We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History and Beauty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hildene, The Lincoln Family Home

Hildene, The Lincoln Family Home
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic home of Robert Lincoln, only child of President and Mary Todd Lincoln to survive to adulthood. The estate has beautiful gardens, restored 1903 wooden Pullman palace car, goat farm and cheesemaking facility, 12+ miles of walking trails, teaching greenhouse and cross-country skiing in winter.
Norwalk, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History and Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is nice to have historical places to visit along side Vermont's picturesque landscapes. We learned a lot about Robert Todd Lincoln. I loved the organ pipes and music at the top of the stairs. I wish my husband would let me spend more time in the gift shop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovelylady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    168
    24
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We loved visiting the home of Robert Todd Lincoln.....it was very interesting and fun to see the rooms where the people actually lived their lives. The docent was very informative and the grounds were beautiful! You could almost imagine yourself living there during that period....The gift shop was lovely too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CoCo272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
258 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Hildene - Worth a Detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

There is much more to do in Manchester, Vermont, than just shop, and Hildene is it! Although I have lived in driving distance for many years, I finally visited and was glad I did. The property has been brought back to its original state after many years of being in other hands. I learned a lot about the Lincoln family, as well as the Pullman Rail Car company. Although we paid extra for a docent tour, there are descriptive cards posted in each room which tell the story quite adequately, if you are on a budget.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DestinyRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, South Carolina
Level Contributor
248 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“A don't miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The home of Abe Lincoln's only surviving son who became among other things head of the Pullman Company. Beautiful property. Figure at least 2.5 hours. Take the guided tour if avialble. Worth every penny. Check the Hildene website before you go. Great staff, a lot to see. Nice gft shop although a bit pricey.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MBNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lincoln's Family Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a very special time in Manchester Vermont, the Hildene house is a juwel, all the volunteers do such a great work!
The house gives you a very special feeling, an the exhibition is very interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mieke4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hildene, The Lincoln Family Home also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Hildene, The Lincoln Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing