We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Summit, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2006

The good news is that we were using American Express Rewards points --- not our own money --- to pay for our stay at the Equinox. The bad news is that we could have used fewer of those points somewhere else, and had a more luxurious experience.

The village-green setting, the majestic entryway, the public rooms, and the spa were all beautiful. The service was above average. Our room was large and comofrtable, although it did look out over roofs of adjacent buildings. The shuttle van to nearby restaurants was also a nice touch.

When we complained about a broken lamp, someone brought a new one while we were out ... and left it parked on the dresser, without removing the broken one.

We were in an old part of the hotel, and the wooden structure allowed us to hear every single step taken by the leadfoots upstairs. (Fortunately, they went to bed before we did!)

Overall, at a rate of $450+/night, I would not stay there again. I also think a hotel can no longer bill itself as "luxury" when it starts hosting business meetings and allowing guests to wear baseball caps in the dining room.

With its excellent, expensive spa and its outdoor hiking, fishing, driving, and falconing experiences --- even more expensive --- the Equinox is unique in Manchester. But RockResorts should spend some money to bring its hotel-room standards up to those of an airport Radisson.

  • Liked — Excellent public spaces
  • Disliked — Not worth the price.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NJ_Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    350
    151
    99
    54
See reviews for
343
591
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2006

A relative and I decided to take a short getaway and we thought the Equnox Spa would be a relaxing choice. Boy, were we wrong! Our room was in the main house, above the bar area. The morning after we first arrived we woke up to bugs in our bed. BUGS!!!! We called the front desk who seemed less than concerned. They told us they found it hard to believe that bugs would be in the bed but told us they would have someone up to check it out. 30 minutes passed and none came by. By that time we had found more bugs and captured them under glasses. We called again and a manager came to the room shortly after. She apologized but also did not seem concerned. She told us that they would be thoroughly cleaning the room and throwing away the mattress. We requested another room.
Later that evening we were given another room directly above the bar. It was very cold in there so we turned on the heat and left for dinner. Dinner was at their restaurant, The Marsh Tavern. While the waitor was cordial, the hostess sat us at an uneven table in an area away from all the other diners. When she tried to fix the table she was very abrupt and lifted it spilling water all over the table and us. So we requested another table. She was rude in accomodating us and even threw the menus on the table! The food was at least good.
Upon our return to our new room we discovered that the heat wasn't working, it was letting cold air out. To top it off one of the windows was broken and wouldn't close. Needless to say the room was freezing. We slept wearing layers of clothes and several blankets. Again the staff was unapolgetic and did not offer to move us. To top things off the room was above the bar so all we heard all night was the band and people talking. The walls were so thin we heard the guest in the next room snoring all night. We found out the next day that the room had been closed off to guests because of all its problems but they put us in it anyway. This was the treatment we recieved after finding bugs in our bed. We checked out the next morning, cutting short our stay. The clerk at the front desk offered us an "I'm sorry to hear that" and made no offer at contacting a manager. I wish I could say that was all. When we returned home we called the resort and asked to speak with the general manger. We told him our story and he was much more apologetic. He offered us additional refunds and a complimentary stay at the resort, in addition to a letter of apology. Well, guess what? After a few conversations he and his staff no longer returned our calls. We never recieved any of the letters he had promised.
I would NEVER go back. It was awful. Unclean, unprofessional, rude and uncaring. Your better off staying home. Find someplace else to go.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Everythign was terrible.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away!!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maxandluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

We have stayed several times at the Orvis Inn located at the Equinox Resort. The Inn is luxurious and worth the expense. However, the Marsh Tavern, which is really the only nightly dining facility at the resort, is only average. The food is just OK but the wine list is below average. There are some good wine selections but they are tremendously overpriced. There are few offerings in the mid-range and the wine list is just too limited and small. I like the traditional New England style but the dining experience could really be improved, both in food quality and wine selection. We also ate breakfast at the Tavern buffet style (but you could also order from the menu). The staff was unfriendly.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank cellfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

Absolutely no value for your dollar. Our room was $400.00 a night and the furniture looked like dormroom furniture. The bathroom very cheaply done. No fine amenities whatsoever,even the television was small. I am shocked if this has become the standard of the Rock Resorts.

It looks like they have spent all their money on the small spa and indoor swimming pool.

Do not waste your money here.

  • Disliked — Extremely poor quality of room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nutmegusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

A fine way to spend a Labor Weekend. We booked directly with the hotel, based on the information available on the Web. Additional consideration was to take our dog with us and find a pet-friendly accomodations. When booking with the resort, we were told that yes, pets are OK, although a $100 surcharge per stay will apply. However, since we were planning a visit with a pet, we were restricted to a stay at the property's "townhomes". We looked on Web site again. The townhomes were indeed listed and for the cool $400/night we figured that they were what they appeared to be - townhomes with a kitchen, batch and a small living area - like most townhomes elsewhere. Heck, for $400 a night that was a bit steep but still worth the extra space. After all, the website clearly indicated that these were so configured.

To our dismay, when we arrived - surprise! The $400 bucks bought us a 12x12 room with a tiny bath, beat up furnishings, no dresser, tiny TV, shaky and squeeky bed and cheap plastic bath. I have stayed at Motel 8's that were better for less then $70 a night! While the room had a rear door to a field and a limited view of Mt. Equinox, it was dark, humoid and dingy in spite of a loud A/C compressor working non-stop outside. Not to mention paper thin walls where neighbors could be heard rummaging through their rooms.

The only offset to that is the beauty of the property itself and the amenities it offers. Too bad the experience has been spoiled by the feeling that we have been had accomodation-wise!

Shame on you Equinox for a misleading Web site and a poor advice/service we got at the time of reservations. We definitely will not get suckered in again. Neither should anyone else. Buyer beware.

  • Liked — Spa, nature
  • Disliked — High rice, small size, poor/cheap quality
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away from Townhomes!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank wikno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

A beautiful hotel -- too bad they served industrial rubber chicken with an albeit very tasty caesar salad and noodles swimming in their own little puddle. -- and you need to avoid the waitress who snarls at you when you ask her for another thimble full of parm cheese for the kids.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank lpostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

We stopped for one night at the Equinox, returning from a five-night stay at another "Four Diamond" resort hotel. The historic hostelry is quite beautiful from the outside, in a lovely town setting. We were familiar with its colorful advertisements and RockResort ownership, but the experience did not live up to the billing.

We had a superior room, rather than standard, but there was nothing superior about it. The carpet was badly stained throughout. When we arrived the sheer curtains behind the drapes were all open on the three large windows, revealing dirty panes. Two could be closed, but one set of sheers was broken. The carpet had clearly not been vacuumed prior to our occupying the room. A call using the "Housekeeping" button on the phone was met by the operator with an astonishing question, "why would you want to talk to them?" The decorative pillows on the bed were both badly stained. The lighting in the room was inadequate for reading, and only one robe was provided in the King0bedded, superior accomodations for two.

The spa building is handsome, and the staff pleasant. There are many restaurants nearby, which helps as the hotel restaurant and bar are both quite small and no dining reservation was available until a late hour.

We tried the buffet breakfast in another, larger room, open only in the morning. It was a handsome room, with a nice buffet. Unfortunately the waiter found it necessary to insist mid-meal and mid-mouthful on having our guest card so that he could prepare the bill. My suggestion that this could have waited until we finished eating was met with a nasty look. For this we were charged a required 18% gratutity, bringing breakfast cost for two to just over $40. The final blow is the staff propensity to call everyone "you guys," whether you are male, female, youth or matriarch, and whether at the front desk or in the dining room. Customer service training is much needed here.

We paid a high price for the lesson that this resort is run down and pays little attention to guest service. We will not return.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank 032611s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
23.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 3567 Main St, Rte 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting under the shadow of Vermont's Green Mountains on 1,300 acres in the quaint village of Manchester, The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa awaits your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equinox Resort And Spa
The Equinox Hotel Manchester
Equinox a Luxury Collection Hotel
Equinox a Luxury Collection Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing