present, and willing to do anything to ensure satisfaction. The individual bedchambers are unique and equipped with the finest of luxuries, encouraging complete relaxation. The residence itself is steeped in history and filled with romance and intrigue, and unlike a musuem, you are encouraged to roam the common areas and are permitted to use the antique furniture and inspect the books. You might even be suprised to come across a hand written notation in a first edition book, or to discover a cache of secret notes! The breakfasts, served in a beautiful glass enclosed conservatory in front of a huge fireplace, are spectacular and filling, with unexpected treats such as Japanese Milk Bread, fresh greens and wasabi and ginger infused sausage. Needless to say, you won't need to eat lunch. We have stayed twice in The Library with it's huge wood-burning fireplace and comforting surroundings, but each room/suite has it's own personality and looks equally relaxing. We enjoyed our visit, and plan on a yearly winter return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisandAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Your visit started on a very festive note, and the longer you stayed, the more we enjoyed your company. We wish you the best, and look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay last weekend and had the opportunity to meet the new Inn owners for the first time, Diane and Yoshio. They are a very friendly and pleasant. We felt welcomed and they really care about making sure you are completely satisfied with your experience. One of their staff members, Christine, was very nice and helpful as we organized our sleigh ride and dinner. The breakfast was delicious and I enjoyed the freshly baked cookied that were available throughout the day!! Also, I appreciated the great coffee!
We will see you soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very unique. If you are looking for more of a spacious room, I would recommend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidTFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you! Your advice and shared information have inspired us to be better innkeepers. We had a wonderful time talking with you, and are glad you had a great time too. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
298 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
586 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#3 of 12 in Manchester
413 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Manchester
The Inn at Manchester
#1 of 12 in Manchester
601 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Property: The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Address: 1842 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years and a Select Registry property - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing