We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We have always wanted to stay here, and finally did! We got a really good deal (through Rock Resorts, before they sold) and we think it was a good price. That being said, we did agree that it would not have been worth the going average rate.

The pool and spa were beautiful. The spa was sold out on a Monday night, so call ahead. Loved the gym, but - they charge extra ($15) for pilates and yoga. (on top of a $25 resort fee? interesting strategy)

The overall experience was just fabulous. The people were so nice and helpful. Front desk, concierge, and all staff, so pleasant!

Was surprised at no in-room safe, but, a good hair dryer!

Take advantage of their "Dinner Shuttle" loved it! We went to Ye Old Tavern. Good food, dinner in front of a fireplace, excellent server.

Up for Breakfast in town was good!

Lunch at Mulligan's was okay, great Rubin sandwich, horrible Nachos, not good service, looks great from outside, but i wouldn't bother!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank out_island_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed here as part of a New England tour that was self-planned via the internet. The resort is fabulous, with a stunning setting and we had fabulous weather which helped too. The spa was lovely, and we sat in the hot-tub one night to watch the sunset on a clear, cold evening which was very memorable. Overall, though the room was a little tired although spacious and comfortable enough, and it was honestly just too pricey. At $369 per night it was a bit too steep, then the levying of a dubious $25 per day 'resort fee' was just taking a rise out of customers. I would say $300 per night would be closer to the true value, and ditch the fee and win more customers hearts!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fife_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

I have stayed at the Equinox twice in the last two years. Its a lovely
old hotel. The rooms are very clean at least the two that I have had. The bathroom is large, but lacks alot of counter area. Furnished blowdryer a nice touch.

The staff is very friendly. Every time I walked past a cleaning person
they said good morning.

The spa is great. The prices have gone up a bit with the recent sale of the hotel, but the quality is worth it. The pool is very nice as is the hot tub. The gym is above average.

I have eaten at the tavern a few times and the dining area once. Both were fine, if not extraordinary.

Beds are comfortable and so are the pillows!

The one week spot of the hotel is that free coffee is only available in the early morning. The area is not well monitored so it runs low of coffee quite often, and guests must flag staff down to refill. The
coffee is located in the library in front of a nice fireplace handy on cold nights.

There is not much to do in town other than shop which is a shame. A few places to eat in town, Sirloin Saloon is okay, the Bean not so much, Up for Breakast is good. Friendlys is both senior and kid friendly. Service is iffy at Friendlys depends on who you get.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank quietmanNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

My friend and I booked a girls' weekend at the Equinox last winter and we were looking forward to it for months. We had a half-price package for $158 per night for a two night stay, with plans for spa appointments and outlet shopping. We stayed on the 2nd floor in the south wing; it's an old building, so there was some noise, with guests walking overhead and doors slamming but nothing unbearable. However, the room was a bit of a disappointment and didn't live up to our expectations, especially as compared to the grounds and common areas. The decor was uninspired, with carpeting that needed a good cleaning. The bathroom was shabby, tiny and in need of a re-do. Lights flickered and the toilet ran. On our final morning, there was a water "emergency", according to the front desk person who insincerely apologized for the inconvenience, so no hot water for showers at the time we needed them. When we checked out, we received a small adjustment on our bill. On the plus side, the spa was very nice (treatments are expensive), the majority of staff were friendly and the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service, which is very handy for local dining. All in all, it was a nice weekend but if we had paid full price for our stay, we would have been upset. Until the rooms are re-modeled to bring the decor and facilities up to date, we would not return.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skoulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

We needed to get away from the tristate area and thought Vermont would be fun. Manchester is a shopping mecca and a little too busy for us.
The hotel was nice, in a old country kind of way, but our room was a huge dissapointment. Stay away from the townhouses. I tried to move more than once, but there was a wedding and the hotel was sold out. We paid nearly $500.00 a night and I have been in a Comfort Inn that was in better shape.
The spa was nice, but I have been to better. I did get the most expensive pedicure in my life.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank blcblc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

My husband and I have been going to the Equinox for at least the past 10 years. Early on it was great but the last three years have been disappointing, but we continued to go hoping it would improve from help to rooms, which have deterioated. This last time was the final time, with no none to help us with our bags and may I quote the front desk boys told us that exercise was good for us. We had breakfast in the Colannade room. The service was terrible and the chef making eggs and etc. told us the burners were not working right and he could not be found when we went to order our breakfast. We waited 20 minutes for a cup of coffee. Although, we have heard the same story that the place has been sold and will go under renovation, rudeness and a run down room is inexcusable, especially that it is not an inexpensive place to stay. Our lunch at the Dormey grill was inexcusable with rude staff. I had wriiten to the Equinox and relayed that after 10 years they replied with "what do you want us to do?" WE WILL NEVER RETURN Joann &Tom Collins Conn.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glitterConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Just got back from The Equinox so I'm writing this with everything fresh in my mind. First I would like to say I agree with much of what the reviewer from Concord MA had to say about this place. We liked it, it's a beautiful property. The location couldn't be more picturesque with the mountain view in back and the proximity to shopping, dining, etc. The staff was very friendly, check in was no problem on a busy weekend. We had a large room (king bed) on the first floor overlooking the center "backyard" of the hotel. The bathroom was also very large with ample vanity space. Both rooms were clean and the bath well stocked with plenty of towels. We were right near the SPA building and there are several entrance/exit doors so access to other areas of the property is easy. The SPA is fantastic. If you stay here and don't take advantage of any services here, you are wasting your stay. At the hotel, The Marsh Tavern was nice (we just had drinks here) and breakfast in the Colonnade Room was good, nothing spectacular, but a great selection. The building is OLD so we heard voices, slamming doors and heavy footsteps from the floor above but it wasn't to the point of annoying. I can appreciate historic buildings and you have to expect those things before you book a place like this so I have no problem with that.

However, even at peak season I would expect that for upwards of $450 a night plus a $25 "property fee" I would get a super plush bed like the fabulous W Hotels heavenly beds with down pillows, down comforter and luxuriously soft sheets. The bed was a king but nothing better than what you would get at a Red Roof Inn. And the furniture was somewhat of a strange decor mix of 1985 Miami meets 1905 San Francisco. Also our room did not have a refrigerator or coffee maker. While these are not necessities, they are convenient. As others have mentioned, a re-do of the rooms is coming so hopefully they will improve on the rooms without hiking the rates.

All in all, we had a good experience but the room rate didn't quite meet the cost.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlanesTrainsAutos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EquinoxManchesterVT, General Manager at The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2007

We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced. We are very excited to announce a remodel of all of our guest rooms and public areas including our restaurants. This remodel will begin on January 2nd and slated to be completed by May of 2008. Our ownership has committed to embark on this multi- million dollar project to enhance the overall experience for our guests.

Our commitment to exceptional customer service relies on our guest feedback. We recognize the value of your time away from home and simply want you to have the resort experience you deserve. Our goal is to make your stay a success and for a you to share your excitement and memories with us and others. Once again, The Equinox achieved the AAA Four Diamond award for the 14th consecutive year.

I invite you to call or email me personally at 802-362-7891 or clowe@equinoxresort.com for any assistance with your future reservation needs.

Warm Regards,

Mr. W. Courtney Lowe
General Manager
The Equinox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
3.5 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inns at Equinox
The Inns at Equinox
#9 of 12 in Manchester
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 3567 Main St, Rte 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $233 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting under the shadow of Vermont's Green Mountains on 1,300 acres in the quaint village of Manchester, The Equinox, A Luxury Collection Golf Resort & Spa awaits your discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equinox Hotel Manchester
The Equinox Resort And Spa
Equinox a Luxury Collection Hotel
Equinox a Luxury Collection Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing