We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn at Ormsby in good hands!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Ranked #2 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lindenwold, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Inn at Ormsby in good hands!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Inn at Ormsby on the recommendations from family & friends. The new owners, Diane & Yoshio, were very warm in welcoming us and are very excited to maintain and surpass the wonderful reputation of the Inn. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of our room, most especially the bathroom. Our breakfasts each morning were delicious and satisfied us both. We enjoyed sitting out back, looking at the mountain, each morning with our early coffee. It was nice to spend time each day with Diane & Yoshio, sharing stories of our day & hearing their hopes for the Inn. We sincerely wish them great success at Ormsby and would certainly recommend the Inn to anyone.
T.Q.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quaileT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We enjoyed your company during your stay with us, hearing about your daily adventures, chatting at breakfast, and your wonderful feedback to our venture into innkeeping. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    22
    6
    10
    19
See reviews for
24
314
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived my husband and I felt relaxed and so fortunate to be celebrating our Anniversary at the Inn at Ormsby Hill. As soon as we walked into the beautiful Inn, we were warmly welcomed by Yoshio and Diane the Innkeepers. They are so down to earth and friendly, and how they truly cared about the happiness of each guest was exceptional.
The setting was breathtaking, overlooking the mountains. Very romantic, and plenty of outdoor space to relax. The common areas and our guestroom were spotless, and there were special touches like fresh flowers and luxurious bath amenities among other wonderful surprises.
The breakfast was over-the top delicious and served beautifully.
If you are searching for a B&B that has a "Special Occasion" , yet relaxed feel, I highly recommend the Inn at Ormsby Hill.
We are already looking forward to our return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WRbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are so grateful you chose Ormsby Hill to celebrate your anniversary. You added something special to a great group of guests. Sharing your experiences in and around the industry has helped us tremendously. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Once in while, if you get really lucky, a vacation turns out to be just about perfect. Well we just stayed at the Inn for 2 nights and thinking back on it, we wouldn't change a thing except for staying longer. A blend of memorable experiences all created the perfect vacation, the Innkeepers, Diane (gourmet cook by the way) and Yoshio are extremely nice and worked very hard to ensure we were looked after. The Inn itself is amazing, clean and inviting and our room was absolutely wonderful. The view is something we will never forget, I would return just for the view alone. Already making plans for next year. If you are on the fence about this Inn, jump off and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful words and thoughts. We would be very sad if you did not come back to see us. You set the standard for "chill" at Ormsby Hill! Take care, and keep in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our 3 night stay at the Inn at Ormsby Hill was a relaxing experience. With the setting of a stately historic home overlooking the Green Mountain range and the friendly hospitality of Yoshio and Diane, our stay couldn't have been better!

The room was romantic, comfortable and clean. The beautiful home and grounds gave us the opportunity to relax and decompress among the beauty of Manchester. Diane is a wonderful chef serving up a delicious breakfast with locally grown berries on a daily basis. Yoshio brews a mean cup of coffee! Hard to believe they have only been at it for two months, what a great couple!

Tori and I can wait to get back to see and stay with our new friends at the Historic Inn at Ormsby Hill!

Jay & Tori

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
The minute you and Tori arrived, you made yourselves at home. Your kind, friendly interaction with us and other guests helped everyone chill and relax. We truly enjoyed your company and want you to come back soon. We'll have so much catching up to do...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The house is clean and comfortable. It is close to shopping and is also good for day trips. The food is excellent and large portions. You are really made to feel as if you are at home. We stayed in the Lincoln room and it was very roomy. The rooms are very quiet and getting to sleep was easy. The Inn at Ormsby Hill is a perfect getaway. Yoshio and Diane Endo are perfect hosts and make you feel like you are special.

Room Tip: Some rooms can accommodate three or four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmguilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
It was wonderful having you and Ed as our guests. We miss you and hope you can come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our 3-day stay at the Inn at Ormsby Hill was just perfect. The combination of our gracious hosts, Diane and Yoshio Endo, the historical and elegant Inn itself, and the beauty of Vermont truly made it so.

The Inn felt like home to us...most comfortable, fresh, clean, and warm. Full credit goes to Diane and Yoshio who were friendly (as friends are), hospitable, attentive and helpful. And the breakfasts were outstanding as they were delicious and creative. The memories of the dishes of oatmeal, fruit, eggs, and French toast still linger. Having our breakfasts amidst the beautiful scenery was an enhancement to our senses.

We highly recommend the Inn at Ormsby Hill. And we will be back!

Monique & Lawrence

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and support. It did feel like we were old friends, and we can't wait to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Inn at Ormsby Hill is everything an inn should be. Under new management for only three week, the new owners, Yosio and Diane did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. This classic rambling Georgian style home is set amidst the lush acreage of Vermont’s Green Mountains. Unobstructed views from the breakfast room look onto the Hildene property and the song birds which are breakfasting at the feeders scattered about. Hildene is the summer home of Abe Lincoln’s descendants who lived there until the mid-seventies when the line closed out. The inn’s rooms are all unique and modernized without detracting from the architecture. The breakfasts are gourmet-healthy and delicious, providing good energy to start the day. There are many accommodation choices in the area but I doubt you will find better value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercourious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We were so happy to be a stop on your journey home. Your visit was emotionally enriching for Yoshio and me. I truly hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
313 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
609 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#3 of 12 in Manchester
422 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
314 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Property: The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Address: 1842 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years and a Select Registry property - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing