We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!!”
Review of Timber Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timber Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ludlow
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend flew to Vermont from Florida to go snowboarding and we just winged it on the hotel. Glad we choose this hotel. Very comfortable. Great service. Room was extremely clean and updated. Less than 5 minutes away from okemo for skiing. When we come back we will be staying here from now on!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Brandon210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 95 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We get to the hotel and check in after a 5 hour drive. The room is a frigid 56 degrees Fahrenheit. I guess to save energy if no one is in the room the owners turn it down but it took HOURS to get the room at a comfortable temperature. They advertised a room with a kitchenette including a fridge and microwave so we brought food to cook. However, they consider a "kitchenette" JUST a fridge and microwave. Nothing to cook on. When I questioned the owner, Glenn, he said it wasn't written in the description and when he went to check, he noticed his error and apologized but too late for us! You can definitely hear the people on the second floor and depending on their schedule, they can disturb you. The Jr. Queen Suite is small and the TV remote doesn't work unless you are just inches from the TV. The toiletries are just soap (and aspirin that expired a year ago) so bring shampoo etc if you need.
The pluses...housekeeping is decent, motel is extremely close to Okemo and not far from Killington. When we got to the room and noticed there wasn't enough plates, glasses, utensils for our entire party, we did request them and it all came quickly. Master bedroom bed very comfortable. Pull out sofabed was decent. The hot tub was enjoyed by the kids and it was very clean but no towels when you go so bring them from your room. There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance and a large supermarket (Shaw's) 1.5 miles up the road.
Not sure if I'd return but overall it was a relatively comfortable stay but just go knowing what you are truly going to get! For $200/night, I expected and understood there to be more for my money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Sojourn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed on the first floor in the renovated rooms. The room was very nice and the micro and fridge really helped out for packing lunches to bring to Okemo. The Village Pizza Shop is very close and reasonable if you want a quick bite. The town is close to hotel with a Dunkin Donuts and a Shaws food store nearby. We will definitely stay here again. The owner is very helpful and rooms were spotless. The hot tub and sauna were great features!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCodLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Our room, unit 1 was immaculate and very cozy. The rooms are newly renovated and really nice. There is a mini fridge and microwave for your convenience. The motel is located literally just two minutes driving from the downtown Ludlow bars and Okemo. Our room was very clean, and the sheet on the bed were actually the softest sheets I have ever slept in, really warm, perfect for Vermont's freezing cold weather. Spacious with a separate bedroom and then a living room with a couch and a cot already made and ready to go if you needed it.

We paid for two nights, but unfortunately my friend got hurt skiing around 10:00 in the morning. At 10:30 (checkout is 11) I called the owners, explained that we were going to go home and I was wondering if I could cancel the room for the second night as we would now not be needing it. They were very accomadating and understanding and even though I wasn't able to clear the room out until a little after 11, (making them have to pay their hourly cleaning staff more hours to stay and clean our unit for the next guest) they still refunded me for the night.

The other great thing was that it was only 119 a night, and it really was a nice place to stay. I know that prices vary during the season for holidays and busy weekends....but it was still a better rate than the rest, and again, really a high quality place to stay. Unfortunately, I did not get to experience the hot tub. I will surely choose to stay here throughout the season, and beyond.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timberinn, Owner at Timber Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Sorry your stay got cut short. We're saving you an even warmer seat in the Jacuzzi when you get the chance to come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed on the second floor. First room has tiny gnats and an overpowering musty odor. We were moved next door. Only saw one gnat and the musty odor was less prevalent. Wanted to air the place out but there was no screen in the rear window and no way to open the front window. Tried to use the 1974 AC unit to pull fresh air in but that didn't do the trick. Finally had to leave the front door and screenless back window hang wide open for about 20 minutes. Both mattresses were lumpy and needed replaced about 5 years ago. And all this for only $140! What a bargain!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timberinn, Owner at Timber Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Sorry to disappoint you during your recent stay. Our housekeepers take much pride in how rooms are cleaned and aired out between guests. Following Tropical Storm Irene's devastation and rebuild, most of our upstairs classic rooms also were recarpeted and got new pillowtop matteresses. Honestly, we're still recovering from the flood and are still missing a few important items, such as certain window screens. I'm sorry for not acting sooner to change that. Meanwhile, I would rather have offered you a renovated ground floor, but our policy regarding guests traveling with dogs relegates canines and their handlers to upstairs (older) rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We happened upon the Timber Inn Late one night while driving through Vt. We went to the office and were greeted by the owner and his dog - both very friendly. We had a choice of rooms - either newly renovated without ac or one with ac. We picked the redone room and we were not disappointed. I loved the furniture (high end pieces) and the rustic feel of the room. In the morning we got a glimpse of the grounds. I was sorry we were only passing through, I think this would be a lovely place to relax. Since it was August, skiing was not part of the ambience. It is simply a very nice motel with a very helpful owner and his dog! You cannot go wrong if you stay here.

Room Tip: Doopt for the recently renovated rooms, if they haven't all been finished yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were given a clean recently renovated room on the first floor. King bed, microwave and fridge but no hair dryer. Great shower and new TV. The only negative for me was the creaky ceiling. Every time the folks upstairs moved around my ceiling creaked like the sound effects from an old horror movie. Free wifi, no breakfast or coffee maker in room.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark n Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timberinn, Owner at Timber Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share a few thoughts about your recent stay. Our housekeepers show much pride in how rooms are cleaned and prepared. I've replaced the missing blow-dryer that must have walked off. We are early risers and coffee is usually ready before 6am. We don't offer in-room coffee, but always welcome folks to the office for a morning fix. Many guests also utilize the minifridges and microwave ovens in all rooms for a cool beverage or for something hot.
Perhaps we can generate some extra cash by offering the creaky ceiling sound to Hollywood. Certainly there are places to stay in Vermont that offer the silence and serenity of a cabin in the woods. The "sound effects from an old horror movie" analogy seems a bit severe when taken in context with value, location and convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.8 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
288 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
0.8 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
1.8 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Inn Motel

Address: 112 Rte. 103 S., Ludlow, VT 05149-9778
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: $126 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Timber Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms have spectacular view of Okemo Mtn. Recarpeted through out. Fully-renovated ground floor units feature upscale furnishings and tiled bathroom floors. Heitsmith family owned since 1986. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Timber Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing