We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect addition to Ludlow”
Review of Stemwinder

Stemwinder
Ranked #9 of 45 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Deep wine list eclectic food choices small and big plates for dining delectable cheese plates seasonal fondue
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect addition to Ludlow”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Intimate atmosphere with really good and different food. Such care was taken with building Stemwinder and the food fitts the atmosphere - unique! Small plates and good wines that are sure to please. A great casual addition to a great ski town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This charming restaurant is tucked behind a wine store. Lovely rustic atmosphere. We had a flight of red and white wines (shared)..the salad was a large enough to share. We had the salumi and sliders and molten lava cake for dessert, with prosecco. They have specials daily! Everything was perfect!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank masstraveler016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Great Tapas + Wine Bar”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The atmosphere is that of a small barn with a particularly nice stone top bar which looks directly into the kitchen. A wide selections of wines including $ 10 flights to try three varieties.
The dishes are small plates...not an entire meal, but fun to share. The food is unique.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Vermont
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's outta there....”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Thank you to Leslie and crew for hitting it out of the park! Fantastic atmosphere, excellent menu, and perfect price point. The small plate concept is great and allows for multiple tastes at the same sitting. Look forward to visiting every weekend if we could, and are waiting for Sunday Brunch to return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LudlowSkiBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Go in Hungry,Leave Impressed”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you give 10 chefs the same recipe with the same ingredients all the dishes will come out tasting fairly close to one another. That's cool when you need to be ordinary.When you find a chef that can take the ordinary and make it fantastic,now that is where I want to dine.The chef at the Stemwinder puts her artistic twist on every dish coming out of the open view kitchen.{ I had the Arctic char a rare find} Uniqueness is something that I search for when dining any where in the world. The combination of flavors in the first forkful told me about her entire repertoire. So two nights later I went back to indulge once more. Anticipation on the second visit was all that I expected-perfection-. One also needs to take time to look at the craftsmanship that went into the interior of the restaurant. Look around, there are many subtle nonpareil fixtures built into the rustic style you'd expect while in Vermont. As always, taste is everything. From my point of view The Stemwinder has panache both in food and ambiance. P.S. On the way out pick up a bottle of wine and some cheese in the shop adjacent to the restaurant.It'll add to the memories when re-connecting with friends. James M.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stemwinder also viewed

 

Been to Stemwinder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing