We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Vermont”
Review of The Pettigrew Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pettigrew Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Andrie Rose Inn is just the best B&B in Vermont. Friendly, accommodating, great rooms, and wonderful hosts. Irene and Michael make you feel at home and extend themselves to ensure that you have a great stay.

The accommodations are great, especially the suite rooms, and you can't beat the wonderful breakfast served each morning. All of the staff is friendly and helpful. Plus Irene and Michael know all of the good restaurants in the area and will make the reservations for you, what more can you ask for.

I've been coming to the Andrie Rose since before Irene and Michael bought it from Jack and his wife and its always been a great place to come back to.

Room Tip: If its available get the Sapphire two room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonP08861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrie, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The leaves are just starting to turn so, you still have time to organize a foliage trip for this season. We do hope to see you again.
Michael, Irene and Marlowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We won a gift certificate for a two night stay at the Andrie Rose Inn at a bridal show without knowing anything about the inn or the location. We weren't really sure what to expect but decided to use the certificate after our wedding in September. As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed by the cutest dog, Marlow, and shortly after by the innkeeper Michael. We felt right at home and immediately felt the Vermont hospitality that we are so used to.

Our suite was gorgeous and very romantic. The breakfasts were amazing - way better than what mom used to make! We were left some delicious cookies in our room on our second day, which I can safely say were the best cookies I have ever tasted.

We highly recommend staying at the Andrie Rose Inn, especially during ski season. Even though we weren't "paying" customers, and it was off-season, Michael and Irene were so hospitable and made us feel very welcomed. If we ever travel back down south, we will be visiting again - to see Marlow of course!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrie, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

It is nice to see that even Vermonters Like to visit Vermont. Congratulations on you marriage, we hope that it is a long, happy and health union.

I write this on our 34th Wedding Anniversary.
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Michael and Irene made us feel immediately at home. The bed was comfortable, coffee ready when we got up, and a nice omelet with a choice of fillings for breakfast. The Inn is nicely done to better show it's history and time period. It is the most welcome and comfortable I have felt at a B&B ever.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mif31258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrie, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. If you pass this way again please stop for a night or two.
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent a wonderful mid week surprise get away with close friends at the Andrie Rose Inn this week. Irene and Mike made us feel indulged as we arrived. Breakfast in the morning was generous french toast with Vermont maple syrup, fresh fruit. We could have indulged more but, held off for waistline sake. The room we stayed in was comfortable B&B style. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrie, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for including the Andrie Rose Inn in your tour of New England. It was our pleasure to have the four of you here. I wish that you could have stayed longer!
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The accommodations were perfect, and dining is a remarkable experience. Irene and Michael make it like being home (except the food is way better!). The inn is cozy and warm, and folks that are there are friendly and personable. The breakfast alone is worth the trip. Always stay for dinner and we, absolutely, will be back. We never miss a dinner there when we are in Ludlow. Staying there just makes it that much better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaF250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

We are gald that you enjoyed your stay, breakfast and dinner. We hope to have you as our guests again soon!
Michael, Irene & Marlowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent three nights at the Andrie Rose Inn with our dog and I have to say we loved every minute.

We had a large clean room with a fireplace and sofa which was great after a day of skiing. The innkeepers know what they are doing so listen to their suggestions. All of their advice was correct and accurate (where to find the best sugar house, restaurant recommendations, reliable ski rental shop, safe location for running our dog etc.). Breakfast is on time and delicious (I would have like it if they had included some bacon or sausage in the morning). They have a large ski and boot storage room that makes it easy to walk down from your room, have breakfast/coffee then slip into your ski boots and hop on the Okemo shuttle that takes you right to the tickets booth on the mountain. We loved not having to load our gear into our car then drive up to the mountain and then have to catch another shuttle. The end off day pick-up was just as easy and nice to be able to leave all equipment in the storage room for the next day.

Location is great for walking into Ludlow for dinner/shopping, although there are limited options.

We enjoyed a quiet delicious dinner in the Inn on Saturday night (they only serve dinner Fri/Sat so plan ahead).

After fighting the crowds on the mountain all day the Andrie Rose makes for a very peaceful escape and relaxing end to the day. All in all a great experience and just what we were looking for.

We will be back in the summer or fall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCSofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for chosing us for your Birthday/New Year get-a-way. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always have bacon in house but, don't incorporate it into every breakfast. During breakfast, we do try to ask each guest, 'do you have everything you need?' We ask this because we honestly want to see if our guests need something more. We try to fill all of our guests dietary preferences and guests services as quickly as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

When we drove up the inn looked like it needed some painting and some flowers, but I hadn't taken into account the it was too cold for flowers. Therefore, we were pleasantly surprised to see how nice our room was. Wood floors, gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub. It was October and pretty cool, so the room was cozy and pretty. I didn't notice air conditioning, so I don't know if it would be hot in the summer. I would also have to agree with pap0707 who complained about the bed. It was too hard and would keep me from staying more than a couple of days. We ate at the Corner Grocery, an excellent restaurant just around the corner from the Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miamigirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Yes, the lack of flowers was due to the time of year. For the best flowers please visit between last frost (June 1) and first frost (around Oct.1) All except three of our guest rooms do have air conditioning. July and August overnight temperatures are often in the mid 50s.
Due to a harsh winter climate,nearly every wood structure in Vermont can use some degree of painting, mine included.
We hope you can return next summer.
Michael Maston, Innkeeper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.1 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
288 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
0.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.3 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
1.1 mi away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#2 of 5 in Ludlow
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pettigrew Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pettigrew Inn

Address: 13 Pleasant St, Ludlow, VT 05149-1232 (Formerly Andrie Rose Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range: $184 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pettigrew Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet village street in the heart of Ludlow, VT, The Pettigrew Inn provides elegant accommodations and delicious meals featuring home-baked good and fresh, seasonal ingredients. Guests can choose from 14 luxurious King or Queen rooms, some with fireplaces and spa tubs. Only 1-mile from Okemo Ski Resort, and a stop on the Ski Area Shuttle route, The Pettigrew Inn is walking distance to village restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pettigrew Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing