We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Getaway Weekend”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a wonderful 30th Anniversary weekend at this charming small hotel. We had never been to this part of Vermont, and decided to go explore it. Based on other reviews, we thought we would try The Reluctant Panther. This was a great decision! We purchased the "Total Epicurean Package" which included two nights, a wine and cheese plate upon arrival, dinner in their restaurant, and two full breakfasts. As a part of the package, if there is an upgrade available, you are upgraded at no additional charge. We did receive an upgrade, and the room was beautiful! This is a small Inn with only 20 rooms. As far as I could tell, you will not go wrong with any of them. The room we stayed in was spotless, the bed and bedding was wonderful, and the Inn itself was very charming. The food in their restaurant was amazing. If staying in the Manchester area, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLike2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    51
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
232
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful fall getaway. Room had great view of the mountains. Really enjoyed the dinner and the very original, tasty food in the dinning room! Breakfast was above average. The room also was just right, not more than we needed but with a nice Kcup coffee maker, chocolates, a fireplace and view of the mountains to wake up to, its hard not to enjoy this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webDev98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Me and me lady had a amazing time in Manchester and this hotel from start to finish had us impressed. The rooms were very clean the staff was personable and the location was just right. They would even bring us cookies that my girlfriend would kill before bed. Great job reluctant panther we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P464m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This small hotel is fantastic. We had a lovely suite on the back of the inn that was very well appointed and quiet. The bathroom was very large, marble, nice towels and excellent shower. We had breakfast in the dining room every day (yummy) and dinner on Valentines day and it was expensive but wonderful. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful inn! Upon our arrival we were warmly welcomed by Chris. Chris was very kind and helpful, offering us dining and activity recommendations as this was our first time in Vermont. Chris' wonderful personality made us instantly love The Panther! She then led us to our suite, The Panther Suite, which was complimentary upgraded. The room was spacious and featured a king size bed(which was very comfortable) with fireplace as well as a sofa and coffee table. It was the marble bathroom, though, that was truly spectacular. It hosted a double glass shower and large Jacuzzi tub. The bathroom also featured a beautiful fireplace. The inn offers amenities standard of quality establishments, including deluxe robes, make up towels, and luxurious bath products( Malin and Goetz, which were so amazing I ordered my own once I returned home). They also offer homemade cookies at turn down which is a nice touch. The morning breakfasts are delicious and filling- offering a muffin course followed by your choice of entree. We were not expecting to enjoy our trip nearly as much as we did. We travel fairly frequently and were very pleased with our decision to visit Manchester and stay at The Reluctant Panther, as this was one of the better trips we have taken. We have decided to make our trip to The Panther an annual event and are eagerly awaiting our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mes04015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Reluctant Panther encapsulates everything I love about Vermont-warmth, personalized luxury, friendliness, a lack of pretension, and unparalleled hospitality. My wife and I vacationed here recently and we were totally blown away with our experience. Upon arriving, we were upgraded to a suite, just kind of "oh by the way...". With fireplaces in every room, complimentary breakfast served to us practically bedside every morning, warm chocolate chip cookies with our nightly turndown service, a bottle of wine on ice with chocolate covered strawberries on arrival, I mean, c'mon, we're getting ridiculous here! I've been fortunate to travel to and vacation in some of the nicest hotels in the world and this was probably the best all around experience that I've ever had. I should also mention that our accommodations cost me about 1/5th of what I've paid for similar experiences in some other resorts/hotels. With fireplaces roaring and a jacuzzi tub waiting after a long day skiing (yeah, we yupp'ed it up, we admit it!), I really can't imagine a better vacation. There were no negatives on this trip. Oh yeah-did I mention that they have a great restaurant and a very cool little bar too? We will be coming back.

PS- We like to ski and were able to hit up several mountains in the area. Conveniently located for winter sports if that's your thing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crnickazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 5 nights and enjoyed the accommodations, skiing, restaurants (AlDucci) and shopping (Armani Outlet) in the area. The hotel was very helpful,-- as our dogs accompanied us at the last minute. Nicole identified Caroline at the Grateful Dog. Without this help, our trip would have been ruined. The hotel is charming and sweet. First rate linens A+. Hardwood floors. A charming dining area. We would return and consider it superior to Equinox where we stayed 3 times (despite RP's lack of Spa / Pool / other resort-like amenities of the Equinox).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
301 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
587 reviews
3.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
23.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Address: 39 West Road, P.O. Box 678, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 Room and Suite luxury boutique hotel located in Manchester Village. Newly renovated accommodations, marble en-suite baths, luxurious linens and robes, complimentary breakfast, parking and wi-fi. Gourmet dining experience in Southern Vermont's top-rated restaurant. An elegant vacation experience in charming Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant Hotel Manchester
The Reluctant Panther Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing