We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Marsh Tavern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We have stayed several times at the Orvis Inn located at the Equinox Resort. The Inn is luxurious and worth the expense. However, the Marsh Tavern, which is really the only nightly dining facility at the resort, is only average. The food is just OK but the wine list is below average. There are some good wine selections but they are tremendously overpriced. There are few offerings in the mid-range and the wine list is just too limited and small. I like the traditional New England style but the dining experience could really be improved, both in food quality and wine selection. We also ate breakfast at the Tavern buffet style (but you could also order from the menu). The staff was unfriendly.

Stayed: October 2006
3  Thank cellfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
There are newer reviews for The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2006

Absolutely no value for your dollar. Our room was $400.00 a night and the furniture looked like dormroom furniture. The bathroom very cheaply done. No fine amenities whatsoever,even the television was small. I am shocked if this has become the standard of the Rock Resorts.

It looks like they have spent all their money on the small spa and indoor swimming pool.

Do not waste your money here.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nutmegusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2006

A fine way to spend a Labor Weekend. We booked directly with the hotel, based on the information available on the Web. Additional consideration was to take our dog with us and find a pet-friendly accomodations. When booking with the resort, we were told that yes, pets are OK, although a $100 surcharge per stay will apply. However, since we were planning a visit with a pet, we were restricted to a stay at the property's "townhomes". We looked on Web site again. The townhomes were indeed listed and for the cool $400/night we figured that they were what they appeared to be - townhomes with a kitchen, batch and a small living area - like most townhomes elsewhere. Heck, for $400 a night that was a bit steep but still worth the extra space. After all, the website clearly indicated that these were so configured.

To our dismay, when we arrived - surprise! The $400 bucks bought us a 12x12 room with a tiny bath, beat up furnishings, no dresser, tiny TV, shaky and squeeky bed and cheap plastic bath. I have stayed at Motel 8's that were better for less then $70 a night! While the room had a rear door to a field and a limited view of Mt. Equinox, it was dark, humoid and dingy in spite of a loud A/C compressor working non-stop outside. Not to mention paper thin walls where neighbors could be heard rummaging through their rooms.

The only offset to that is the beauty of the property itself and the amenities it offers. Too bad the experience has been spoiled by the feeling that we have been had accomodation-wise!

Shame on you Equinox for a misleading Web site and a poor advice/service we got at the time of reservations. We definitely will not get suckered in again. Neither should anyone else. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank wikno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

A beautiful hotel -- too bad they served industrial rubber chicken with an albeit very tasty caesar salad and noodles swimming in their own little puddle. -- and you need to avoid the waitress who snarls at you when you ask her for another thimble full of parm cheese for the kids.

Stayed: August 2006
5  Thank lpostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

We stopped for one night at the Equinox, returning from a five-night stay at another "Four Diamond" resort hotel. The historic hostelry is quite beautiful from the outside, in a lovely town setting. We were familiar with its colorful advertisements and RockResort ownership, but the experience did not live up to the billing.

We had a superior room, rather than standard, but there was nothing superior about it. The carpet was badly stained throughout. When we arrived the sheer curtains behind the drapes were all open on the three large windows, revealing dirty panes. Two could be closed, but one set of sheers was broken. The carpet had clearly not been vacuumed prior to our occupying the room. A call using the "Housekeeping" button on the phone was met by the operator with an astonishing question, "why would you want to talk to them?" The decorative pillows on the bed were both badly stained. The lighting in the room was inadequate for reading, and only one robe was provided in the King0bedded, superior accomodations for two.

The spa building is handsome, and the staff pleasant. There are many restaurants nearby, which helps as the hotel restaurant and bar are both quite small and no dining reservation was available until a late hour.

We tried the buffet breakfast in another, larger room, open only in the morning. It was a handsome room, with a nice buffet. Unfortunately the waiter found it necessary to insist mid-meal and mid-mouthful on having our guest card so that he could prepare the bill. My suggestion that this could have waited until we finished eating was met with a nasty look. For this we were charged a required 18% gratutity, bringing breakfast cost for two to just over $40. The final blow is the staff propensity to call everyone "you guys," whether you are male, female, youth or matriarch, and whether at the front desk or in the dining room. Customer service training is much needed here.

We paid a high price for the lesson that this resort is run down and pays little attention to guest service. We will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank 032611s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed at Aug 11 - 14 and really had an enjoyable time. The Equinox is definitely expensive for what it is so I'd recommend tempering expectations. Although you're paying rates that would indicate perfection, The Equinox does not deliver across the board. The surroundings and location are beautiful and there's tons to do in the area.

Spa:
The Spa treatments are very expensive and just average. The relxation room is small and co-ed. I'd stayed at a Rock Resort in Jackson Hole, WY that had much better relaxation/locker room facilities.

Food:
-The breakfast at The Colonnade was great and really a good value considering the cost of most other things.
- The Lobster/Clam Bake at the Golf Course was terrible & expensive! Our lobster was cold, many of the clams were just shells and we had no potatoes.
- Marsh Tavern - we ate on the porch for lunch one day which was a nice setting right on Main St. There was only 1 bartender for the whole place on a Sunday in August! Crazy! Service was very slow and the food was just so so. It took us 1.5 hours for 1 salad, 1 soup & 1 sandwich. Luckily it was a beautiful day and people watching filled the time.
- Overall - I'd skip the on site restaurants except for breakfast. Other good options (Candeleros in great Southwestern & good margaritas). Inn at Westview Farm for "upscale" dining is very good altough not on par with "upscale" dining in Chicago/Boston etc.

Activities:
- Falcon Experince - My husband did the Falconry lesson and then Hawk Walk. He absolutely loved the experience and the instructors.
- Pool - Indoor with TONS of kids.

Overall, the experience of staying at the Equinox is a good one just be prepared to spend more than you'll likely think it's worth at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Movin4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

We had a poor welcoming experience and took nearly an hour to check in. We arrived at around 1pm and were told check in was at 4pm which we knew from the reservation agent. We checked back at 3pm and were told a room would be ready at 3:30pm. We went back to the desk and were given keys to room 235 but when we went to the room we found our room keys didn't work. We went back to the front desk and were told our room was not ready after all (thats why the keys didn't work) but that if we came back at 4pm our room would be ready. We returned at 4:10pm and were told there was a mix up with our room and we were in 135 instead. We went to 135 but when we opened the door we found it was already occupied. So once again we returned to the front desk to be told that they were confused but that 235 was now ours and was ready. We went to the room and voila it was empty. Indeed the furnishings were minimalistic and made of very cheap pine. For the price of $269 + tax it was was pretty poor.
It seems that the hotel is operating in a rather pleasant but amateurish manner and taking refuge in their status as one of the "very old hotels" in the US. Not worth the money in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank tangodancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
3.5 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 3567 Main St, Rte 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $262 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting under the shadow of Vermont's Green Mountains on 1,300 acres in the quaint village of Manchester, The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa awaits your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equinox Resort And Spa
The Equinox Hotel Manchester
Equinox a Luxury Collection Hotel
Equinox a Luxury Collection Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing