We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit of history, art and scenery all rolled into one”
Review of Wilburton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wilburton Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
saratoga springs, ny
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a bit of history, art and scenery all rolled into one”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We took advantage of a special at the Inn and rented the Otlieb House on our girlfriends getaway. Overall we were extremely satisfied. The price was fantastic, the view was superb and the house was extremely accommodating for a group of girls. Everyone slept in a very comfortable bed and woke up to an unbelievable view. The breakfast was excellent which included both hot food and a great assortment of bagels and danishes.

Throughout the property, there is large assortment of sculptures. Please ask the owner about the history of the property and the meaning behind the artwork. It is very interesting and you will be glad you did!

Overall, we are looking to returning to the Wilburton Inn. It was relaxing, fun and a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laughinggirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    80
    18
    17
    17
See reviews for
138
158
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I needed to get away from the city and a friend recommended the Wilburton Inn. I had never been to Vermont for more than a day trip and thought, "Why not?"

Pictures and words truly cannot describe the inn but it is a grand estate nestled in the mountains of Vermont. I wish it was possible to have breakfast in a room with large windows overlooking the mountains everyday — as you can at the Wilburton Inn — but that would be a little difficult to do in New York City, right?

The weekend I was there, they had a magnificent Mother's Day brunch with made-to-order omelettes, delicious apple crepes, ham, roast beef, desserts and so much more.

The grounds of the inn contain many unique sculptures and Albert, shared his stories about the sculptures and his Museum of the Creative Process.

His wife, Georgette, is equally charming and was the inspiration for the character Georgeous (played by Madeline Kahn) in the late Wendy Wasserstein's play THE SISTER'S ROSENSWEIG.

The only real drawback about the inn (if you call it a drawback because it really is great to get away) is that the inn is not yet wired for internet access -- but Georgette and Albert said that they are working on changing that.

So, if you want to get away -- really getaway -- I highly recommend the Wiliburton Inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BittenByAZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

The Wilburton Inn is perhaps one of the loveliest Inns that we have stayed at in New England. It is at once warm, beautifully appointed, welcoming, sophisticated and historic. Exploring inside, one finds aa treasure trove of art pieces on the walls, each of which has a story, and objects d'art which clearly reflect a lifetime of collecting on the part of the proprietors. Albert and Georgette are intellectually motivated, warm and gracious hosts..incomparable in the imprint that they have indeliably left on this special place!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

The house has beautiful panoramic views that we had to focus on because the inside was dirty, poorly maintained and the service was terrible. Nobody there to check us in which wouldn't have been bad except we couldn't find our room and no light was left on (we were not in the main house). It took us 1/2 hour just to find the room and nearly killed ourselves getting in. There was no hot water and when we told them the next morning the woman said she'd get to it when she could. Place is felt right out a Steven KIng novel...very spooky and bizarre. Room was not really clean. Breakfast was good but table had crumbs from previous diners and silverware was dirty.Great potential but fell very short of expectations.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodloveroncape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

My husband and I had heard great things about Manchester VT and weren't sure where to stay. A friend at work said they had a great experience at the Wilburton Inn and so we gave it a shot. WHAT A FIND! The inn was so historic and unique. It was like staying in an old private mansion. My son adored the Valentine's chocolates that the innkeeper gave him. The rooms were very spacious and decorated with clawed foot tubs and high beds. It was a very special place. The grounds were terrific to explore - hills for sledding, woods to hike, a pool when we come back in summer!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomofOneNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

A large group paid $1600+ for what was touted online as a house for large groups,up to 16. Looked like a good value for area, on paper. Lower level, 4 bedrooms have to walk thru other's bedrooms to get to bathrooms. 3 floors in this house. On arrival noticed that hard wired smoke detectors had been removed, and non-wired were not functioning. No big deal, just call the front desk, right? Not. When contacted, the gentleman at the front desk said there was no one available to fix the problem. When asked if he could contact the property manager, he said there is none. Owners were out of town he said. Not his job. After mentioning that we would hate to have to call the Fire Marshall's office he said he'd try to contact someone but wasn't promising anything.(We figured we'd go out and buy our own at this point). He did send a polite young gentleman who replaced one smoke detector and found batteries for 2 others. Now we had one on each floor, 3 out of 7 fixed.Lower bedroom had an outside door that was blowing in very cold January air, huge gap. We asked that they seal it because it was going to be 2 degrees that night. Flimsy plastic nailed around edges did not work. Resourceful group that we were, we duct taped a blanket around the door. Always travel with duct tape!
Toaster did not work, oven so dirty that when used, it smoked up the whole house, had to open windows. Toilet did not work in one bathroom, mouse droppings found in bedrooms, bathrooms, silverware drawer. Carpets very dirty, electrical outlets damaged and loose leaving one to wonder about safety.
Place did have beautiful views of mountains. Grounds contained sculptures, and white framed building espoused owner psychiatrist's theory of conflict resolution and the creative process. Place is presented as the "Center for the Creative Process"...problem is the process appears more chaotic than centered.
If I were going to shoot a horror movie about an early 20th century psychiatric hospital or TB sanitorium this would be a great site! Rooms in Inn appeared to be in better condition, so ratings will vary considerably.
Stay away from the Curry Reunion House. Too much neglect and no support staff, nor was there any desire to really address the problems.
Looks good on paper, another story staying there.
While cheaper than most around the area, I would not consider this a great deal. Don't know the condition of other buildings on grounds, but it probably follows suit with the Reunion house.
We would have left had it just been two of us, but it is nearly impossible to move a large group at the last minute.
I would not go back if you paid me to do it.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bbeardedwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashantucket
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Although the Inn is beautiful and it seemed that most everyone was trying to make our stay a pleasant one, I must tell you that I was not pleased with the way we were treated.

First, we arrived and no one greeted us. When we finally got someone's attention and asked for some help, they responded by saying "What Kind of Help"? Also because the Inn didn't have any/many guests I feel that we were not treated as others would have been. Example: no afternoon tea, *no full breakfast the first day and no evening meals being offered, which we were counting on especially the first evening due to our late arrival. Albert did come through for us that evening and offered for us to partake of the food from the private party that was being held that evening.

It was not our fault that there was no one else at the Inn and I feel that some sort of compensation should have been offered (no ammenities should have been removed), instead upon our departure we were asked to pay more for less, for which we did without question.

In the future, I hope that no one else has to experience what we did and I feel that they should make people aware of the fact that they might be the only ones at the Inn and let them know because of this full services will not be offered.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Grumpy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
313 reviews
3.8 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
615 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
#2 of 12 in Manchester
408 reviews
2.4 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilburton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilburton Inn

Property: Wilburton Inn
Address: 257 Wilburton Dr, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilburton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilburton Inn is a majestic hilltop estate for families, romantics, artists, foodies and leaders who transform the world. The 30-acre private estate features a historic inn, seven vacation homes and the most breathtaking views in Vermont. The grounds include an outdoor pool, tennis court and the sculpture gardens of the Museum of the Creative Process. The Wilburton Inn has been owned and run by the Levis family for almost 30 years. We serve a full country breakfast every morning which includes Vermont Maple Syrup and hearth baked breads from our organic farm and bakery. Join us for our farm to table dinners every Wednesday in summer and theme dinner party weekends throughout the year including our Murder Mystery Weekend and New Year Eve Dinner Dance. We are more than pet friendly - we are pet celebrating! Dogs are welcome for an additional fee in all our vacation homes and inn rooms with the exception of the Wilburton mansion. From romantic bed and breakfast guest rooms to extravagant private mansions, our lodging offers something for all travelers: corporate solo travelers, couples, families, family reunions, destination weddings, and wellness and academic retreats. Our hilltop campus offers tranquility, serenity and beauty - yet we are but a mile from the Equinox Resort Hildene, golf, hikes and Manchester Designer Outlets. Every guest room has a private bathroom, complimentary WiFi, A/C, free parking, and cable TV. We look forward to welcoming you to our magnificent property. The Levis Family and Wilburton Staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Wilburton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilburton Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing