We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Get-Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Class Get-Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

My Wife & I just came back from our annual Manchester get away .This time we stayed at the historic Equinox Hotel . We stayed in a very nice room that was only steps away from the bar, food & coffee in the morning. The Valet parking was a nice touch & the staff was very friendly. Although the hotel is old ,it is kept up in tip top shape. We both found it a pleasure to have our coffee in a large common room overlooking the grounds. The swiming pool is super nice. Large & warm. A real treat as the weather was still chilly outside. We will return in the future for another stay.

mickey

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyfeetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    352
    152
    100
    54
See reviews for
347
592
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our family has visited the Equinox four times over the past year and a half. I say visit because the staff treats you like family and the accommodations are second to none.

We have three children ages 7-12 and we always find something to do in the area. Whether it's shopping at the outlets a mile away, hiking right on the property, eating at the Marsh Tavaren, or relaxing in the indoor pool, they are never restless.

If you enjoy beautiful mountain views, clean crisp air, and being treated with the utmost respest, then the Equinox is a must visit for your next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grizzy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great staff makes for an outstanding experience, and that is what is found from the moment one drives up to the door. My check in was efficient and friendly, and I was quickly on my way to my spa treatments. The spa staff was welcoming and incredibly skilled. After an amazing pedicure and hot stone massage, the tone was set for an absolutely wonderful evening. My room was exceptional - spacious and well appointed, quiet and private. (One minor word of caution: When one is on the third floor, turn on the shower ahead of time to allow the hot water to work its way all the way up to the top!) The bedding was so comfortable! I slept like a rock. Breakfast in the tavern again came with outstanding service, and great coffee. My stay was complete with a lovely manicure, and I was on my way to shopping in the outlets, bottle of water thoughtfully placed in my car by the valet. Really...What could have been better? I am looking forward to a return trip, hopefully sooner rather than later...and bringing someone with me.

Room Tip: My room was expansive, with a complete living room/dining room, half bath, and master bedroom and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Recommended for people who enjoy Historic settings and good food. There are several Orvis sponsored activities in the area that are well run. Small but very pleasant downtown area with boutique shopping. A great place for a relaxing and hiking.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My family has now stayed at the Equinox during three winter holiday school breaks. Each time I redeemed SPG points for a (free) five-night stay. Over Christmas/New Year's the resort is packed with kids and, for an old historic inn, is surprisingly child-friendly. We've used the resort as a homebase for skiing at Bromley (about a 10-minute drive from the hotel). If you prefer to ski at Stratton (about a 30-minute drive), you're probably better off staying near or at the base of Stratton. The Equinox does offer daily shuttle services to and from the two ski areas, although we've always driven our own car.

The hotel offers plenty of adult diversions and great restaurant options, but the reason we keep going back for the holidays is that it's festive and fun and keeps our kids occupied. The hotel sets aside a large play room specifically for kids and offers board games, arts and crafts, and hot chocolate and cookies in the afternoons. One of the highlights the kids remember best: If you win at Bingo, you get a gift certificate to use in the resort's gift shop. There are special events for families (e.g., New Year's Eve party) and special dining options too. There's an indoor pool and an outdoor hot tub (although last time the hot tub was mysteriously broken/closed/off-limits almost the entire time), as well as a hill for sledding. There's also plenty for kids to do in the area, even if you don't ski. (Two great recommendations you might otherwise miss: Making your own glass paperweight at Manchester Hot Glass, and the upstairs kids' section of the Northshire Bookstore.)

Room Tip: It's an old historic structure, so room shapes, sizes, and views vary considerably, and differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyPerrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I recently stayed for several nights at the Equinox resort in Manchester. I was able to take advantage of a mid-week special and decided to make it the home base for my Vermont getaway.

It's worth noting that the staff at the hotel are very pleasant. Everyone from the bartenders to the valets were very pleasant and helpful. I did have an issue in the restaurant which I'll discuss below.

The room I stayed in was an upgraded king deluxe. We had about 8 large windows along two walls of the room viewing the courtyard and the mountains behind the resort. The room was well appointed and comfortable. Being an old building, it's worth noting that the windows leak air a bit (really wasn't a big issue), and there is a good amount of noise from those above us on the 4th floor. I think some were people walking down the halls, but the buildings do "creek" and make a good deal of noise as it is a wood-framed structure. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, and could have used a good detailing (some mildew in the grout was plainly visible), and it was clear that whenever renovated, they didn't take enough time to properly repair the doors and then repaint (the paint was caked on, our door handle was very loose, etc).

As for the restaurant, I looked on yelp before we went there one night to grab a quick dessert. A lot of the review had remarked on how poor and slow the service was - I wrote it off as a bad period in the resort's history. Well, I shouldn't have! We went to the tavern at about 9pm, and the hostess was simply a mess - she had open tables everywhere, but insisted that my party (2 people), and another party (2 people) had to wait while she reset tables for 2. We stood there for at least 15 minutes (with the other 2 people) before eventually settling on the bar. While eating at the bar, we noticed that a large table behind us of a family of about 12 people had long left and their table was covered in a plethora of dirty dishes. The bartender remarked to another employee that they couldn't believe how busy they were given 50% occupancy on property - but it all seemed a little odd to us. The Falcon bar was quite nice - but we went on two nights and one bartender was a great mixologist while the other left something to be desired (I ordered the same drink two nights in a row from their drink menu, and it was a totally different outcome the second night). The tavern is probably a "skip" until they get their act together.

Thought it was a little weird that on our last day we received a letter under our door from a manager asking us to tell them if we didn't think the resort was perfect rather than reporting it on a future survey that we might receive - not sure if they don't get the fact that if we're not honest to corporate that they certainly won't be able to help the resort fix any issues.

All-in-all, this really is a beautiful old resort that I would happily stay at again - so don't read too much into what I have above - it's just worth noting.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor if you don't want to hear footsteps all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlatinumStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a very elegant; but not ostentatious hotel. The rooms are beautifully appointed, and spotless. It has a very quaint, comfortable feel - even with it's elegance. The grounds are lovely and the service is top notch. It is wonderful for families and couples. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Townhouses, which was very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deidrek63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkONeillGM, Manager at The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Deidrek63,

Thank you very much for sharing your trip with us. I am so glad to hear that you had a great time and that our property was to your liking. Our grounds crew work tirelessly to ensure that we are always ready for guests. We are excited for the flowers to bloom this spring. We look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.9 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 3567 Main St, Rte 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting under the shadow of Vermont's Green Mountains on 1,300 acres in the quaint village of Manchester, The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa awaits your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equinox Resort And Spa
The Equinox Hotel Manchester
Equinox a Luxury Collection Hotel
Equinox a Luxury Collection Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing