We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We just returned from a three night stay at the equinox. Everything was great..the cider doughnuts at breakfast were particularly delicious. Service was very accommodating. One complaint which other guests were talking about was a bad smell in the lobby ( like a decomposing mouse), it was pretty intense and no one seemed to be dealing ith it. We had a great stay and will definitely be back, but I do hope the hire an exterminator first.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    350
    151
    99
    54
See reviews for
343
591
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was really looking forward to stay at The Equinox, and i was very disappointed. The hotel isn't the most stroller/toddler friendly hotel I've ever been too, to get to certain in areas with a stroller i actually had to walk outside and around the the whole building to get to where i needed to go just to avoid the stairs.

The showers were very dirty and needed a very good scrub down. My bed didnt have a fitted sheet on it just a flat sheet that didnt even cover the whole mattress

The pool was freezing and is filled with saltwater, the baby eyes were red the rest of trip after being in the pool. The floor by the was very slippery when wet, which is an accident waiting to happen.

The food was pretty good. and the staff and were amazing! but i dont think ill ever come here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkONeillGM, General Manager at The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello, and thank you for sharing your feedback. I am truly sorry that you did not have an exceptional experience at the Equinox. It is our goal to delight each of our guests, even the very youngest. Please accept my apologies that we were not able to fulfill this promise for you and your family.
I would very much appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your stay. Please do not hestiate to contact me directly if there is any way I can be of service now or in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Being a historic hotel it was quant and you can feel this area has history as Manchester was established in the late 1700's. Now as far as a luxury spot it definitely needs work. First off the showers are old.. There's mold on the tiles the shower head is weak and the bathroom is more like a motel atmosphere. Service was up to par. Needed milk for the baby and it was up in 5 min a microwave and fridge was also set up so this place is kid friendly. Also dog friendly. One thing that got me was I get a call from reservations asking if I would like to extend my stay at a discounted rate and they'll wave the resort fee which I passed as I needed to get back to work. Upon my departure I requested SPF gold 4pm checkout and they said were fully booked. How are they fully booked if they asked me to extend my stay left a bad taste. They even disabled my key at 12 when my baby was sleeping in the room. I guess I'm a spoiled traveler and nothing really meets up to the st Regis standard I became use to. FYI if I want to go skiing I recommend Bromley over Stratton as its empty and half the price

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwminirc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkONeillGM, General Manager at The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback. I truly appreciate it, as your comments help us to focus on areas of the resort and guest experience that may need additional attention.
While I am delighted that you did enjoy the level of service, and I am shocked that the bathroom was not up to our standards or your expectations. I am truly sorry, also, that the reservation process was not clear.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these challenges with you and learn what I can do to restore your faith in the Equinox. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the resort if you desire. Again, thank you so much for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This place is exactly what you want it to be. An old charming property in a bucolic setting in VT. You are walking distance from a cute town with great shopping, cafes etc. and the hotel itself has been nicely updated. We got 2 rooms on the 2nd floor, right above the Marsh Tavern. Loved the whole vibe of the place. Nice indoor pool and the spa is very well done. Snow on the ground, and cocktails by the firepit. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheesedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury, NH USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have stayed at the Equinox Resort several times, and it is always a destination with wonderful memories. This visit was a gift from our children, to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary. Being in December, the Equinox was beautifully decorated, and we enjoyed sitting by the fireplace. The food was incredible, we ate breakfast in the Collanade Room, and had dinner in the Chop House.As always, the service was impeccable, and we were made to feel so welcomed. We look forward to a return visit soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite on this visit--so there was a lot of room to spread out. We enjoyed the full si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mexico25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
266 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here using starwoods points. We still had to pay a $25 resort fee daily.
The Staff are the most exceptional part of this property - they really are superb in every way.

We were upgraded to a deluxe (larger) room and were on the 3rd floor - at night we could clearly hear each footstep from the room above; luckily they kept roughly the same hours as we did.

We enjoyed a massage and the spa facilities - steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi and pool.
We took a nice yoga class, but I feel it is a bit much to charge $15 each for a group yoga class when you are already paying a resort fee.

Valet parking was terrific on a rainy day and the staff were prompt and super friendly.

We had the buffet breakfast one day and would compare it to a Hyatt breakfast buffet, very nice, but not excellent.

We enjoyed Manchester and especially recommend the Northshire bookstore and for fine dining - the Silver Fork restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4th floor room if footsteps from above will bother you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhappy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My Family has been coming here for years. Very charming and lots to do. Resort is comfortable and relaxing. Dinning and Spa are top notch. Shopping, hiking, winter sports are all close by. I've personally never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Loved the corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Stratton Mountain Resort
Stratton Mountain Resort
#1 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
23.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 3567 Main St, Rte 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting under the shadow of Vermont's Green Mountains on 1,300 acres in the quaint village of Manchester, The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa awaits your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equinox Resort And Spa
The Equinox Hotel Manchester
Equinox a Luxury Collection Hotel
Equinox a Luxury Collection Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing