We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spur of the moment tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilburton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wilburton Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We drove up to see the Wilburton Inn after a weekend in Williamstown at the Theatre Festival because we'd heard a lot about it from some of our friends who had stayed there while going to see some plays in Dorset. I'm so glad we did! I don't know what I was expecting, but never did I imagine the gorgeous old mansion atop a hillside with stunning views in every direction.

We missed the family-style breakfast, but the innkeepers still took good care of us, bringing us the BEST FRIED EGGS I've ever had in my life... buttery wonderful eggs that come only from frying slowly over low heat in a cast iron skillet. (Note: The chef had finished the breakfast service and wasn't in the kitchen, so the kid helping out in the kitchen made the eggs... if the HELPER can make eggs that good, I can only imagine what the chef can do!) These were served alongside a variety of homemade breads made by the innkeeper's son who bakes 5,000 loaves a week for the town of Manchester. (I went a little crazy eating one that had a mix of nuts and seeds and dried cranberries in it.) The man who owns the inn was very gracious and also brought us out a little stack of pancakes, which were very yummy with fresh butter and Vermont maple syrup. Top this off with great tea and coffee and the fact that we were seated out on the flagstones overlooking the valley and it was simply wonderful.

When we arrived, a family with two kids was swimming in the pool, which looked really cheerful and fun. The grounds were gorgeous and very well-kept. A nice mix of natural and manicured.

We toured some of the available rooms (including the bridal suite, which was lovely) in the main inn (we didn't go in any of the outbuildings), and they were really nice... very pretty decor and well-situated to provide a knock-out view in the morning when you wake up. The bathrooms looked newly updated and had jacuzzis in them (in the rooms we saw).

The inn is eclectic, filled with antiques and a mix of arts from different periods, and the effect is that you feel like you are peeking back through layers of time. You see how the people of today use the building, but the great thing is that they haven't covered up the history of the place and you're able to imagine the dining room as the old billiard room (which it was!) and picture what it might have been like when the mansion was first built. The mix of original and more modern accoutrements lends a relaxed feel to what could have been a pristinely stuffy mansion. Instead, you feel welcome and like you don't have to worry about being too dressed up. (Big bonus, in my book.)

We walked around the grounds and saw some of the art. I'm torn between wanting to promote sculpture and simply wanting the natural beauty of a setting to speak for itself, but the inn does a nice job of balancing both. Art and sculptures are off the back side of the inn. The front side is reserved for the splendor of the views of the valley. Art is subjective, of course, but it's kind of fun to walk over a hill and see a series of golden Pharaohs nestled against a tree-covered hillside or to turn around and spot a replica of an Easter Island head framed by a gazebo. I also really liked the leaping fish near the door to the inn - just my personal favorite.

My boyfriend was over the moon touring the Wilburton Inn. He kept saying, "This is my kind of place! I love this place! Let's come stay here!" And he's pretty hard to please!

We're looking forward to spending a week or a weekend in Manchester at the Inn... although I would love to stay a full month, if I could, just writing and looking at the views, eating that fantastic bread and those heavenly eggs and breathing the best air in town. I think they've done a lot of work on the inn and it really shows! The innkeeper's (adult) daughter Melissa was there and was incredibly gracious and helpful. She's committed to bringing the Wilburton Inn to a new level of service and from what I could tell from our day there, she and her family are well on their way! We'll be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaPeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    74
    18
    17
    17
See reviews for
125
152
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight to celebrate our 25th Anniversary...This property is breathtaking. The views from our room, the Bridal suite in main mansion, couldn't have been better. We were able to see other rooms and each one has its own charm. From the period pieces, to the artwork, the tapestries, fresh flowers, mixed in with the owners family photos, some contemporary things, the grounds, the breakfast, and the people, gave us such a feeling of comfort and relaxation...we needed for nothing! Been to many upscale hotels which were all quite nice, however this vibe at the Wilburton Inn is entirely different...if you want a slice of heaven on earth and have a chance to travel to Manchester Vermont, check this property out. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Just wrapped up a three night stay at the Wilburton. Quite an unusual place! On almost all points that really matter, the Wilburton rates a 5-out-of-5. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We were thoughtfully upgraded to a first floor suite near the main house to make it easier for us to store our bikes. The suite was spacious, very clean, and very comfortable. Housekeeping was excellent. The Inn is a couple of miles outside the center of Manchester, on a beautiful and quiet country road that is lined with mansions. The Inn has a small pool which is very clean, centrally located, and surrounded by chairs and lounges, with a changing area and clean towels. There are some amazing and intriguing sculptures scattered about the property, part of the "Museum of the Creative Process" which is operated out of the Inn. The views are fantastic. If the story ended there, we'd rave about how we'd be returning soonest. But there's one more thing that a good Inn really needs to do well and consistently: have an organized breakfast. The first morning it seemed as though nobody quite knew what they were doing. Breakfast items were brought out late and somewhat haphazardly, and it wasn't clear who was in charge, who was taking orders, etc. We nearly left to buy breakfast in town, but then it seemed that the operation kind of pulled itself together, so we stayed and ultimately everything worked out and we were completely satisfied. The second morning was completely different; there was order, service, and everything seemed normal, like you would expect. So we marked the first day off as a fluke... until the third morning. Once again, everything disorganized, different staff, confusion. Maybe we just hit a run of bad luck, but breakfast at an Inn is a critical guest service period, and the Wilburton came close to failing on two of three mornings. For an Inn with such a long history and so many five-star reviews, this is just puzzling. It certainly leaves an impression that the innkeepers are not making it a priority to keep their inn running smoothly. All in all, there's plenty to like about the Wilburton. But our experiences at breakfast would make us hesitate before booking another stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

we went there at night and their daughter was very kind to give us the whole trip of the house and telling us about the pros and cons of a room. we stayed at the main house and took the bridal suite. it was amazing,very large and rooms face the mountain view with many large windows. the best part was the jacuzzi tub inside. loved the bath. but it was bit expensive. we have stayed at other many such places for less price. the grounds also have a pool,tennis court,but we didnt use them since there were lots of bugs. the best part was breakfast. Lan, the chef really makes great breakfast. he can make customized to your needs. it was fun talking to him as well,very jolly. he also suggested us nice places for visit and they sure were worth a trip. the main house is good to see. the museum of creative process sculptures can also be seen all over the grounds. at the back of the inn, they do have some tables to just relax watching the mountains. but make sure to take bug spray.overall we had a nice time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spectacular!

The inn itself is lovely, well maintained and has many activities within. The pool is rather small but the grounds are well kept and the staff is super helpful to resolve any problems. While we were playing tennis, the maintenance guy jumped us with some "Off" to keep the bugs away; very proactive.
Melissa the owner was excellent as well. She was quick to resolve any problems and listened carefully to our feedback to ensure everything is fixed swiftly and future guests would be happy too.

We got some butterscotch cookies and home made artisan bread as a welcome gift from local farmers.

The wifi was not working when we arrived but it was resolved the next morning. Also the gas bbq was not working but in less than an hour we got 3 pack of charcoals from the gracious hosts.

The town itself is lovely as well.

Top value for money and we will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Whenever I'm in Manchester, I always stay at the Wilburton. The staff is friendly and I really enjoy the nostalgic feel. The summer time gives you an opportunity to tour The Museum of the Creative Process. Also get to meet other interesting guests.

Room Tip: Room 12 gives you a great view of the Battenkill Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markopuryear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We really loved our stay at Melissa’s house!! She was very helpful, pleasant and hospitable host and even greeted us with a welcome present of local organic bread and cookies. The house was very specious with high ceilings and large deck overlooking amazing mountain views of Vermont with an outside barbecue grill. The rooms were large and comfortable and very clean. The house could easily accommodate our group of 9 grownups and the kitchen was well equipped with a large dining table. The house is located on a 28 acre of the Wilburton Inn which includes an outside swimming pool and a tennis court that was a great addition to our weekend. Also, the inn’s grounds are like a big museum of sculptures and magnificent landscape architecture which was very relaxing and tranquil (a great retreat for Newyorkers!!). We would definitely come back again!! Thanks Melissa!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
3.8 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.4 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilburton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilburton Inn

Property: Wilburton Inn
Address: 257 Wilburton Dr, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilburton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilburton Inn is a majestic hilltop estate for families, romantics, artists, foodies and leaders who transform the world. The 30-acre private estate features a historic inn, seven vacation homes and the most breathtaking views in Vermont. The grounds include an outdoor pool, tennis court and the sculpture gardens of the Museum of the Creative Process. The Wilburton Inn has been owned and run by the Levis family for almost 30 years. We serve a full country breakfast every morning which includes Vermont Maple Syrup and hearth baked breads from our organic farm and bakery. Join us for our farm to table dinners every Wednesday in summer and theme dinner party weekends throughout the year including our Murder Mystery Weekend and New Year Eve Dinner Dance. We are more than pet friendly - we are pet celebrating! Dogs are welcome for an additional fee in all our vacation homes and inn rooms with the exception of the Wilburton mansion. From romantic bed and breakfast guest rooms to extravagant private mansions, our lodging offers something for all travelers: corporate solo travelers, couples, families, family reunions, destination weddings, and wellness and academic retreats. Our hilltop campus offers tranquility, serenity and beauty - yet we are but a mile from the Equinox Resort Hildene, golf, hikes and Manchester Designer Outlets. Every guest room has a private bathroom, complimentary WiFi, A/C, free parking, and cable TV. We look forward to welcoming you to our magnificent property. The Levis Family and Wilburton Staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Wilburton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilburton Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing