We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Food, even with an executive chef as an owner”
Review of The Pettigrew Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pettigrew Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Yuk. Blechh.. We're still trying to spit out the bad flavors from the breakfast food prepared for the 3 mornings we were there. Of course, the wall is lined with awards for the spouse of the Inn Keeper you usually dealt with, but you'd never discover what she could do in the kitchen during your stay. The husband probably convinced himself he was a cook but we were NOT impressed. First morning, the omelette was BURNT, and had a weird selection of ingredients that caused the aftertaste to linger far too long. The next morning was pancakes, and those were OKAY. The last morning was this baked dish of disgusting cheeses, a hint of egg, and overloaded with bread where we couldn't stomach even the 3rd bite. And the fruit, on that last day; which seemed to be a honeydew melon was so bitter, the male Inn Keeper tried to doctor it up with honey and lime juice that made us think we were forcing COD LIVER OIL down our stomachs. Terrible.
The super expensive rooms were decent, in the main Inn, but so small you had to scoot around the edge of the bed sideways to get to the bathroom, and you'd bust your head on the slanted ceiling en route. The bathroom and bathtub were decent, and the outdoor hot tub was nice.
Overall, the Inn was nice, but the female of the Inn-Keeping duo had an unexpected death that weekend, and we were left there not knowing where to find ice and other amenities like extra shampoo or towels while they stepped out for one of the evenings.
Oh yeah. The ski resort shuttle was NOT operating while we skied for the Sat. / Sun. of our stay. And Okemo, was pretentious in that there were hardly ANY dressing room areas, and they would not tell you a trail was closed at the summit; ONLY after arriving there in the chair lift; and discovering the only trails available were way above your skiing ability.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank foodie_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrie, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2011

Carl and Elizabeth,

I am saddened by your review. You did seem to enjoy everything while you were here.
The omlette fillings are varied so that guests may choose, creating an omlette based on their personal tastes. I don't think I have ever had another guest instruct me' to put it all in there' . I am sorry the bottom of the omlette got quite dark while I tried to cook everything that you ordered into the pan.
Honeydew Melon is green, the orange fruit you hated was papaya. I had a South American guest tell me that the authentic way to serve it is to add honey and lime. I am sorry you were not familiar with the fruit .
The savory bread and cheese soufflé is a favorite of many repeat guests. I am sorry it wasn’t to your liking.
The sloped ceiling in Summit View is both mentioned and pictured on our website. You chose that room, we did not choose it for you.
It is heartwarming to know that the pancakes were OK anf that you did like the outdoor hot tub.
Lastly, I am sorry about the unexpected health change of Irene's father to whom we were very close and certainly you should understand our need to be with Irene's mother on Christmas day. We felt the Inn was well taken care of in our absence, but I apologize that extra shampoo and ice were not on top of my mind.
Sincerely,
Michael Maston, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Vermont and stayed at the Andrie Rose Inn. We recently bought some property in the local area where we needed to interview a painter to do some work on an outbuilding. We were so happy we chose this B&B! The room was simply beautiful and had all the amenities you could ask for in addition to it being walking distance to shops and dining experiences. Turns out this was a great get away in addition to a business visit for us. The breakfast was so delicious! Piping hot and delivered to us in a very lovely dining area surrounded by architectural beauty. One of the owners makes the most unbelievably beautiful cakes that were on display. This would probably be a very nice place for a small wedding or a rehersal dining experience where guests can stay too. Great job Andrie Rose!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTInn_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I recently stayed at the Andrie Rose with my boyfriend. We've never had such a romantic relaxing wonderful weekend away anywhere. Andrie Rose made our stolen time away all the more special with the luxury accomodations and first class service, from the time we checked in until we checked out ~ Bridget, Newport

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooky101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is my fourth stay and would not think of looking elsewhere. Michael and Irene really take care of their guests, especially with a wonderful breakfast and warm, cozy rooms. Don't miss seeing Irene's award winning wedding cakes..just amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We arrived to the inn for a wedding. We had 9 people in our party. We stayed at one of the townhouses. No air-conditioning. First night, 3 sets of sheets with hair and dead bugs. Had to wash all the sheets/towels the next day. Mentioned to innkeepeer, and he commented that he had not thought to check the sheets as the unit had not been used since ski season. Issues asking for more toilet paper. Windows missing screens, windows nailed shut, cobwebs, hard as rock beds. When asked if this was a AAA rated inn, he said the inn was, but not the townhomes where we were staying. Totally misrepresented on website. Managed property = DUMP!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Illinoistraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrie, Manager at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2011

The condo was never advertised or sold as Air-Conditioned. It was offered at a low rate and that is why it was chosen. We struggled for years to get nearby condo owners to maintain their property to our standards. It clearly was not working. We have made the decision to no longer represent property we do not own.
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

I'm a foodie and one of the pleasures I relish when traveling is the food. The food was delivered to our door in a pretty wicker tray. But breakfast was two slices of greasy lemon cake and two chocolate chip cookies. There was butter & jam to put on the cake. Who puts butter & jam on cake? Inedible, a sugarbomb and certainly not fuel for skiiing.

There was also a piece of either grapefruit or orange, couldn't tell which. It had a burnt on sugar coating. Perhaps it was meant to be decorative only. A glass of juice and coffee. That's what I paid $280 a night for? A slice of cake & burnt fruit. We had to take the time and spend the extra to go out for breakfast each morning.

No eggs, no bacon, no toast, no fresh fruit, not even a bowl of cereal.

The room was well maintained, sunny, clean, etc. We stayed in a pricey room with fireplace & hot tub, fourposter bed, etc. So we were surprised at the ripoff, disgusting breakfast.

Stay here if you don't care about breakfast then this is a nice place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrie, Owner/innkeeper at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2010

I read on Trip Advisor that you were unhappy. Why didn't you say something to us during your stay?
At check-in we ask guests if they want a continental breakfast delivered to their room or if they would prefer to come the dining room for a full brerakfast in the Main Lodge? On the off chance we didn’t ask, I apologize.
Each morning the Main Lodge has a hot dish containing eggs and at least two types of cereal, fruit, juice, coffee and tea.
If you were here more than one night, we could have made any and all necessary changes to accommodate you with a breakfast more suited to you tastes.
If you were here only one night you could have called down to the kitchen and asked for scrambled eggs and toast. We would have asked if you wanted them in the dining room or delivered to your room?
The Lemon-poppy seed pound cake is delicious without the addition of butter or our home-made jam. Most guests do like to add butter and/or jam to our made from scratch chocolate chip scones therefore we provide it.
The grapefruit is a seasonal offering about one day out of four. After carefully sectioning the fruit we sprinkle it with brown sugar and flamed it in much the same way a foodie would prepare a Crème Brule.
The other days we offer cinnamon baked apples or mixed fresh fruit. Biscuits, raisin scones, as well as Rhubarb, Banana, Zucchini, Carrot Breads.
Again, I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Next time you are in Ludlow please give me the opportunity to serve you breakfast regardless of where you are staying.
Michael Maston, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This was our third stay at the Andrie Rose. We keep coming back because of the beautiful location in the mountains of Vermont and the warmth and friendliness of innkeepers Michael and Irene.
The rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable and the food is heavenly. Fluffy towels and comfortable wicker rocking chairs on a porch bordered by a pretty flower garden are just two of the many details that make the Andrie Rose unsurpassed for low-key luxury.
Ludlow is within easy driving distance of some of Vermont's best attractions like the outlet shopping of Manchester and the charming towns of Weston and Woodstock.
I heartily recommend the Andrie Rose to anyone seeking rest and relaxation in impeccably maintained surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeftheMongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.1 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
291 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
0.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
1.1 mi away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#2 of 5 in Ludlow
98 reviews
4.9 mi away
Echo Lake Inn
Echo Lake Inn
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pettigrew Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pettigrew Inn

Address: 13 Pleasant St, Ludlow, VT 05149-1232 (Formerly Andrie Rose Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range: $164 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pettigrew Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet village street in the heart of Ludlow, VT, The Pettigrew Inn provides elegant accommodations and delicious meals featuring home-baked good and fresh, seasonal ingredients. Guests can choose from 14 luxurious King or Queen rooms, some with fireplaces and spa tubs. Only 1-mile from Okemo Ski Resort, and a stop on the Ski Area Shuttle route, The Pettigrew Inn is walking distance to village restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pettigrew Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing