We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, thats about it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hildene, The Lincoln Family Home

Hildene, The Lincoln Family Home
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic home of Robert Lincoln, only child of President and Mary Todd Lincoln to survive to adulthood. The estate has beautiful gardens, restored 1903 wooden Pullman palace car, goat farm and cheesemaking facility, 12+ miles of walking trails, teaching greenhouse and cross-country skiing in winter.
Richfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views, thats about it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We visited this attraction and enjoyed the views of the estate and surrounding gardens/mountain views. There is an observatory on the grounds, but it was closed and we were unable to get a good look. Inside the estate there were informative plaques in each room, but pictures are not allowed. We spent about an hour there, if we hadn't had free passes we would not have been impressed. It is $16 pp to walk around the grounds, and much of the estate is closed to the public. Not really worth the time unless you are a history buff who is interested in Robert Todd Lincoln.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    168
    24
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great piece of history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place and a great snap shot of history. The house and artifacts are amazing. We were there 3 hours and will go back for more! You can easily spend a day, between the house, farm and walking trails.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nch1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The year to go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

As a piece of architecture Hildene is impressive. The story of its preservation is even more impressive. But frankly once you have seen a few over the top mansions from "that age" they all begin to look alike. You should go to Hildene for what it represents in American history. This was the home of Lincoln's son Robert Todd, whom the movie "Lincoln" treated without much interest. In fact he was very interesting and obviously made his way in life without resorting to his father's name. Americans need to know this because so often children of the famous achieve far less than their parent. The Lincoln family history is the quintessential American story. But if it is only about Abe the story is one dimensional. There is much more and this is the year to take in another important part.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hildene: Highlight of our Manchester VT Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The highlight of our trip to Manchester VT was a visit to the Lincoln family home, "Hildene," a short drive down the road from center of town. Wonderfully staffed by articulate and knowledgeable volunteers and staff, Hildene is both historic and you can get in up to 7 miles of hiking if you do all the trails and loops on the property. We were pleased with the written descriptions of each room, which contained a satisfying amount of information without being excessive. The home contains some significant artifacts; so important that one would expect to find them at the Smithsonian! Make this the focal point of your visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly interesting and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We took a short weekend break in VT and received tickets to visit Hildene. It is the home of Abraham Lincoln's son Robert Todd Lincoln. It is a remarkably pleasant home with a wonderfully assembled self-guiding tour that gives insight into the Lincoln family. There are some very unexpected pieces of President Lincoln memorabilia. There is a beautiful Pulman coach there (Robert was President of Pullman). There is also a wonderful working farm complete with cheese making. You get a strong sense of how much care and attention the local volunteers have poured into this place. Quite an inspiration in these jaded times. On top of all that there are delightful walks through the extensive grounds with great views of the beautiful mountains. I would strongly recommend visiting. We visited in early April and it was beautiful. It must be extraordinary when the gardens are in full bloom (we hope to go back and see that).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingScotsman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hildene, The Lincoln Family Home also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Hildene, The Lincoln Family Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing