We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the 1811 House”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 1811 House

1811 House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1811 House
Ranked #12 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beware the 1811 House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I booked a special night away at the Equinox and, after seeing pictures online, decided on a room at the 1811 House- part of the Inns at the Equinox. On check in we discovered that the 1811 House is extremely rustic- low ceilings, very shabby furnishings, and quiet to the point of creepy. From photos I expected quaintness and antiques, but I must stress that it really felt old and desolate and not in any way like the resort itself. The front desk did their best to change our accommodations but, unfortunately, all that remained was a room in the townhouses, which was basically
like staying in a Motel 6.

Again, the staff was lovely and did their best to change things last minute on a busy weekend. I only wish the hotel website had been more forthcoming about what to expect from the 1811 House.

The spa is luxurious. Great massage with Wendy. Lovely hotel in every other respect. Incidentally, lots and lots of families and young kids (no problem for me).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sovermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were expecting an older historic home, but we were not expecting cold showers, a shower head that felt like it came off a power washer, only hot water in the sink, old mattress with no support, and no staff in the house to provide assistance or answer questions. Bringing these things to the attention of the registration desk upon our departure resulted in this explanation: "Well, it's an old house.". Yes, an old house for which they are charging a great deal, but providing as little as possible. If they are going to continue to book stays, they need to keep it maintained. They should also stop advertising it as something it isn't.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

I traveled to the Cottage with my elderly mom, who is disabled. This accommodation is not for someone in that situation. I purchased this stay via Groupon and was not aware I was buying something less than what the Equinox had previously demonstrated to me in the way of luxurious accommodations. The Manager who wrote me back when I voiced my complaints said "Our GroupOn rooms are reserved exclusively for our Inns at Equinox, and are not for our Luxury Collection guest rooms. This allows an affordable option to experience the Resort amenities, including our award winning spa and golf course, yet at a lower price-point for a guest room. Since our 1811 house is in its original condition, it is treated differently by local ordinances for accessibility - Having said this, our local fire ordinance does require us to remove the canopy from the bed." None of these tidbits were in the Groupon offer, which I assume was written in conjunction with the Hotel. I love antiques. I also love internet (which did not work ) I guess I just expected more from an inn affiliated with a Hotel in the class of the Equinox. Live and Learn, and Be wary- especially as we age and become less spry. I guess I am at fault as well - for not asking enough questions.

Room Tip: The Cottage is not accessible, and the internet was flaky. Stay in the Main hotel, (which I have bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank datkat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeRoy, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

Just completed a stay at the 1811 House in Manchester, VT w/ two other coules- We stayed in the cottage, so we had the whole building, as it has three rooms- This building was very old (creaky floors, antique furnishings, etc.) but very quaint- It was perfect for three couples of the same family- Each had a very nice (clean and large) bathroom, working fireplace, and comfortable bed- It was located across from the Equinox resort- For those who heard about the 1811 House previously, there have been some changes since the Equinox took it over- There is no more breakfast (as in a B & B), there is no more operating pub (the room is located in the main house and is a must see- there is coffee there), and there are no more homemade chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon- However, the accomodations are still very nice- The only problem we had w/ our experience was with the Equinox reservation/check-out process- While everyone I spoke/dealt with were very courteous and tried to help, the competence level was indicative of very young people starting out in a new job- When first booking, they first "lost" my reservation- When rebooking, they sent me confirmation letters w/ the wrong information (higher price)-When getting close (two weeks) to our visit, I found they had one room incorrectly booked in a different building- When checking out, it took me another hour to straighten things out (their computers were down)- I am anxiously waiting to see what my credit card bill will finally reflect- While I would stay here again, I would be very mindful about these issues (there were also some nice other inns in the area I might try)- By the way, the Equinox itself was very nice but $15 for a beer and glass of wine was a bit much

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SRB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inns at Equinox
The Inns at Equinox
#6 of 12 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1811 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1811 House

Property: 1811 House
Address: 3654 Main St, Manchester, VT
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing