We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Valentine Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Ranked #3 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had the opportunity to book a Valentine's Day getaway and was fortunate to be able to share some time traveling through the beautiful Battenkill area of VT to Manchester and the Inn at Ormsby Hill. The Inn is a few miles south of Manchester but that ws not a problem as we planned to go out for a nice dinner at the Ye Olde Tavern in Manchester and then enjoy the Inn's surroundings.
We stayed in the Thompson Purdy room which is on the second floor and nicely decorated with a comfortable king bed, two chairs and table in small sitting are at the foot of the bed and in front of the gas fireplace. A real wood fireplace would have been more romantic (the Inn has a few i think) but it was nice.
The bathroom is spacious and has a shower and a 2-person jacuzzi soaking tub with bath salts - which was wonderful..Oh yes!
Breakfast was very nice - all guests were asked to meet in the dining area at 9am - which was a open and airy sunny room with many fresh flowers on tables and in windows looking out at the mountains....coffee was on from 7am for early risers and the owner chef prepared a nice meal - OJ, mixed berries with a coconut lime glaze - yum, and an egg dish (forgot the name - sorry) with goat cheese and red raspberry glaze and 2 delish sausage patties...accompanied by Japanese milk bread with maple butter. .
The Inn was very nice inside with a large sitting area and a separate game room sitting area..there were 14 guests and a nice mix of people all welcomed by the owners and staff...oh did i mention that they had fresh baked cookies and cupcakes in the dining area all day with coffee or tea..nice touch. Stop in - you will be glad you discovered this Inn.

Room Tip: Thompson Purdy room is nice and on second floor by a common area with ice & refrig available nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaratogaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing Ormsby Hill for your Valentine's getaway. Thanks for your kind words, too. We are committed to making every stay as romantic as possible...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 431 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

From start to finish we had an excellent experience. When I made reservations I communicated with Christine and she was extremely helpful with which room to pick and activities to do in the area. It being our first visit to Manchester. When we arrived Diane and Yoshio our hosts greeted us and gave us a tour of their beautiful Inn. Our room was immaculate and welcoming. The breakfast on both days was excellent. My husband and I both look forward to returning to the Inn. We only wished we stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinaM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We are happy you discovered us! I enjoyed talking to you at breakfast and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend. Christine was managing the house while we were there and is as pleasant a person you could imagine. She made us feel incredibly welcome. Loved the Frances room - Real fireplace, plenty of space and a great view.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

We are so grateful to Christine and Candi for taking special care of you, and the inn while we were away. We hope to meet you some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

There is something special about a place that entices and welcomes a visit, relaxes so comfortably and evokes the kind of feelings you might have when staying with close family. Diane and Yoshio are most kind, and truly are excellent and gracious hosts. Christine was ever-present, and willing to do anything to ensure satisfaction. The individual bedchambers are unique and equipped with the finest of luxuries, encouraging complete relaxation. The residence itself is steeped in history and filled with romance and intrigue, and unlike a musuem, you are encouraged to roam the common areas and are permitted to use the antique furniture and inspect the books. You might even be suprised to come across a hand written notation in a first edition book, or to discover a cache of secret notes! The breakfasts, served in a beautiful glass enclosed conservatory in front of a huge fireplace, are spectacular and filling, with unexpected treats such as Japanese Milk Bread, fresh greens and wasabi and ginger infused sausage. Needless to say, you won't need to eat lunch. We have stayed twice in The Library with it's huge wood-burning fireplace and comforting surroundings, but each room/suite has it's own personality and looks equally relaxing. We enjoyed our visit, and plan on a yearly winter return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisandAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Your visit started on a very festive note, and the longer you stayed, the more we enjoyed your company. We wish you the best, and look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay last weekend and had the opportunity to meet the new Inn owners for the first time, Diane and Yoshio. They are a very friendly and pleasant. We felt welcomed and they really care about making sure you are completely satisfied with your experience. One of their staff members, Christine, was very nice and helpful as we organized our sleigh ride and dinner. The breakfast was delicious and I enjoyed the freshly baked cookied that were available throughout the day!! Also, I appreciated the great coffee!
We will see you soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very unique. If you are looking for more of a spacious room, I would recommend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidTFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you! Your advice and shared information have inspired us to be better innkeepers. We had a wonderful time talking with you, and are glad you had a great time too. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying overnight and absolutely fell in love with the place. Yoshio took the time to give us a tour of the inn and filled us in on the history. We could tell he is so proud to run,own, and operate Ormsby Hill. Our room was beautiful with canopy bed and double sided fireplace which we could see from bedroom and from jacuzzi tub. I could really get used to the service they provided at the morning breakfast! The dining room was my favorite room in the house with lots of glass, and a beautiful view. Loved the japanese milk bread with maple butter. I felt extremely pampered and so relaxed, everyone was so friendly and made you feel right at home. But, it's better than home, because there is nothing to do but relax!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kris y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to be meeting so many wonderful people like yourselves, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our stay at this lovely bed and breakfast was something very special. The inn, located on the edge of Manchester, VT, is truly charming. The public spaces are warm and inviting, from the gathering area to the beautiful bright breakfast room. The guest rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. We stayed in the Taft Suite, with a large 4 poster bed, a wood burning fireplace, a bathroom with a steam shower and jacuzzi. It was wonderful! However, it was Diane and Yoshio, the recent owners, and Christine, the Assistant Manager, who made our stay so wonderful. Their warm and gracious hospitality really made the inn glow! They helped with dinner and snow shoe arrangements, Diane prepared creative and delicious breakfasts, and there were freshly baked cookies and coffee or hot chocolate every afternoon and evening. We were made to feel that we were visiting with good friends. We look forward to returning soon to Manchester and the Inn at Ormsby Hill.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoyageursUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your thoughtful words and your beautiful photos. Your visit was like meeting with great friends. You touched our lives in a wonderful way. We can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
361 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
1.3 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#4 of 12 in Manchester
445 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Manchester
The Inn at Manchester
#2 of 12 in Manchester
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Address: 1842 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $223 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years and a Select Registry property - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing