We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
Ranked #3 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2011

What a beautiful inn! This is one of the most charming inns we have ever visited! Everything was immaculate, tastefully decorated and inviting. We stayed in the tower room which was a delight. It was as if we entered our own little apartment. The staircase leading to the bedroom and then another flight leading to the amazing bathroom was enchanting and the room itself charming with a canopy bed, fireplace and comfy couch! The lawn and outdoor patio were beautiful and abundant with flowers. Breakfast was delicious although unusual as they served apple crisp with ice cream as our second course! If visiting Manchester, a wonderful little VT town, I would recommend a stay at this beautiful inn!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatiedooWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

"WOW" What more can we say except thank you so very much for your humbling review - and we truly look forward to your next visit to our inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 431 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

We just spent 3 nights at The Inn and found everything to be perfect....my wife and I travel several times a year and found the Inn keepers to be friendly and helpfull (I found the negitive reviews about Ted and Chris to be amusing). The rooms and bed were very comfortable....breakfast was great....the Inn was very close to town (about 2 miles) with tons of shopping and places to eat. We would return for sure!!!!!

Steve and Kathy Lanning

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve14420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

We love the "perfect" word. Thank you so very much for your review and we truly look forward to your return - this time with "perfect" weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

we traveld the world over,this is one of the most warm,elegant,beautifly decorated inn.
The owners make you fill like most importent geste.
If we ever are in Menchester egen- this is our place
larysa and john moscow

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larjan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Larysa and John - Thank you so very much for the glowing review - especially from world travelers. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to Ormsby Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Earlier this month, six female friends met for our annual antiquing trip, which brought us to Manchester Village, VT and the Inn at Ormsby Hill, a beautiful B&B with gorgeous grounds and a view of the mountains, lovely rooms tastefully decorated with an eye to the long history of this charming house, and a breakfast that would satisfy the most demanding person. We stayed in the Thompson Purdy, the Gideon Ormsby and the Pierrepont rooms, all of which were spotless and accommodating in every way, the Ormsby providing perfect access to the inn for Donna, who is unable to climb stairs. The innkeepers, Ted and Chris Sprague just couldn't do enough for us from carrying luggage to making sure the breakfast offerings were pleasing to all of us--and to providing coffee at 7am for those of us incurable early-morning risers!! We were thrilled with our experience there and agreed that the inn ranks at the top of our joint list of places we have stayed during these last 10 years!! In addition, the Spragues
occasionally have irresistable discounts, tempting one back to that lovely area and inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Thank you so much for your glowing review. How fun it was for us to have the six ladies - you were all so gracious and appreciative - and the chance to catch up on an area we had almost moved to. We hope your future excursions bring you back to Ormsby Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I love Vermont and visit as often as we can (sometimes 3 or 4 times a year) and have stayed at The Ormsby several times and each time was wonderful. We have stayed in the Taft, the Frances and the Lincoln rooms - all beautiful. Note: check their website often for discounts or specials - they're great!

We also recommend a great place to eat - Jonathon's Table. Make a reservation - they fill up early. Great food!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catnjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. We so thrilled when people such as yourselves love our area and our inn, and keep coming back - for more!!!!!!! We truly look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I spent a summer weekend night at the Inn at Ormsby Hill and had a truly wonderful time. The historic house is beautifully restored and furnished with a great eye for historical accuracy and architectural detail. The views of the mountains from the terrace (and the private porch off our room) were amazing. Reasonable rates for a truly first-class establishment. Best of all, the innkeepers are extremely gracious and went out of their way to made us feel welcome and at home. We relaxed the moment we arrived and felt we had the best of both worlds -- luxurious comfort and privacy in our suite and great camaraderie at breakfast in the elegant and sunny dining room -- and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.. Breakfast was outstanding -- fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals and coffee cakes for the taking and a different special dish each day. We look forward to returning as often as we can.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mconnollyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

We were honored that you chose to return to Ormsby Hill after being away from this home for 30 years!!! We are humbled by your review and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to Ormsby Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We called to book a room - asked a few questions about the room -then asked the rate - -were given a rate- then i said we had AAA - -lo and behold the rate was the same --so I said 'we are supposed to get 10% for AAA' -and he hung up! So I called back - not to book but to say "how dare you hang up" - -and spoke to the wife - -she gave me a long winded story - and we spoke a few minutes - I asked some of the same questions because i didn't trust the husband's answers - so i ended up booking (because i was worried that other places were booked) - gave her my credit card # - -then i just mentioned that my husband has some dietary restrictions - -so if they can just prepare something plain for him (we have traveled around the world - -everyone has always been so accomodating) --she got extremely nasty - but finally said ok - like it was such a big deal. After I hung up, I was sorry that we did it - but they now had our credit card # so we left it as is and planned the rest of our vacation. The next morning we got an email that they decided not to confirm our reservation - --they did not charge us - -we were just worried that we had planned the rest of the trip and now we'd be stuck with 2 nights with no place to stay - -BUT --we lucked into "the Reluctant Panther" - it was terrific!

the innkeepers don't like questions and , only cook one thing - -How "un-accommodating"! we have travelled all over -- and have never dealt with anyone as ridiculous and nasty as the 2 of them - -we told them they should definitely NOT be innkeepers! -

AND they advertise that they in Manchester village - -they are miles outside of the village - and we like to walk - but we would never have been able to stroll to town at night for dinner.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
7  Thank lindamike6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormsbyhill, Owner at The Inn at Ormsby Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

There are always two sides to a confrontation, and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to this woman’s incorrect comments.
When this woman spoke with me about a AAA rate, I explained that the quoted rate was 10% less than the AAA book rates. She refused to listen. After having listened to her arrogance and berating of me for at least ten minutes, I had no choice but to hang up. She did not stop long enough nor listen to allow for a conversation.

If I had been so arrogant and aggressive that I made the innkeeper hang up – I certainly would not go online and confirm it to everyone. This in itself exhibits her rudeness and vindictiveness.

She called back and this time spoke with Chris. Chris tried once again to explain our AAA rate. We have been an approved AAA Four Diamond property for thirteen years, and this is the first instance that a guest did not/would not, accept our explanation. The “long-winded –story” that she alludes to is Chris trying to explain the protocol that AAA suggested many years ago which Ormsby Hill follows regarding its rates. Then she asked about the dietary restrictions. Chris kept asking her what does her husband eat in order to better handle the situation, but she kept asking Chris “what are you going to do”. Now this time she is treating Chris the same way as she did me.

Chris hesitantly took the reservation, thinking in her heart that this was a mistake and that this couple would be much happier in another situation.

After what both of us had been put through, we knew this would not be a positive experience, and we made the decision that evening it was in everyone’s best interest not to confirm, and sent an email advising her of our decision. We also included in that email a property to call, as well as the Manchester Chamber of Commerce information.

She was so upset when she received that email that she could not get her way, that she proceeded to call us four times the following morning, each call equally abusive as before and unnerving (including Chris pleading with her to stop harassing us), all convincing us even further that our decision was correct.

As for our location, we are located in Manchester Center and have NEVER said we are in Manchester Village. Anyone who has ever asked about walking to shopping, dining, etc. has been told that we have a residential setting and not within walking distance. For the record, we are not miles outside the Village – to the Village line we are about ¼ mile. Further, Manchester Center “surrounds “ Manchester Village – which is all part of Manchester, something she does not understand.

I think it should be noted that she, after all her calls, had her husband call back to tell me I had better not charge their credit card. It is hard to believe that they actually thought we would charge them for a stay which we said we were not confirming.

Innkeepers are just as human as everyone else – and finding ourselves being berated, chastised and treated with extreme arrogance, well …. we had had enough. All of this took place mid-May, and, unfortunately, the harassment continues – a very nasty email from her on Monday, July 11th.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
361 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
1.3 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#4 of 12 in Manchester
445 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Manchester
The Inn at Manchester
#2 of 12 in Manchester
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ormsby Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ormsby Hill

Address: 1842 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $223 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Ormsby Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If our lavish rooms and full, energizing breakfasts aren't enough to take your breath away, our spectacular mountains views will. Recipients of the AAA Four Diamond Award for the past fourteen years and a Select Registry property - a Manchester inn exclusive. One enchanting evening with us and you'll understand why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Ormsby Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ormsby Hill Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing