We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hesitant to write this review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Water's Edge
Ranked #1 of 7 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was hesitant to write this review because we liked it so much that we want to keep this inn to ourselves so we can be sure that they have space for us when we go back.

We were there for a ski weekend, and the inn is very nice. Nicest B&B we have ever stayed at. The inn and rooms are very clean, spotless. The owners are very pleasant and it is clear they take great pride in the inn. Breakfast and dinner are included. Breakfast was very good. I expected an okay dinner, it was far better than that.

I have no idea why anyone would write any negative reviews about this place. The rooms are not huge but this is typical for most B&B's in VT. If you want a large room stay at a cookie cutter motel and get far less value for your dollar. The only thing I can think of about this inn that was not perfect was that the pillows were a little thick for my taste (my wife liked them) and I would have preferred breakfast start a little earlier. We like to start skiing as soon as the mountain opens.

Will we be back? Yes, this is now our first choice for lodging when skiing at Okemo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pap0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 155 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

This charming inn is run by two of the friendliest and warmest innkeepers we've yet to run across.
Tina's delicious meals are a treat and Bruce's humor is served up with breakfast and dinner. Sitting by the fireplace munching on Tina's cookies, enjoying a book, soaking in the hot tub or playing a game of pool adds to the pleasure of this romantic inn. You can't beat it for the value when you get lift tickets included with your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just returned from a week end get away at The Inn At Water's Edge in Ludlow,Vt.It proved to be a truly wonderful experience made special by the owners Bruce and Tina Verdrager.The Inn features wonderful acommodations,food (Bkfast/Dinner!!)lounge,library,nearby well maintained golf (Okemo GC) and multi water activities.
The food goes well beyond what you would expect at a four star restaurant with the menu changing daily.Tina does the all the cooking and Bruce serves as waiter and bar tender. The commitment that they have made to make this Inn so special is in evidence at every turn.They make it a point to make all guests feel very special.
We are experienced travelers and feel confident that a decision to spend time at this Inn will be well rewarded! Bob and Shirley Ford

Room Tip: We were very pleased with Room 9..It's a suite with a very large and well equipped bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casciac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I had dinner only at this charming inn and I was very impressed by the food, atmosphere and propieters Bruce and Tina. For $30 you get a four course meal! Make reservations as they do not take walk ins. Arrive at 6 for cocktail hour in the bar that was brought over from England. Dinner is served at 7pm. Bruce will be your bartender and server. Tina, his wife, is the cook behind the delicious food. When you make your reservations you also have to place your dinner order. There were three items to choose from, shrimp, duck, and Yankee pot roast. Dinners are simple, but good.

We didn't stay but spoke with others who did and they were very pleased.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank collcarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My wife and I have stayed a few times at the Inn in winter, and it is a charming and romantic getaway that is situated right on Echo Lake and that we always look forward to returning to. Since is it located just a short drive to both Okemo and Killington ski areas, I usually ski at both when we stay here. The ambiance is typical old Vermont style with oak ceilings, hardwood floors, and a beautiful old but fully restored bar originally from Europe. The living room just off the bar is large with a lovely fireplace, and has a pool table along with chess boards and many comfortable sofas and chairs. Another living room on the other side of the house is situated for just reading, using the computer or playing board games. The bedrooms have ample room and are very comfortable with new baths & gas fireplaces. Tina's meals are always excellent and Bruce is the perfect bartender/host with many good stories to tell. This is one Vermont Inn you'll definitely want to put on your travel list!
Phil & Barbara

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

During Hurricane Irene, we literally found ourselves stranded on Bruce and Tina's doorstep, as flood waters raged around us. They graciously took us in, although they didn't expect any guests for the weekend, and made us feel immediately welcome and at home. Bruce gave us a tour of this beautiful inn and all the amenities while Tina prepared our room.

The room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable and quiet. We were awed by the spacious public rooms and loved the full sized pool table. Although the Inn was cut off from any stores and Tina and Bruce had not planned on serving dinner to us and a dozen others likewise stranded, Tina whipped up a gourmet meal fit for royalty.

One of the best parts of our stay was the good-natured bantering between Bruce and Tina. They were funnier than a professional comedy team and helped make our stay a delight.

I would highly recommend the Inn at Water's Edge and if I find myself in Vermont again, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Room was tiny with only a single tiny window for ventilation. Spiders in the bathtub. Included breakfast only served from 8-9 a.m. (really? on Sunday??) with a preset selection.. mediocre. The husband served breakfast; unfriendly, bordering on rude - seems to resent running the inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VTNC_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
3 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
280 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
4.7 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
0.1 mi away
Echo Lake Inn
Echo Lake Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
122 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Pettigrew Inn
The Pettigrew Inn
#2 of 7 in Ludlow
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Water's Edge

Address: 45 Kingdom Rd, Ludlow, VT 05149-9435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range: $175 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing