We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spa; Charles Orvis Inn needs some minor fixes to excel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Spa; Charles Orvis Inn needs some minor fixes to excel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The spa was decadent although I wish it had an outdoor pool but then again not many places in Vermont have outdoor pools. The staff was very hard working in helping us get great local dinner reservations. The in-house restaurant had excellent, if not pricy compared to all of the restaurants in town. The bellboys and concierge were at the top of the game and all of the people in the spa were friendly and talented.

We stayed in the Charles Orvis Inn (a converted 19th century house with a modern wing attached to the back). We stayed in room 622, a very large suite with a full kitchen that was located in the older part of the building, towards the front of the building. I was concerned because it was right off the street but that wasn't a problem noise wise.

It was quiet all night for the most part. What wasn't quiet was the front door, which didn't have a pneumatic piston on the top of the door to close it slowly and quietly. The downside was sometimes we would come home late at night and the front door was open because a guest didn't close the door hard enough--being a stand alone structure, this didn't make for a good sense of security. Even worse, if someone slammed the front door (which was easy to do since the front door wasn't that heavy and it was just on hinges), it would make a very loud "bang" sound and wake me up every time that happened during the night. A complaint to the front disk didn't seem to illicit any urgency in performing what would be a 1/2 hour repair job to fix this security and sleep-interrupting problem.

The kitchen was nice, the living room was inviting and the bathroom was on the small size due to the age of the building.

On the down side, there were two problems with our room. First, there was a severe shortage of draws (just 2) for storing clothes so my wife and I were staying out of our suitcase in a luxury resort. Even adding a shelf in the bedroom closet would have helped. Lastly, the window blinds were set inside the window box which allowed the sun to peak in around the blinds, filling up the room before 6:00 AM every morning in late July. The windows need shades on a curtain rod so the windows are completely blocked. Again, the front desk didn't seem to understand the urgency in this issue. It is very hard to sleep late in this resort's more exclusive rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jsteinberg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    350
    151
    99
    54
See reviews for
343
591
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Equinox is a famous hotel in the area which provides plenty of things to do. Spent 2 nights which were fully packed. Spa is a little tired and in need of an uplift. Bathroom/locker room facilities below expectations. Services were excellent from massages to yoga classes. Hiking trails in the Preserve are great. Food was very good for breakfast, but no need to do dinner as there are good restaurants in the area. Rooms a little tired also. Disappointed in the house keeping. Could have been at a higher level. Staff overall is attentive.
Try and secure a discount. Paying full boat may lead to being disappointed!

Room Tip: Aim for a third floor room facing the rear mountain.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very "Green" conscience. But limit your HVAC temperatures which are very annoying.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here on our three week trip around New England. We were greeted with helpful staff as soon as we arrived at the hotel. Our room was great, large well furnished and very impressive bathroom. The facilities in the hotel were all of a very good standard.
The location of the hotel was good it enabled us good access to Manchester and the shopping!
The staff went that extra mile and made our stay very special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Amazing how they retrofitted a new hotel into a very old building, but they have. It's beautiful and what remains of the 19th century -- some low ceilings, slightly out of plumb window and door frames, squeaking floor boards in the hall, etc., are charming in the overall luxurious context. Room was large with high ceiling, though narrow, and very comfortable.The deck outside the Falcon Bar with a big gas fire pit was perfect on a summer night. Easy walking into the town and great hikes up the mountain; very short walk to the golf course. Mostly, though, the staff was great. Special shout outs to Tracey, the hardest working bar waitress in VT, Dan in housekeeping, who went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, and Brian at the front desk.

Room Tip: We were in 200, pretty much over the front door. Quiet even though on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spent the weekend at the Equinox to celebrate our 10-year wedding anniversary and had an amazing time! The size of our room was impressive, though some of the furnishings looked a little tired, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The food was delicious, though a bit pricey. The spa was fantastic- I had a Swedish massage with Richard and it was worth the splurge. The weekend left us feeling relaxed and rejuvenated!

Room Tip: Rooms in the inns seem quieter and more quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler2014430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We recently stayed at the inn located on the Equinox property to celebrate our son's 2nd birthday

Key takeaways:
* Nice for kids (indoor pool, playground, nearby attractions = feeding fish, book store and farm)
* The inn can fit a small family comfortably and there is a kitchen in the room
* We thought it would also be an excellent property for a couple getaway or for a friend reunion
* Beautiful spa and nice tennis courts. We did not play golf, but looked challenging
* If we had more time (and a babysitter) would have loved to try Land Rover challenge, falconry and clay pigeon shooting

Room Tip: Several events take place on the property around multiple seasons so inquire before
See more room tips
Green Features: Nothing too special (standard) environmental friendly practices
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAHAWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

we had a wonderful weekend at our favorite place to stay in Vermont. The last time we came it was in the winter so the look and feel of the resort was totally different. We had a few hiccups during our stay but the management was so good about fixing things right away that it made us like the place even more!

For folks looking for a challenge - hike up Mt Equinox, it's a tough. Be sure to save a full afternoon for it. Also ask for Brian at the front desk. He was so helpful! We'd come back just for his service.

Room Tip: stay in the main building if you want to be closer to the amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phunkypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Stratton Mountain Resort
Stratton Mountain Resort
#1 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
9.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
23.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 3567 Main St, Rte 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting under the shadow of Vermont's Green Mountains on 1,300 acres in the quaint village of Manchester, The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa awaits your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equinox Resort And Spa
The Equinox Hotel Manchester
Equinox a Luxury Collection Hotel
Equinox a Luxury Collection Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing