We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love bookstores leave some time for a visit here”

Northshire Bookstore
Ranked #1 of 18 Shopping in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northshire Bookstore is a family-owned, independent bookstore. We are one of the largest bookstores in New England. Northshire Bookstore was voted Best Bookstore in the country by Publishers Weekly magazine and Best of New England by Yankee magazine. Come see why so many people rave about this full-service, old world but up-to-date store. Many gifts as well as books and a whole floor devoted to Children!
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
267 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“If you love bookstores leave some time for a visit here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent about 1/2 hour here only because we ran out of time. I could have spent the rest of the day - wonderful independent bookstore.

Note: I had a latte at the coffee bar and it was not great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bhappy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    14
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Would Northshire Open a Store in New Jersey?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

If only all the bookstores is like this. I could've spend the whole day just browsing around! One staff went out of her way to search for the appropriate book for my daughter's reading level. I couldn't get a local bookstore to that in New Jersey! They even print out of print books, right in the store! Simply an amazing store!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aimee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Excellent Bookstore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I love books and I love bookstores. It's so wonderful to find local bookstores with all their character still thriving. The selection is excellent, prices are good, they also have a collection of board games up stairs in the children's section. Don't be fooled, there are some excellent games up there. They also have an attached cafe that, while it's a little pricey, has amazing sandwhiches. I visit this bookstore every time I'm anywhere close to the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Great Bookstore.......Eat Elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a difficult review to write.

We both enjoyed the bookstore very much.

There are books to suit everyone taste, and plenty of them.

Had we stayed in the bookstore this review would have had fives across the board.

Unfortunately we were hungry and there is a cafe attached to the store.

We've been in some pretty classy places and being from the NYC area have had the privilage of enduring snooty resteraunt staff but the fellow we ran into here toook snooty and elevated it to an art form.

We'll most likely return for the books but we'll definetly eat elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank JLangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aruba
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Grat Bookstore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a nice place in the center of downtown.you could spend hours in here.it has everything with little nooks and crannies to venture into to find what you are looking for.You won't be dissaopointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank manute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northshire Bookstore also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Northshire Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing