We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop on a hot day”

Southern Vermont Arts Center
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded more than 50 years ago by a group of local artists, the cultural center includes a beautiful Georgian mansion that showcases changing exhibits, the Arkell Pavillion, a performing arts center and the Elizabeth de C. Wilson Museum, which houses the center's permanent collection of more than 700 paintings.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Have spent a lot of time in Manchester, but had never made it to SVAC. What a delight! Beautiful old home now used to showcase local artists. A newer building hosts visiting exhibits. Lovely grounds including a 1.5 mile easy hike through the woods on the SVAC loop trail. Did not have time to stop, but the café looked very inviting.

2  Thank nutmegger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"local artists"
in 12 reviews
"for sale"
in 11 reviews
"winding road"
in 6 reviews
"outdoor sculptures"
in 5 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 9 reviews
"art exhibits"
in 3 reviews
"glass exhibit"
in 3 reviews
"main gallery"
in 3 reviews
"fine art"
in 3 reviews
"mixed media"
in 2 reviews
"nice museum"
in 2 reviews
"tucked away"
in 3 reviews
"lovely grounds"
in 3 reviews
"great setting"
in 2 reviews
"green mountains"
in 4 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"southern vermont"
in 3 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 110 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2017

The Southern Vermont Arts Center is another treasure nestled in the southern Vermont landscape. It is a true Arts Center. Over the years I have been to adult and childrens’ art shows, drama camp with my granddaughter, heard rehearsal for a concert And viewed the spectacular outdoor sculptures!

Thank Kathyaa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, Executive Director at Southern Vermont Arts Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2017

Thank you Kathy, for the stellar review. We are thrilled SVAC continues to bring enjoyment to you and your granddaughter through our array of programs and sculpture park. We look forward to seeing you both in 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017

My husband took a 1-day pastel workshop at the Center, & we went back the next day to tour the museum. The art displayed was of a very high quality & we were most impressed. Visitors to Manchester should definitely visit the SVAC, just as they would other more famous museums in big cities.

Thank BaliloverNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, Excutive Director at Southern Vermont Arts Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2017

Thank you for the endorsement! We are thrilled the exhibit in the Wilson Museum exceeded your expectations. Our 2018 season promises to bring exciting exhibits and events. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

Visiting Manchester, Vermont? Be sure to take in the Southern Vermont Art Center. The setting is spectacular, the history unique and introduces you to the robust community of artists, many of whom live in the towns and villages nearby. The on site Cafe Sora, featuring Japanese Homestyle Cuisine, is the perfect spot to have lunch.

Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connor J, Executive Director at Southern Vermont Arts Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Thank you for your visit and review, Kathryn. We are so glad you enjoyed our campus and the exhibits. Please visit again soon. SVAC's Winter Member Show opened on Saturday and show runs through December 30th, featuring an astounding range of artists and mediums. Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2017

This gallery is a museum! Or is this museum a gallery?

It's up a hill, overlooking a lovely field with a huge, stainless, stylized woman. The buildings are traditional New England, the art is everything from representational to totally nonobjective, and most of it is for sale.

The docents are lovely, friendly, and helpful.

By the way, if you walk into the gift shop and think you're in an exhibit, you'll not be the first.

1  Thank todbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connor J, Gallery Assistant at Southern Vermont Arts Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit on our campus. Please visit again to see our exhibits and performances in the summer season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Vermont Arts Center also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Southern Vermont Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing