We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to escape from your busy lives!”
Review of Wildflower Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wildflower Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Lyndonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A great way to escape from your busy lives!”
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I started coming to WFI back in 2002 and have been a huge fan ever since. The O'Reilly's run a terrific establishment and the lodgings are a nice break from the TV/Internet driven world that we live in. The policy at the WFI is that the rooms do not have a TV and this is actually a good thing. It forces you to get out and explore the outdoors, go antiquing, or just enjoy each other's company over a nice bottle of wine.

They have a nice little restaurant on the property and the food there is very good and the wine list is ever improving. Everything is reasonable priced, but the rooms are a little pricey (but considering the views I think it is worth it). The inn is on the slope of a hill that overlooks a valley that is absolutely breathtaking. In the distance you can see the beautiful mountains that during the autumn will bring you to tears with their beauty!

I highly recommend the Wildflower Inn to those with kids, those looking for a romantic getaway or newly weds, or those just looking to get away from the hustle and bussle of the crazy world for a weekend!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    33
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
74
54
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2009

The Wildflower Inn is a perfect place to decompress and get away from the city. We brought our two kids (ages 9 and 6) and they had a blast. They enjoyed the sled hill in the back of the Carriage House where we stayed on the second floor, as well as the afternoon cookies and cider / hot chocolate. Not to mention the movie night, every evening at 7pm after dinner was a nice touch as well! We all enjoyed the spacious land in and around Jim and Mary O'Reilly's quaint resort, and it was fabulous to spend a few hours out in the woods snow shoeing through the woods. Our room which had a bunkbed for the kids was clean and well taken care off and we had a nice view of nearby Burke Mountain from our balcony. The food and service at breakfast as well as dinner at Juniper's was also quite good, although a bit pricey as far as the appetizers and deserts were concerned, but that is really all I can gripe about. I would return again in the winter and am considering a summer visit as well. All and all our family had a very nice, relaxing few days at The Wildflower. If you are looking for an ideal location to ski, snowshow or simply get away for a little peace and quiet, then The Wildflower is the place for you.

P.S. - Even if you visit in the winter bring your bathing suit for the outdoor hot tub. They also have a small sauna, foosball and air hockey tables in the basement of the main building as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RS1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

Just spent a 5 day vacation at the Wildflower Inn accompanied by my wife, my brother and his wife. We were looking for an intimate, friendly inn with access to the full variety of outdoor winter sports. The Wildflower Inn was the perfect answer. The owners, Jim and Mary, were not only a fountain of useful information but were warm, compassionate hosts who went out ot their way to make our stay memorable. Located on over 500 acres of gorgeous farmland and forest, it is the ideal setting for cross country skiing, snowmobiling and snowshoeing with the incredible VAST trails and KIngdom trails systems accessible right on their property. Throw in an awesome sledding hill and ice skating rink right behind the guest quarters and you have the full spectrum of winter sports covered. The morning breakfast was outstanding, the service impeccable and after a busy day enjoying outdoor winter activities you come home to homemade chocolate chip cookies, hot cider, cheese and crackers served every afternoon from 3-5. The in-house restaurant Junipers was also a surprising delight with great food and a varied wine list reasonably priced. The accomodations are not elegant, but instead well kept, clean and tastefully decorated. The nearby towns of LYndonville and East Burke also have excellent restaurants(the River Garden Cafe in East Burke was great). All in all I give a hearty recommendation if you are looking for a winter getaway with the emphasis on outdoor sports and great food with a friendly staff eager to please.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyMike53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We are from South Texas and this was our first time to vacation at The Wildflower Inn during the Christmas Holidays. First of all, what a beautiful place!!!! My compliments to the Owners Jim and Mary and there Staff. Everyone at the Inn went above and beyond to insure our stay was the best that it could possibly be. They are very personal and every guest is treated like family. The Juniper Restaurant (located on the property) offered a variety of sensational foods. No Complaints! They have many activites located on the property (sledding, ice skating, etc.) for children as well as adults. A well equipped gameroom for the kids with television, toys, games, movies, air hockey table, etc. is also available on the property. Every afternoon they serve a complimentary snack of fresh cheese, crackers, cookies and drinks for all guests. The Sleigh Ride was sensational! I "HIGHLY RECOMMEND" The Wildflower Inn. My family and I will be returning again and again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckydoodleTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

A basically nice inn that is probably a bit overrated. Surroundings are very pleasant as are the staff. Afternoon tea/hot cider with cookies/cheese and crackers is a nice touch. Food was generally good but did not live up to our expectations. For those without expectations, they will most likely be happy with the food. Views from our suite were quite good but unfortuanely partially obscured by dirty windows. Shower water pressure was inadequate in my judgment. Internet access quality was a big disappointment. It is so simple to do this right but this inn seems to not be willing to spend the money to have it done right. From our suite, internet access was sketchy at best and sometimes non-existent. There is wired access from the main hotel but only 1 connection from what I could gather. This inn is best suited for families with small children. Had we spent $200 per night for our suite stay, I would have been pleased. But, given that we spent over $500 per night, I think it is fair to say this resort does not live up to the standards of other locations that typically charge that kind of money.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Rupert54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

My Husband, and two kids (age 2 and 5) and I just came back from our 4 day 3 night stay at the Wildflower and are sad we had to leave! We stayed in the South Meadow suite, and the view from the entryway was just stunning! Gorgeous meadow and mountains views! The room was well appointed and had a small kitchenette with a small table and chairs. We cooked dinner one night while there, and had everything we needed, pots, pans, cutlery, and plates. The room included a queen bed, and a set of bunk beds that the kids loved! There was also a small sitting area as well. The room was a little worn, but was clean. Nothing a little paint wouldn't help! The kid's amenities cannot be found anywhere else in that area. Two playgrounds, a playroom stocked fully with toys and books, as well as a petting barn with lots of animals to visit. The breakfast included in the room rate is outstanding! Fresh fruit, yogurt, granola and fresh baked goodies were just a small part of the large country breakfast they serve up! Everyday there was a new hot special, from Quiche Lorraine to garden scrambled eggs, we couldn't wait to wake up and get the day started! We truly enjoyed our stay and plan to make the Wildflower a regular stop on our yearly visit to Vermont.

  • Liked — The stunningly beautiful location!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island Ny
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Wildflower is one of the most scenic spots I have ever been...perched on a mountain with views of the valley and distant Green Mountains. It is exceptional. The rooms are simple and need updating in a big way. Carpets are worn and wallpaper is dirty. We paid more than $425 a night for a two-room suite that had no real sitting area and just a micro and small fridge...there are good walking trails around the property. Scenery and landscaping are the main attraction.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — rates
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momuv3cuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndonville
3.5 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
12.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
20.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
15.4 mi away
Rabbit Hill Inn
Rabbit Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Saint Johnsbury
1,245 reviews
4.1 mi away
Colonnade Inn
Colonnade Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyndonville
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildflower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildflower Inn

Property: Wildflower Inn
Address: 2059 Darling Hill Rd, Lyndonville, VT 05851-9147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Lyndonville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildflower Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing small inn that sits on 500 acres with spectacular views of the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Wildflower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildflower Hotel Lyndonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing