We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had the good fortune recently to stay at the Reluctant Panther in Manchester, Vermont and was not disappointed. The main part of the inn has been rebuilt in the same style as the charming original which was burned in the 1960's. Accommodations in this main building are newer and more updated, while accommodations in the historic houses which surround the inn are from the turn of the century. Advise which style accommodations you prefer, as the historic buildings may have sloping floors and 'historic charm'.

The village itself is probably the loveliest in Vermont and even has marble sidewalks in front on the hotel. The entire inn is upscale, including Frette robes in the bath. Small Luxury Hotels rarely disappoint!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    51
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
232
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed 5 days this past june. Hotel is beautifully done and immaculate. Helpful and friendly staff. Full breakfast with multiple choices. Room and bath large and modern.Located in Manchester within walking to town center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Manchester and decided to stay at the Reluctant Panther for a few days over the 4th. The Inn was very pretty and clean. Every employee that we spoke to or even just passed in the hallway or parking lot was friendly. They always said hello and enjoy your day. If you want to know about hiking, ask Chris at the front desk. She was extremely nice and very knowledgeable of the hiking trails. The food and service in the restaurant was outstanding, especially Frank and David. The servers for breakfast were awesome and attentive, especially with the coffee. Definitly try the Raw Bar. Tom, you run a great Inn!!! It is truely sad that the people who wrote bad reviews did not enjoy their stay. Would definitly visit Manchester again and stay at the Reluctant Panther.

Room Tip: stay in the main Inn, 2nd floor, unless you have a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a great stay at the Reluctant Panther. The Inn is actually as beautiful as the pictures shown on its site. It is rare that "what you see is what you get" but that was definitely the case with The Reluctant Panther. The Inn has that cozy, quaint "Inn" feeling, but with all of the modern amenities and services. Everything is brand-new and beautiful. The staff were all friendly and helpful, particularly Nicole who was happy to share great tips about what the locals like to do in and around Manchester. We would definitely recommend the Reluctant Panther. We had a great stay, and felt that it was very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the Library Suite. The place is quite lovely, the room was very nice, old charm with modern amenities. Awesomly comfortable bed, luxury linens/towels and the service was impeccable. We only dined there for breakfast (included in rate) and it was outstanding. Everyone who worked there seems so happy and they have reason to be proud! Highly recommend staying here rather than Equinox which will cost a lot more and isn't nearly as nice!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Ive stayed at the RP a few times. Rooms are lovely and charming like an old home. Bedding is very very comfy. Bathroom vanities are smallish, but elegant. Tubs and showers are good.The breakfast is great - hot muffins by a roaring fire..always a fine thing. The RP is perfect for a romantic weekend. Just remember its an 'inn' -- no spa! Limited restaurant hours.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

20 years ago we were married in the chapel of the First Congregational Church, & stayed at the Village Country Inn, which at that time was dated, but cozy, with a first class restaurant. Because that Inn is no longer in operation, we stayed at the Reluctant Panther For this trip. We loved our accommodations ... an upstairs cottage suite. In addition to the beauty of the Inn itself, the grounds are very well-done. While the breakfasts were tasty, there could have been more variety. Visited Hildene a second time, which is phenomenal! Great shopping in the Village. Wonderful scenery for a driving excursion in any direction. Lunch or dinner recommendation: Mulligan's!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
302 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
588 reviews
3.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
23.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Address: 39 West Road, P.O. Box 678, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 Room and Suite luxury boutique hotel located in Manchester Village. Newly renovated accommodations, marble en-suite baths, luxurious linens and robes, complimentary breakfast, parking and wi-fi. Gourmet dining experience in Southern Vermont's top-rated restaurant. An elegant vacation experience in charming Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant Hotel Manchester
The Reluctant Panther Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing