We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners are marvelous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Ranked #3 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our second visit to this property. It is a wonderful example of a Vermont inn located in a historical house with a marvelous heritage.

On our first visit a few years ago, we were concerned that the inn keepers that then owned the property were just a little too up tight for our liking.

When we noticed online that a new couple had acquired the property, we returned for a second visit. Yoshio and Diane are the excited and enthusiastic new owners and just simply a wonderful couple that have the right blend of hospitality and enthusiasm with a welcoming spirit for their guests. We will return again for certain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for your generous thoughts and words. Yoshio and I are thrilled you took a chance on us as new innkeepers. Welcome back to the Ormsby Hill family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Ormsby Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 418 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Inn at Ormsby Hill was amazing! My husband and I were fortunate to be able to take advantage of a last minute cancellation and got to spend one night at this gorgeous Inn. The hosts were so friendly,knowledgable about the area, and Diane is a fabulous cook! Breakfast was unforgettable, so delicious with a beautiful view of the mountains, lovely birds entertaining us at the feeders. The Hildene Home down the road was an unexpected delight to tour. I hope we can return to this area again. We will certainly stay here again and definitely will book in advance! worth every penny to stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

It was wonderful meeting you. Thank you for the wonderful spirit you brought to this inn. We hope to see you on your next trip east.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I spend two wonderful nights at the Ormsby Hll recently. The Inn Keepers Diane and Yoshio have found their calling, as they are gracious and caring hosts. We stayed in a different room each night (what a treat) and found them unique, comfortable and charming. We were entertained by bird watching out our window while we enjoyed a hearty and delicious breakfast each morning. The views from the outside patio and enclosed gazebo were beautiful! We are looking forward to seeing Diane and Yoshio soon and spending a few nights at their lovely Inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamara12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Yoshio and I are thrilled you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you. We hope you can try all of our rooms, so we can enjoy your company for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a beautiful and very comfortable inn with many places to enjoy it in the common areas as well as outside. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with every amenity including comfortable seating. The owners and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more gracious. The breakfast was delicious. The inn is well located for outdoor activities and great shopping opportunities. We would love to go back!

Room Tip: A room on the back of the inn would be away from traffic noise if you wish to open the window.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Your kind and generous thoughts are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

What gracious host's at The Inn at Orsmby Hill! Diane and Yoshio are truly in their element !Hearty breakfast every morning prepared with a gourmet flair!! Beautiful rooms with a nice roaring fire in the parlor! Lovely panoramic views from every location at the Inn. We are most definitely returning!!

Room Tip: the Lincoln room is wonderful!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you! Your visit was memorable in so many ways, and we hope you don't wait another 25 years to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went to see the fall foliage and found beautiful views along the roads that took us to this lovely and very warm, friendly Inn. Diane and Yoshio are kind and very helpful. The accommodations are EXCELLENT. The views from the patio and the dining room were most enjoyable despite a very cloudy day --- bet it is spectacular on a sunny day. When we get a chance to go East again, we would most definitely return and we will recommend the Inn at Ormsby Hill to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you. We are so happy you made us a part of your return journey to the east coast. We would be honored to be your hosts on your next trip to Vermont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I spend one night here on a recent trip to Vermont. The innkeepers, who have only owned the Inn for three months, were very friendly and attentive to our needs. The rooms was very comfortable and modernized, despite being in a 250 year old building. The quality of the room, coupled with the charm of the building and the beauty of the surrounding area, made this an excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reallaw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful, kind words. Even though your stay was short, we were able to spend time getting to know you and would love to see you again the next time you come eastward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
643 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#4 of 12 in Manchester
433 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#7 of 16 in Manchester
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Address: 1842 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $223 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years and a Select Registry property - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing