We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 6, 2008

This hotel is AMAZING and absolutely worth the stay. Sure, we stayed in December, during the super cold and low season ... but the upside to this is that the crowd tended to be a bit older, more mature, more couples - we didn't have to deal with a bunch of screaming kids or crowds. It was great! I love that they have a bunch of restaurant options, so when we were feeling lazy, we just sauntered downstairs and ate whatever. Note that I didn't actually get any spa treatments done, but I relaxed in their spa room anyways (for free) in a robe - and I can honestly say that was the most relaxed I have been in a very long time. The hotel itself is lovely and very well maintained - you feel like you're part of a strong history when you're in this hotel and in this town. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again... and actually might even return in the next couple of weeks!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank EdgeofExistence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
There are newer reviews for The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,236 - 1,242 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2008

DH and I were trying to figure out how many years our office has been doing its fall conference at the Equinox. We love it. In fact, this is our second trip this year--and we are not complaining. The office tried a few other venues before settling into the Equinox and now we have been doing it for 6 or 7 years (we think).

We love Manchester Village. We are here to relax and relax we do. The shopping is becoming less and less of an attraction as the bargains are fewer and further between but there are a few shops that we visit every year (especially Long Ago and Far Away for Inuit sculpture and southwest jewelry). This year we discovered the Southern Vermont Art Center. Other years we have driven to Bennington or indulged in the spa. We tried out two restaurants this year. We found the Sushi Boat (a local favorite) and Laney's for ribs and BBQ (try the mulled cider with or without the rum).

The renovations were just starting when we came up in May (we were in the Orvis Inn). This time, we had a very spacious room right above the front entrance. Even with the windows wide open in the unseasonable temps, the room was quiet at night (well not counting the squeaky floorboards that are part of the charm of a building as old as the Equinox).

I know that a lot of people are disappointed with the new decor, however, I must admit that I love it. I am so glad that they have gotten rid of early American look; I was never enthralled by the knotty pine and the flowery prints in the guest rooms--it just wasn't well executed. I never felt that it matched the elegance of the decor in the public rooms. The new decor does; besides which, everything was beginning to look worn out. It was really time for a face-lift.

I do have three complaints about the new decor however. First, there is very little storage space in the room. We had a small armoire with hanging space and two drawers. Good thing we had two beds and could use one for storage. Next, the safe is in the drawer in the nightstand and it not only takes away all the storage space in one of the few drawers in the rooms but also that it is not large enough to hold a laptop computer or a DSLR (let alone both). Finally, there was just one bedside lamp for two queen-sized beds. I guess i shouldn't complain though, because we did have a desk (and free internet) and plenty of floor space.

The expanded rear deck with a huge fire pit plus table seating is a fabulous addition to the hotel. I would have liked to have spent more time there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Peregrina651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Well where should i begin:

We were attending my cousins or my parent's nieces wedding held across the street from The Equinox.

Pros:

Room is set in a beautiful town of Manchester, VT (1 hour 10 mins drive from Albany, 45 minutes from Rutland, 3 hours from Manchester, NH)

Plenty of places to eat, and hiking is great.

The Equinox has a golf course Rated #2 in State (Gleneagles)

Cons:

Room price ($409 plus tax & a $25 resort fee per day for the room)
(That was the wedding rate & the usual rate for that weekend was $549 plus tax.

The Restaurant was good, but the breakfast was your typical buffet and omelet stand. ($20 per person)

The pool was nice and inviting (one hour adult time (11am-12pm)

Complementary use of bikes while your there (though included in the resort fee)

Tennis available ($50 hour for court fee, $60 ball machine with court for an hour)

There is fishing available at the Pond (catch and release only)

The golf course is nice though (cost $105 guest price for 18 holes even if staying at resort)

Rooms were small (315 sq ft for Two Queen Beds (air works weirdly, 65 degrees for A/C and 67 degrees you get roasted.
Worked very weirdly, rooms did have some slants but nothing to get nuts about.

Room had one small sink for use outside of bathroom (not enough for 2 people to use)

Room service is available but they add 20% to your bill even if your just getting a salad and a drink.

I would probably not return to this hotel unless the price was less and so forth.

The wedding was great but that doesn't overshadow the rest of the property.

The property was just bought this Spring by Starwood Hotels.

It is very contemporary now versus the old colonial style before it was bought by Starwood.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Just returned from a get-away with my wife at the Equinox. Have stayed several times before, however this is the first since the remodel. Those who have stayed at the Equinox before will be disappointed by the new decor, as all of the great historic art/pieces have been removed. Those who are new to the Equinox will like the bright and tasteful atmosphere ("Crate and Barrel" - like). We did enjoy some of the new additions like the Falcon Bar, with a terrific outdoor seating area complete with unique fire-pit. My summary of the Equinox is the location is outstanding, the facilities/grounds are one-of-a-kind, the rooms are decent but not spectacular and the service is efficient but not overly friendly. Tip for golfers - you get the best rates on the Equinox course by booking on the internet, not by calling the clubhouse directly (even when you identify yourself as a resort guest!).

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luv2trvl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Based on previous postings, I was apprehensive about what I'd find at the Equinox, but was pleasantly surprised! The whole property was recently renovated, and the new rooms are spacious, modern, and beautiful! The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked great, and all other amenities were perfect. One small comment is that there were only two dresser drawers, and for a family of 4 staying for a few days, we could have used a couple more. The hotel itself has a ton of activities and dining options, although most are quite expensive, especially given the high price of staying at the resort in the first place. We used the terrific indoor pool, and spent the nights on the spacious back deck around the relaxing fire pit. We didn't do anything at the spa, nor the falconry, shooting, archery, etc. largely due to the high cost. We decided not to eat at the pricey hotel restaurants, although drinks and dessert were delicious! There are many great dining alternatives in town. The staff is very friendly and willing to help, although apparently not altogether familiar with the surrounding areas (gave us completely wrong directions to a local fair). The town of Manchester is beautiful and relaxing, surrounded by mountains, and not too much tourist traffic. A little bit of a drive, especially from the Boston area, but definitely worth it for a few days of relaxation and fresh air.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

My husband and I recently made our first visit to the Equinox this past weekend and loved it! The check-in staff was friendly and welcoming; the room was updated and plush, with a comfy bed, much-appreciated extras (make-up remover and bottled water), and stunning views.

Despite a mix-up with the valet (which was quickly settled) and billing confusion (also immediately resolved), our stay was relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable. The Equinox's combination of old-world charm and modern amenities is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peachykeen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

The Equinox needed a refreshing after many years of wear. Unfortunately the new ownership has turned the interior into feeling just like any other (higher end) Sheraton. The decorations are tasteful but we felt as though we could be in any other big city, corporate meeting spot. Plastic wood for the new bar outback, beige and brown interiors with barely a nod to the history of the place (blow up pictures of the Inn in the 19th century). Some of the old time staff are still there and as gracious as ever but we encountered a level of rudeness with some staff that had us thinking big city instead of historic hotel in a small town.

We were there for a business meeting, which now is the focus for most of the guests at the Hotel and the services were adequate but certainly not exceptional. Cheap phone for the conference calls we needed, no pitchers of water (only bottled water which is very ungreen for the Green State), mistakes on the billing, ignoring food set up for some breaks...

The new management is trying to turn this into a corporate destination place it seems, but they have lost the charm and uniqueness of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jmmwashingtondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
3.5 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#7 of 16 in Manchester
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 3567 Main St, Rte 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $261 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting under the shadow of Vermont's Green Mountains on 1,300 acres in the quaint village of Manchester, The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa awaits your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equinox Resort And Spa
The Equinox Hotel Manchester
Equinox a Luxury Collection Hotel
Equinox a Luxury Collection Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing