We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming warm stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming warm stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 5 nights and enjoyed the accommodations, skiing, restaurants (AlDucci) and shopping (Armani Outlet) in the area. The hotel was very helpful,-- as our dogs accompanied us at the last minute. Nicole identified Caroline at the Grateful Dog. Without this help, our trip would have been ruined. The hotel is charming and sweet. First rate linens A+. Hardwood floors. A charming dining area. We would return and consider it superior to Equinox where we stayed 3 times (despite RP's lack of Spa / Pool / other resort-like amenities of the Equinox).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    51
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
229
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I used to visit this B and B when it was purple and one building. That burned down and it's replacement is just amazing. There is a style that is understated and elegant, taken care of but not in a stuff or overbearing way. This inn has it down. The interior design in simply lovely. The colors are effective but elegant. We were upgraded to a suite on the first floor that we never expected to even see, much less stay in. Two huge rooms, both with fireplaces. Cozy and warm in just the way you want this kind of place to be. The front desk staff was kind and gracious and welcoming. All our needs, which weren't too many, were met and exceeded. We will definitely make it a point of returning to this terrific place. It is within walking distance of so much, too, so a little exercise. It is right next to a larger resort in which we have also stayed, but this is far and away, hands down, our preference. I hope others will enjoy this special place.

I will review the restaurant as a separate entry. That too is amazing.

Room Tip: The suite on the first floor of the main building is amazing, though I have no idea how much it cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twestover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in mid-January. The service from the front desk to the cleaning staff was great. Large comfortable rooms. Inn package came with dinner for one night, breakfast each day, free wi-fi and a bottle of wine. It was well worth the money and will be returning here next winter!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikezbfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed several places in the Manchester area and by far this is our favorite. Due to weather we rescheduled our stay and Nicole in reservations could not have been more accommodating. Check in was simple and speedy. We were given a tour of the inn's public spaces (bar, restaurant) and then shown to the Primrose Suite on the ground floor. This suite is great for anyone with mobility issues. We loved the decor, the fireplace at the foot of the bed and the spacious bathroom with a whirlpool tub for two. The bed was extremely comfortable. You can hear hallway noise a bit. The breakfast included was delicious both days we dined there. I can't wait to return in milder weather to enjoy the outdoor spaces!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dutchess2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
410 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at RP with our family of five. Had two adjoining rooms which were super comfortable with gas fireplaces, large beds, etc. Included breakfast was delicious and had lots of choices. We also had dinnered in dining room, very upscale dining room. Would definitely recommend the RP and would happily go back. Below some constructive criticism, is very nice inn, but you are paying top dollar so would be nice to address.

Some minor things that could be improved on, many of them small but annoying and most erred on side of not attentive to details/and not so generous service....eg. breakfast : food was great, but service was brusque...you could ask for juice, but it was not offered once in 4 days....if you ordered pancakes/french toast...you got a shot glass of maple syrup, once it was half filled even.. hardly generous...fruit garnishes were pretty funny...one raspberry and razor thin melon..... if you wanted more coffee you had to ask...then had to ask for cream...and when we asked for these things we felt like waitress was doing us a favor...coffee in room...was not replenished during four days...so no sugar...we could have asked obviously, but were surprised that housekeeping wouldn't simply check..lastly, you could hear the dining room music
in our room starting at 7am...nice Jazz...but didn't really need wake up music that early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Discrete but well localed. Probably the closest thing to a boutique hotel in Vermont.
Rooms are perfectly maintained. Staff is helpfull and friendly.
The hotel restaurant is a must. Service is professional but relaxed. Cooking is outstanding, largely based on local products.
We'd go back there anytime.
If you like a little luxury while on vacation, it is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Wishing to spend a weekend get-away in Manchester, we chose the Reluctant Panther instead of the much more hectic Equinox Resort. As we had hoped, this small inn was ideal for our preferences. Although without luggage assistance, we were greeted warmly at the front desk and personally escorted to our room, the Snowflake Suite. Located at a corner of the Inn, the room had windows that overlooked the village and also opened visually upward to the mountain. In every important respect, the room was well-furnished, including a large comfortable sofa and bed; a gas fireplace provided the centerpiece. The bathroom was especially large with amply thick cloths, towels, and robes; a whirlpool tub provided the centerpiece. Perhaps the one odd decoration choice was the use of multiple black-and-white 1877 architectural sketchings of the Brooklyn Bridge to adorn the bedroom walls, especially when so many skilled Vermont artists are creating beautiful paintings, prints, and photographs. One additional note: although the Inn identifies all the rooms as suites, ours was not a suite (i.e, living room, bedroom, and bath) but, rather, a hotel room with an entry hall. This is somewhat more clearly differentiated on the Inn's own web page (i.e., the Snowflake Suite was identified there as a "deluxe room"--which it was), but the web page is somewhat confusing in that the pictures of the rooms and suites that flash are not specific to the room types that are described under the major text headings. Trust the text, not the pictures.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackR_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
23.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Address: 39 West Road, P.O. Box 678, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 Room and Suite luxury boutique hotel located in Manchester Village. Newly renovated accommodations, marble en-suite baths, luxurious linens and robes, complimentary breakfast, parking and wi-fi. Gourmet dining experience in Southern Vermont's top-rated restaurant. An elegant vacation experience in charming Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reluctant Panther Inn And Restaurant
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing