We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Inn!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Reluctant Panther Inn for a night, and we had a wonderful experience. We were upgraded to the Primrose Suite which was a beautiful room complete with a fireplace and huge, comfy king-sized bed. Everyone there was so nice and helpful, and breakfast in the morning was delicious. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    51
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
228
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We enjoyed the Reluctant Panther very much. The staff was wonderful and the room was gorgeous. We enjoyed a great breakfast the next morning. I would recommend it here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christinebpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed in the Fallen Spruce Suite for 3 days/2 nights, I believe because I requested so in my reservation. I'll try to break down as much as possible:

Room itself: The room was very beautiful and quaint. I went for just a couple nights and was simply looking for a cute getaway and a nice bed. This obviously exceeded those expectations. The bed was very comfortable and obviously taken care of. It came with other standard amenities - a coffee maker (with surprisingly good choices), a TV, a closet, etc) - as well as a gas fireplace and a couch. The room wasn't too large but definitely had enough room for both my girlfriend and me. It was, all in all, a cute place for us to stay. We also had the Jacuzzi tub and two sinks, which was a nice touch. They also included robes, but I thought it was a little classless that they made an overt note to say how much the robes would cost if taken. I guess they’ve been burned before..

Service: The service fit our needs, to be honest. We were warmly greeted when we got there and told that my request had been honored. Then we were taken to our room and basically given the same thing you get everywhere else. They close early, as stated in the information, which could be an inconvenience for some but never came up with us.

They went above and beyond with their care between check-in and out, though. While we went to dinner, they left a note on our bed telling us about things that are nearby – supermarkets and such – and what times they close. It was endearing (if not a little creepy) and actually helped us get some late night snacks at the right time. They also had a rather detailed excursions section in their hotel book that gave us some cute things to do, including ice-skating.

We didn’t really need them otherwise, but I felt comfortable if I ever needed them.

Breakfast: I mean I can just say it was a huge plus. Knowing that there is a sit-down and really good breakfast there at the B&B was a huge weight off our shoulders. We only went once (as we needed to try out a Manchester restaurant, Up for Breakfast, one of the days), but were very pleased. They offer well-made standards and good Green Mountain coffee. The service is excellent (don’t forget to tip!!) and they try to make sure you enjoy your meal.

Restaurant itself: The restaurant dinner isn't actually included, obviously, so I'll review that in another review.

Misc.: The location is good considering it is just a short drive/nice walk from good eateries and the stores, but you do have to drive a bit if you want to go skiing. We enjoyed the trip immensely, but that might have a lot to do with my research of local restaurants and eateries. I never depended on the front desk for tips, so I’m not going to be able to judge them there. We never tried to get internet access because we were trying to get away. They did have some cable channels, too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fallen Spruce Suite because we asked for a room with a view of the mountains. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We went up to vermont for a family get away. Staying at the Reluctant Panther made the experience PERFECT!! Its a beautiful Inn, amazing service, and great food! I would say super romantic as well. They were so accommodating to our children and made our weekend. Thanks to everyone at this Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed for 4 days/3 nights before Xmas; was upgraded to a large, very well-appointed suite with a huge bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi-type tub. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Free breakfasts were great - with innovative omelets and several other choices available. The room was very quiet and comfortable, and came with a gas fireplace that quickly warmed the room on cold evenings. The inn is very conveniently located near stores, etc., but thankfully not on a busy street. My only regret is that the restaurant wasn't open for dinner during my stay, so I couldn't sample their reputedly great cuisine, but if it's anything like their breakfasts, their reputation is well-deserved.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

While the Inn itself is charming and nicely kept, the front desk staff and management left a lot to be desired. Information posted on the Inn's web site was not accurately presented. While internet service was supposed to be available in EVERY room, we were never able to connect and the rude and unprofessional response by front desk staff and management only heightened our frustration. We were told that we could not switch rooms because the Inn was full and that we could use the free wi-fi from the library across the street (meanwhile this network was never available). We were also excited about using the fireplace in our room, which is an amenity that is also highlighted on the Inn's web site. The materials needed to get the fire started were not appropriate. Once again, the response was delayed and rude. Overall, one of the main issues appeared to be insufficient staff. We were made to feel guilty by asking for help. Specifically, when asking for help to start the fire, we were told that the person who could help us had left and was busy with his family whom he had not seen in a couple of days. When speaking to a manager at check-out, some concessions were made, but her overall demeanor was unfriendly and not to the caliber one would expect for the price range.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the annex building if you are planning on using the wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We chose this hotel out of the entire state of Vermont for our elopement. Our first trip to Vermont proved to be nothing short of spectacular. When we arrived we were greeted with the most charming and detail oriented staff we could have imagined. The food was exceptional, the grounds were amazing and was complete with top notch views of equinox mountain. Our wish here seemed to be everyone's command. The rooms were gorgeous, elegant, and some had wood burning fireplaces. It was Heaven on Earth! Staying at the Panther needs to be on everyone's Bucket List, you won't be sorry!! Thanks, Kate, Kris and Justene and everyone else associated with the Panther for the best four days of our lives!

Room Tip: The panther suite has two wood burning fireplaces and an amazing four poster jet tub along with a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 42Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
23.4 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 15 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Address: 39 West Road, P.O. Box 678, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 Room and Suite luxury boutique hotel located in Manchester Village. Newly renovated accommodations, marble en-suite baths, luxurious linens and robes, complimentary breakfast, parking and wi-fi. Gourmet dining experience in Southern Vermont's top-rated restaurant. An elegant vacation experience in charming Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reluctant Panther Inn And Restaurant
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing