We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, convenient to Okemo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ludlow Colonial Motel

Ludlow Colonial Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Kinderhook, NY
2 reviews
“Lovely hotel, convenient to Okemo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

After reading mixed reviews, I was pleasantly surprised. Our King room was large and clean. The decor, while rustic, was fine for us. The bed wasn't the best, but was fine for one night. I loved that there were 3 windows, 2 luggage racks, a ski rack and wireless internet. The breakfast was perfect for pre-ski...waffles, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, juice, cereal, danish. Being mid-week and end-of-season, the hotel was pretty empty and quiet, so I can't vouch for how noisy it might be at other times. Overall, a pleasant stay and we plan to return again before all the snow is gone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiche_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    33
    16
    21
See reviews for
58
43
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Croton on Hudson, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

Convenience - yes - 1 mile from Okemo - a straight drive. Overall it was overpriced - and dirty upon arrival. Previous stay had a tray with coffee stains left out, had a small kitchenette and with food left on the bottom of sink - they cleaning staff never rinsed the sinks. Nor did they vacumn. They did change the towels. Would absolutely go back to Okemo - just not this property

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aliza3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ludlow hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

The deluxe suite, with two bathrooms, is an excellent accomodation for 4 people. The room we were in, was updated/clean/spacious.
The staff was friendly, polite, and helpful. The man & woman, who do the housekeeping do an excellent job.
The complimentary breakfast, has a large selection, was fresh, and even included homemade waffles, made to order. The location to okemo mntn. 5 minute drive, I'm so glad I didn't pay 2 - 4 K for a "chalet" on the mountain.
If you need a place with chandeliers, marble surfaces, and a concierge, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abcpickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

My family and I went up for vacation to go skiing. WE figured out that this hotel was a not a bad location to Okemo Mountain, that was one thumbs up about the place. Yet there were many downers to this hotel. 1. I arrived that night to find black hairs under my pillow, also on the bathroom towels. It wasn't just one hair there were many scattered around the small hotel room. 2. Being on the first floor stunk. The people above us would stomp on the floor all night, admitting us to NO sleep. Paper thin walls is what i call it. 3. The bathroom toilet made a VERY VERY VERY loud noise every time someone in the building flushed the toilet or washed their hands. 4. the breakfast was okay, they mostly had unhealthy foods like doughnuts, and waffles. I suggest eggs or more healthy foods. thought the food they had was quiet tasty. Overall i would not stay at this hotel UNLESS it was just for sleeping, if you were spending most of your after skiing time there i would spend more money for a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mooncake28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

My family stayed here at the Ludlow Colonial Motel back in March 2009. We needed a place to stay for one night (Saturday night)....because Okemo's Jackson Gore Inn did not have Saturday arrivals. We stayed at Jackson Gore Inn from Sunday to Wednesday.

The Ludlow Colonial Motel was very convenient for my family of four. We drove up to Vermont Saturday morning, skied at Bromley during the day and then drove the rest of the way up to Ludlow to stay the night. We knew what we were expecting with a Best Western Motel, so we knew that going in. We got a good nights rest in a decent, clean room and in the morning we had the typical on the run continental breakfast before heading over to Okemo first thing at 8 am for our day of skiing. This motel is conveniently located on the edge of town and only a few miles to either of the Okemo base areas.......we prefer the Jackson Gore area.

Overall we were satisfied with our 1 night stay....and in fact have booked the same arrangements for our 2010 annual trip to Okemo.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UTPOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

Found this hotel to be very clean. Good selection of rooms available without a reservation. Handy location. Free continental breakfast. Reasonable rates. I give 4 stars due to coffee at breakfast was weak, too watery. Reservation clerk had recommended a nice restaurant to dine at on a Tuesday evening. Took advice, drove to the restaurant only to find it closed every Monday and Tuesday. I thought reservation person should have known this if she was recommending the place. Minor matter but over all the hotel was a good value and stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bettyjean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

I ended up loosong 1 night's deposit of $200 because my kids had the flu. There are other motels in the area that have a more forgiving cancellation policy. This was President's vacation week, so I'm sure they double booked my room.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2727Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.6 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
2.1 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Motel
All Seasons Motel
#4 of 6 in Ludlow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andrie Rose Inn
Andrie Rose Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludlow Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludlow Colonial Motel

Property: Ludlow Colonial Motel
Address: 93 Main St, Ludlow, VT 05149-1057 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ludlow Colonial Motel)
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ludlow Colonial Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ludlow Colonial Motel! No trip to New England is complete without some skiing, theater and fine dining, which are all easy options from our Ludlow hotel. Visit the Okemo Ski Resort, one of the most beloved skiing destinations in Vermont. During the summer months, a trip to Echo Lake is a must for water recreation, swimming, boating and picnicking. Any time of year is a great time for an event at Weston Theatre or Weston Priory, conveniently close to Ludlow lodging. Whether you’re here to take advantage of the sunshine or visiting us during the winter months for a holiday season our friendly staff makes your stay special. Okemo Valley is home to Fletcher Farm School and the Okemo Mountain Resort. Just a short drive away is Okemo Valley Golf Club, a favorite destination for those looking for a relaxing escape. Whether the Bromley Ski Resort or hiking along the local trails are more your speed, you can enjoy everything this region has to offer when staying at this cozy, charming Ludlow, Vermont hotel. Business travelers in town with Mack Molding, Luzenac, Jeld-Wen® and Okemo Medical Center count on our Ludlow hotel to provide the best service in town. If you’re lucky enough to be here for work, staying at a supremely located property ensures that you can make the most of your down time. With Killington and Stratton Ski Resort 30 miles away, and Woodstock, VT and Manchester, VT drive-able, even a work trip can be a great vacation. Popular towns nearby for tourists make our Ludlow hotel a traveler’s favorite. You can drive to the bigger towns for special events, shopping and dining, but stay at our property to enjoy peace and quiet. We offer 38 deluxe rooms with a microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. A seasonal complimentary breakfast starts your morning off right, complete with hot waffles, sweet pastries, fruits and yogurt complemented with 100% Arabica coffee. Reserve a relaxing stay at Ludlow Colonial Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ludlow Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Ludlow Colonial Hotel Ludlow
Best Western Ludlow
Ludlow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing