We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the best!”
Review of The Pettigrew Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pettigrew Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always the best!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The accommodations were perfect, and dining is a remarkable experience. Irene and Michael make it like being home (except the food is way better!). The inn is cozy and warm, and folks that are there are friendly and personable. The breakfast alone is worth the trip. Always stay for dinner and we, absolutely, will be back. We never miss a dinner there when we are in Ludlow. Staying there just makes it that much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We are gald that you enjoyed your stay, breakfast and dinner. We hope to have you as our guests again soon!
Michael, Irene & Marlowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent three nights at the Andrie Rose Inn with our dog and I have to say we loved every minute.

We had a large clean room with a fireplace and sofa which was great after a day of skiing. The innkeepers know what they are doing so listen to their suggestions. All of their advice was correct and accurate (where to find the best sugar house, restaurant recommendations, reliable ski rental shop, safe location for running our dog etc.). Breakfast is on time and delicious (I would have like it if they had included some bacon or sausage in the morning). They have a large ski and boot storage room that makes it easy to walk down from your room, have breakfast/coffee then slip into your ski boots and hop on the Okemo shuttle that takes you right to the tickets booth on the mountain. We loved not having to load our gear into our car then drive up to the mountain and then have to catch another shuttle. The end off day pick-up was just as easy and nice to be able to leave all equipment in the storage room for the next day.

Location is great for walking into Ludlow for dinner/shopping, although there are limited options.

We enjoyed a quiet delicious dinner in the Inn on Saturday night (they only serve dinner Fri/Sat so plan ahead).

After fighting the crowds on the mountain all day the Andrie Rose makes for a very peaceful escape and relaxing end to the day. All in all a great experience and just what we were looking for.

We will be back in the summer or fall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCSofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for chosing us for your Birthday/New Year get-a-way. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always have bacon in house but, don't incorporate it into every breakfast. During breakfast, we do try to ask each guest, 'do you have everything you need?' We ask this because we honestly want to see if our guests need something more. We try to fill all of our guests dietary preferences and guests services as quickly as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

When we drove up the inn looked like it needed some painting and some flowers, but I hadn't taken into account the it was too cold for flowers. Therefore, we were pleasantly surprised to see how nice our room was. Wood floors, gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub. It was October and pretty cool, so the room was cozy and pretty. I didn't notice air conditioning, so I don't know if it would be hot in the summer. I would also have to agree with pap0707 who complained about the bed. It was too hard and would keep me from staying more than a couple of days. We ate at the Corner Grocery, an excellent restaurant just around the corner from the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamigirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Yes, the lack of flowers was due to the time of year. For the best flowers please visit between last frost (June 1) and first frost (around Oct.1) All except three of our guest rooms do have air conditioning. July and August overnight temperatures are often in the mid 50s.
Due to a harsh winter climate,nearly every wood structure in Vermont can use some degree of painting, mine included.
We hope you can return next summer.
Michael Maston, Innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Rooms are beautiful, very clean and comfortable. Owners are friendly and make excellent breakfasts! Dog friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzyr147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrie, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Irene and I thank you for your recent visit and kind words. We hope to see you, your family and your dog again soon!
Michael Maston, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2012

it was just a mistake staying there,...windows were screwed shut,..so no fresh mountain air coming in at night,...girl that worked there couldnt or wouldnt understand english...everything was no,..or i dont know...(prob illegal)...irene made a nasty comment about new yorkers sneaking in her smelly jacuzzi to me,..being i'm from ny(& she knew it) i took offense....bad place,...i contacted B.B.B. about them.....anyway have a nice day!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrie, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
The Department of Energy recommends; to conserve energy exterior windows should remain closed during the heating/ski season. We follow that recommendation.
We did have a Brazilian student, legally traveling on a J1 VISA. While, English is not her first language, her responses of ‘no’ and ‘I don’t know’ indicate that she does speak and understand English. Different questions may have produced other answers.
Yes, we do keep the outdoor hot-tub locked. We ask our guests to get the key and fresh towels from us when they wish to use the hot-tub. We do so in order to prevent local youth and out-of-state renters of abutting properties from using our guest’s hot-tub (sneaking in) without our permission or consent.
Michael Maston, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I do not understand the negative reviews. We found the owners to be very pleasant and accommodating. The breakfasts were very good. Probably the best pancakes I have had in a long time.

The room was very clean.The only reason i did not give it 5 stars is that the bed was very firm. Maybe some people like firm beds. But I think that the bed would be more comfortable if they had a mattress tyopper on it. Then it would be 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pap0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrie, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We thank you for your visit and for taking the time to say some nice words about us. We try to exceed the expectation of each and every guest. Do visit us again soon!
Michael Maston, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I have stayed at the Andrie Rose seven times now over the last few years, each time for a week in July when I have attended a class at Fletcher Farm Craft School in Ludlow. The Inn is warm and comforting place and truly a home away from home. Michael and Irene go out of their way to be excellent hosts, taking care of the little things, and, of course, feeding me the most AMAZING breakfasts, something different every day. The cookies and sweets sitting around the common spaces were welcome treats as well. My room had everything I needed (including air conditioning for a couple of unusually warm VT nights). There are no televisions in the individual rooms in the Main Inn, only one in a common room on the main floor. TV is not a priority for me by any means, but might be something others wish to know.

Michael and Irene care about their guests - they have always been interested in the work I do at my class at Fletcher Farm. The Inn is located right in the town of Ludlow, making a walk to dinner or shopping an easy task. I will absolutely always return to stay with them and encourage everyone to consider booking at the Andrie Rose.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arlene1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrie, Owner at The Pettigrew Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
We are very glad you enjoyed visit again this year. We look forward to your return visits for years to come.
Michael and irene Maston, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.1 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
268 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
0.3 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
4.9 mi away
Echo Lake Inn
Echo Lake Inn
#2 of 7 in Ludlow
114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Okemo Inn
Okemo Inn
#4 of 7 in Ludlow
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pettigrew Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pettigrew Inn

Property: The Pettigrew Inn
Address: 13 Pleasant St, Ludlow, VT 05149-1232 (Formerly Andrie Rose Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pettigrew Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet village street in the heart of Ludlow, VT, The Pettigrew Inn provides elegant accommodations and delicious meals featuring home-baked good and fresh, seasonal ingredients. Guests can choose from 14 luxurious King or Queen rooms, some with fireplaces and spa tubs. Only 1-mile from Okemo Ski Resort, and a stop on the Ski Area Shuttle route, The Pettigrew Inn is walking distance to village restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Pettigrew Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing