We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Manchester
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
65
28
35
32
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
65
28
35
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel parked our car bread basket starwood property falconry school falcon bar indoor pool cider donuts fine hotel hiking trails front desk manager hot tub valet parking great resort steam room rich history spa services
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here for a quick getaway, after staying at the Woodstock Inn about an hour away. First off, as a Marriott Platinum member, we asked for an early check in, and they sent us a text that it would be ready at noon..excellent customer service!!
When we arrived, check in was easy, but I did notice a smell in the lobby which smelled like a gas leak? Maybe just musty..but my asthma acted up immediately, and I was glad we werent staying in that area of the hotel.
We stayed in a BEAUTIFUL 2nd floor suite in the victorian white house next door (sorry, cant remember the name of it). It was huge, and way more room than my husband and I needed ourselves. The bedroom was spacious and had a VERY comfortable bed, separate bath, and huge family room with fireplace and kitchen with a dining table that seats 6. We didnt need the kitchen, but made coffee one morning with the provided keurig.
We ate lunch outdoors on the front porch of the restaurant, which was very nice since we were experiencing beautiful early fall weather. Food was delicious! They bring you a complementary bread board with fruits, dipping sauces etc..very impressive.
Very nice location with many things to walk to, including shopping. We especially liked the Orvis outlet, which was about a mile away. Mother Myricks buttercrunch is not to be missed from their store as well.
Many places to eat in town, our favorite was Cooper Grouse.
In comparing the Equinox to the Woodstock Inn, both are very different, but highly recommended. Equinox has more to walk to, and more different types of accommodations than WI, and is also a little "hipper". We will return to both. Next time we plan on bringing our goldendoodle with us when we stay at the Equinox..they are very dog friendly :)!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank camefromfairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family has been coming here for 5-6 years in a row. We have three kids ranging from 9 to 3 and they all love it here. For families, I would recommend the Orvis - they have 1 and 2 bedroom suites, kitchenettes, etc... The brunch is delicious and our kids couldn't wait to go every day. The pool was obviously also a huge draw. The hiking just behind the resort provides multiple levels of trails / hikes, including ones that are easy enough for a dad who might have to put his 3 year old on his shoulders 90% of the time, but there are also much more challenging hikes on the mountain as well. The pond, which is easy to reach in maybe 30 minutes, is just one of our favorite places. The air is clean, the trees are green - what else could a NYC family ask for? There is a playground also on the premises which provides good fun for the kids. The town of Manchester is quaint, but large enough to provide many options for food, coffee, bars, and of course shopping. Also go to Peru VT and visit the maker space!

Room tip: The Orvis is best for families, or couples looking for more space.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EquinoxVermont, Public Relations Manager at The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa, Vermont, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your loyalty and for taking the time to review your most recent stay here with us at the Equinox! I am so glad to hear that you found our neighboring town of Peru; it is such a hidden gem! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for many years to come. Happiest of travels till we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a New England Road Trip and as part of our Ruby Wedding anniversary celebration.

Whilst the room was comfortable it was very disappointed that a hotel of this standard did not have coffee making facilities in the room as standard.

The heater in our room was horrendous and started making a noise on our first night - on and off from 4am even though it was turned off. The second night was better though.

When checking out we were met with the $39 per night “Resort Fee” which was certainly not mentioned at check in which apparently should have been. The gentleman at check out didn’t apologise and simply debited our credit card.

The hotel grounds and beautiful but service needs to be improved .

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jazzer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

Old resort type hotel in Southwest Vermont. Spa, golf, indoor pool, hiking trails. Had a wonderful stay. The hotel is old with occasional creaky or uneven floor but tons of character, spacious rooms and friendly staff. Rooms are big. Bed was soft. View was fabulous.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank joshuat428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

When dealing with a historic property, I think it's important to understand - the hotel is dealing with an architectural design that was popular in it's time period. We were there for a business conference in July - the weather and surroundings were perfect! The hotel food was great, gift shop staff was so friendly and fun, the waitstaff went out of their way for me when I asked for a beverage option that wasn't on their cart. Loved the spa services, only wish they had a "relaxation area" where you could lounge between services, put your feet up, etc. The only negative was one front desk employee who was really annoyed to be asked that required extra service. My room in particular was spacious and relaxing. WIFI was good and a nice desk to work from that had a view!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews