We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Manchester B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Ranked #2 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bermuda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Manchester B&B”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Inn at Ormsby Hill is one of only two 4 diamond B&B's in Vermont. My wife and I stayed there for six nights during New Years. To say that we had a great time in an understatement! We had a fantastic time!

Firstly, Diane, Yoshio, and Christine were super! They were all a pleasure to talk to and be around. In particular, I spent a few evenings chatting with Yoshio about life experiences and family. He has a great sense of humor and can put a humorous spin on any serious situation. Diane was always pleasant and made you feel relaxed and welcome. Christine was extremely friendly and was always available to answer questions and get local advice. She is a fountain of knowledge about the Manchester area. All in all, everyone was great!

The inn itself is gorgeous and clean and at the time was decorated for the holidays! It felt warm and inviting. The fireplace near the sitting area is very large and we spend a good amount of time drinking tea and playing games near it which at times got very competitive and out of hand. Needless to say, I was defeated on two occassions by my wife and I vowed revenge on our next visit! Our rooms were clean and comfortable and had gas fireplaces which toasted up the room during the winter evenings. The whirlpool tubs seemed new and the steam shower was amazing.

The breakfasts were fantastic and were different each of the six nights. They are not overwhelming and heavy....the portions were perfect and delicious each time! The Japanese milk bread with maple butter was a favourite. Diane and Yoshio even catered to my wife's dietary needs with perfection. Cheers to the cook (i.e. Diane)! They really go above and beyond to make your stay special. For dinner, the "Perfect Wife" restaurant was recommended and we loved it. We actually went back twice!

We have stayed at many Inn's throughout the United States. Many on the east coast and we can honestly say that the Inn at Ormsby Hill is now one of our very favorites! We would definately return again and hope to do so soon. The combination of a beautiful inn and great innkeepers and staff make it an easy choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words and thoughts. We, too, had a great time during your visit. You really made yourselves at home, and that makes us very happy. We hope you can return this summer, and get cozy in our outdoor areas. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    22
    6
    10
    19
See reviews for
23
310
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband, 17-year-old daughter (a last minute addition when her own plans were cancelled), and I traveled to The Inn at Ormsby Hill for New Year’s Eve. A New Year’s tradition for us, we have bounced around the southern part of Vermont searching for the “right” place to call our own. From the moment we stepped through the door, we knew we had found our home away from home. We were greeted by Christine who showed us around the downstairs, explained about breakfast and the specifics of the front and back doors and then brought us upstairs and told us that if a door to a room was open that meant no one had checked in yet and to feel free to take a peek into the room. She pointed out the little sitting room which had a refrigerator for guests to store leftovers or other things in (although our room had its own refrigerator), along with a basket that carried incidentals such as toothbrushes and the like if we had forgotten to pack our own (nice touch). We were then brought to our room (Taft) which was breathtaking. From the 4-poster canopy king-sized bed (which was extremely comfortable), to the functional wood burning fireplace and the 2-person Jacuzzi tub with separate steam shower to the additional sitting room with a small pull out couch perfect for our additional guest this room was exceptional. We unfortunately missed out on the sleigh ride my husband had booked because of weather conditions but he and I both got our massages that were fabulous the next day from Christine. The bread that is served each day at breakfast is unbelievable as was the hash brown casserole. We had a couple dinners at Mulligan’s which is right down the road from the Inn and one dinner at Johnny Seesaw’s in Peru. I would definitely recommend both places. My daughter and I took advantage of the Checkers and Scattergories games a couple nights that are downstairs (along with a bunch of other games) for anyone to use. I also loved watching the birds in the morning that came to the bird feeders. My husband and I are looking forward to our next visit back so we can try out the Jacuzzi tub (something we couldn't do with our daughter there)! Thank you for a really nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petals1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We loved that you made yourselves right at home. It would be our privilege to be a part of your New Year tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent Christmas Day at the Inn at Ormsby Hill & had a "magical" time.....we had stayed there several years ago and although we loved the Inn, the prior innkeepers were not particularly friendly or welcoming....we only stay at inns or B & B's when we travel & over the years we have intereacted with many, many innkeepers with a variety of personalities....I can honestly say that we have never met such a warm, gracious & hospitable couple as Diane & Yoshio..they are genuinely down-to-earth individuals who made our stay all the more memorable...our room, the Pierrepont Room, was absolutely amazing.....so cozy, romantic, warm & beautifully appointed with the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on!....Diane & Yoshio had the Inn decorated so festively & homey for the Holidays which only added extra ambience to an already beautiful inn...our gourmet breakfast was simply delicious & wonderfully presented....the bottom line is that the Inn at Ormsby Hill is a gem whose innkeepers are two of the most caring people you could ever meet!....we can't wait to get back there this spring!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drduwhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We will not forget your graciousness and kindness, and wish the weather did not interrupt your stay with us. It will be our lucky day to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, N.Y.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have visited The Inn at Ormsby Hill several times a year. The Inn is beautiful and the new owners, Diane and Yoshi, are lovely. They go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are always good with a base of organic and healthful ingredients. Diane and Yoshi send out emails suggesting things to do in the area and places to eat. It is a pleasure to visit The Inn and spend some time with the Innkeepers.

Room Tip: We love the Lincoln and Taft Rooms but all of the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Yoshio and I are thrilled you stayed with us over the holidays. We appreciate all your help and feedback, and are looking forward to seeing you the same time next year (if not sooner)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrangeville, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We just returned from a stay at The Inn at Ormsby Hill. We had been there a few times before and loved the Inn and the location. This trip was even better. The new innkeepers, Diane and Yoshio, are wonderful! They are friendly, courteous, caring. We stayed in the Ann Eliza room: lovely, nice fireplace, four poster bed, Jacuzzi and large shower. Several chairs and a chair gave the room, which some may consider a touch small, a feeling of a retreat. The only complaint is the mattress is starting to sag a little. This Inn has a beautiful dining room with views of the mountains and many birds feeding at the feeders. The assistant innkeeper, Christine, was equally attentive and accommodating. We love the Manchester area and used the Inn as our base of operations. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayeff001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, and your observations. We want everything to be perfect for every guest, so your comments are helpful to us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from spending a wonderful weekend at the Inn at Ormsby Hill. It was our ninth visit to this absolutely amazing place. The new Inn Keepers, Diane and Yoshio, warmly welcomed us back to the inn. They were so friendly and truly cared about the happiness of all their guests. Diane's breakfasts were just delicious and we enjoyed listening to Yoshio's wonderful stories. Everything was perfect! We are so looking forward to returning to the Inn at Ormsby Hill very soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Yoshio and I knew you were special when you welcomed us this summer, months ahead of your visit. We are truly honored to know you, and we thank you for your kind words. We only wish we could see you again before next December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We selected Ormsby based upon the reviews back in March of 2012 for a two day mini honeymoon November 25 and 26. The room ( Ethan Allen) was as advertised and very cozy, romantic. Diane and Yoshio were warm and engaging. Yoshio was able to provide information on local eateries and Diane's breakfasts were delighful. We are looking forward to returning, eager to try the new coffee when it is up and running! We also enjoyed walking the hallway and looking at the unoccupied rooms to see the different features they offer.

Room Tip: Check rooms on line for photos and bookings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJM1476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We were honored that you chose us for your Thanksgiving honeymoon destination. You made yourselves right at home, and that is the best compliment! We wish you many happy years ahead, and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#3 of 12 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Property: The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Address: 1842 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years and a Select Registry property - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing