We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this website totally is an understatment in the regards of quality...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jackson Gore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jackson Gore Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“this website totally is an understatment in the regards of quality...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

I have stayed at Jackson Gore many times and have NEVER been dissatisfied! I learned how to snowboard AND ski there at a young age and i found that all of the instructors were friendly and paid equal attention to everything and everyone as it was necessary. The room was clean and the food was good for a ski lodge. Beening an avid snowboarder I have gone 'boarding at many different places and have found that Jackson Gore and Okemo have the best range of slopes, for beginners to experts. After staying here I realized that it is a great place to bring my family for long weekends and is totally worth every cent. They often have 'movie night' for the kids and a characterist. There's also a cozy firepit for the family to make s'mores, and there's snow tubing. There are many otther fun things for the family to do together or separate. Being picky about where i stay and then go back, Jackson Gore passed my test by a mile.

  • Liked — there were no evident problems in there 'system'.
  • Disliked — gets crowded by the lifts on the weekend.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vacaygirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    89
    47
    17
    19
See reviews for
141
55
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

We stayed over Martin Luther King weekend with my husband and 4 children. We arrived before the crowds on Thursday night. They valet parked our car, unloaded our car and checked our skis(so easy)!!!! I was impressed with the lobby. It was large, had a pretty fireplace and a nice bar. The room was clean and looked fairly new. It is not a five star hotel but is great for a Vermont hotel. We were a family of six and we had a 1 bedroom suite. It is supposed to sleep 8 but we would have been more comfortable in a 2 bedroom suite.
I have never skied out West but I feel they are trying to make Jackson Gore similar to a western ski resort.
It was crowded during the holiday weekend and the lobby always seemed full of people. This was the only part that we disliked. The lobby seemed a little small the handle the large crowd.
The food at the hotel was good for Vermont. Again, it is not 5 star dining but the restaurants are very pretty and the food was pretty good.
It is very convenient to ski school and to the slopes. We just walked outside the hotel lobby and the lifts are right there. It is a very family friendly resort. We made smores in the lobby, went tubing, went in the indoor and outdoor pools. The ice skating rink was right in the parking lot. They also have a horse and carriage ride on the weekends. They have cross country skiing and snow shoeing at their golf course.
All in all it was a great little vacation. All the staff was very nice and accommodating. I cannot give it 5 stars because it is not a five star hotel but we did love it and will definitely go back there again!!!! It is a solid 4 star hotel in my opinion. As far as I know it is the best there is in Vermont. I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Almost everything
  • Disliked — The crowded lobby.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dgely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

We rented at 1 bedroom full kitchen with pull down queen bed also with a pullout sofa in living room with a king bed in bedroom.
Very clean and spacious room . Had a fireplace and we had a great view of the slopes. Beautiful amenities and the pool are was great especially for the kids. Treated very well, we ate at all the resturants , the best one the Colemans Tavern. Pricey but very good.
Everything is right there and the kids programs are awsome. We
loved it we are going back in March.

  • Liked — convience
  • Disliked — more dinner options
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjfiliault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

We were a family with 3 adults a 6 yr old and 8 month old and we stayed at Jackson Gore Inn in a 1 bedroom loft. Here is what we encountered with some good and bad and some tips for consideration.

First, when you talk to someone at reservations have them confirm in email. We are a military family and called to verify military discount where on the phone were told the discount would apply to spouse and upon arrival were told the lift ticket discount only applied to the active military person. Two other items told on phone were also NOT acknowledged upon arrival, so get it in writing.

Accommodations were nice and the kitchen was stocked well with the necessary items and included paper towels, garbage bags, and cleaning supplies as well as hair dryers. The room does not come with dryers or a lock box for valuables, but can be checked in at a safety box in lobby and dryers were down the hall on our floor at a cost of $1.50. The rooms could have supplied extra pillows and blankets, and as other review mentions the thermostat is hard to figure out. The other big issue we had was the actual process with check in at 5pm. We arrived at 4:15pm and had called earlier in the day and stated we might arrive between 2 and 3 and asked if we might be able to check in early and here again the lady said it should not be a problem, however they were not letting anyone check in before 5pm as we could see, because as soon as 5pm hit a bunch of people jumped into the line. Accommodations 4 Stars

The lobby area is nice and cozy a found it to be a popular place with people sitting around reading and talking etc around the fire with little mini smore kits to make smores, however the bar had one person working it and hard to get a drink.

My 6 yr old is first time skier and put her in the snow stars program and upon arrival the place was disorganized even for check-in people were waiting and filling the necessary papers. I left my daughter at 8:50 and came back to the building at 10:00am because I had not seen her on the bunny slope and they were still trying to get all the kids ready to go out with a ratio of 1:8, so I pulled my daughter out and very glad I did. The actual ½ day program for training is 10 am to 12 for slope time. We headed to the bunny slope and the good is they have a conveyer that allows the kids just to step on and it carries them a little way up and drops them at a very small slope to the bottom, however the young man working the conveyer apparently hated his job, he kept his hands in his pockets and watched as kids struggled and fell trying to get on the conveyer. His attitude was terrible and could not be more disappointed by what I saw for when the snow stars finally arrived on the slope I witnessed one little girl who had fallen and since the person working the conveyer was not interested did not stop the conveyer and the instructor struggling to help the girl, I did not feel she was in danger, as she was just down, but it was a little disheartening to know he was not paying attention and did not understand why they would have someone working the bunny slope conveyer who did not enjoy working with children. Snow stars program 1 star, would not recommend.

We were fortunate and had a good snow right before our arrival so the conditions were pretty good, however having skied in Colorado and by no means an expert, but would pick Colorado snow hands down as we found the conditions with an icy feel at a lot of places on the mountain. This area is absolutely beautiful and enjoyed the little town of Ludlow, but did not like enough to say I would go back to the Okemo Mountain, unless it was a distance decision. Another tip, if you want to ensure you get a family photo, call the photo people as we went to the photo spots 3 different times without any luck and missed a family photo.

I would like to add we arrived on Jan-2 and probably considered a very busy time and maybe the reason for some of our experiences.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2007

Luxury missing some important details...at the Jackson Gore Inn
Okemo is a pretty mountain in a pretty little town with all the resort amenties. For hardy skiiers the Mountain is not as big or challenging as White Face in Lake Placid but the resort atmosphere makes it a more luxurious vacation. Actually, the price of everything matches that luxury standard. We rented a Junior one bedroom suite for our family,two college age children and ourselves. We wanted a very comfortable holiday trip that our kids would enjoy and remember.The design of the suite was perfect for us . Each of our children had a queen size bed and we shared a very comfortable Murphy bed. A roll out couch was also available. There were, however, quite a few minor problems the management overlooked even after I had politely and quickly brought them to their attention .

The heat was set very high and the thermostat was impossible to figure out. It was at least 80 the whole time.
We could not enjoy the fireplace as the room was so hot.
The phone did not work.
The lights were missing from the murphy bed.
The main lamp on the side board did not work .
The light over the kitchen table did not work
The garbage disposal did not work.
There were no pillows for the main bedroom.
We had to pull out the refrigerator and plug it in.

None of these issues were addressed for us.We enjoyed the skiing, the skating , the health club. There were many great restaurants in town and the ski shops were very helpful and fun to visit. But I am very disappointed in the Jackson Gore Inn. These problems were simple ones that could have been fixed quickly and I would have become a frequent year round visitor.I had hoped to make this trip an annual family tradition but I am looking for another spot for next year.


Okemo is a pretty mountain in a pretty little town with all the resort amenties. For hardy skiiers the Mountain is not as big or challenging as White Face in Lake Placid but the resort atmoshere makes it a more luxurious vacation. Actually, the price of everything matches that luxury standard. We rented a Junior one bedroom suite for our family,two college age children and ourselves. We wanted a very comfortable holiday trip that our kids would enjoy and remember.The design of the suite was perfect for us . Each of our children had a queen size bed and we shared a very comfortable Murphy bed. A roll out couch was also available. There were, however, quite a few minor problems the management overlooked even after I had politely and quickly brought them to their attention .

The heat was set very high and the thermostat was impossible to figure out. It was at least 80 the whole time.
We could not enjoy the fireplace as the room was so hot.
The phone did not work.
The lights were missing from the murphy bed.
The main lamp on the side board did not work .
The light over the kitchen table did not work
The garbage disposal did not work.
There were no pillows for the main bedroom.
We had to pull out the refrigerator and plug it in.

None of these issues were addressed for us.We enjoyed the skiing, the skating , the health club. There were many great restaurants in town and the ski shops were very helpful and fun to visit. But I am very disappointed in the Jackson Gore Inn. These problems were simple ones that could have been fixed quickly and I would have become a frequent year round visitor.I had hoped to make this trip an annual family tradition but I am looking for another spot for next year.

  • Liked — resort atmosphere
  • Disliked — unfinished details in the suite
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stylematters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2007

we stayed for two nights, returning 12/23. Although the property is newish, 2003, it is showing signs of wear. I think they could do a lot more to improve on this hotel. Easy things like make the outdoor pool hotter, provide bigger pool towels, connect the Spring House to Jackson Gore so you don't have to walk outside. Still for location it is great. Coleman Brook Tavern was just ok. For those going gluten free, there is almost nothing to eat on the menu and the supermarket closest to okemo has nothing gluten free.

  • Liked — location to ski mountain
  • Disliked — bad food, cold pools
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctoradler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2007

Stayed at Jackson Gore Inn the first week of January 2007. The Jackson Gore Inn was all that was advertised. Very nice property with very nice accomodations. The fact that it is directly next to the Jackson Gore high speed quad lift makes it very convenient. When we go back to Okemo, we will definitely stay at Jackson Gore Inn again.

Pros:

Very nice property that includes:

Ski in/ski out
Ski check to store skis and poles
Fitness building with indoor pool
Outdoor heated pool
Two outdoor hot tubs
Sauna
Steam Room
Ice skating rink


Cons:

Make sure if you drive into town......drive the posted speed....the local police force is known for pulling over out of staters for only a couple of miles an hour over the speed limit..........and if you go out at night for some drinks.....have designated driver ready.....they park right outside the local hangouts....just looking for somebody to get...........

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UTPOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
4.4 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
1.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
2.1 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Gore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Gore Inn

Property: Jackson Gore Inn
Address: 111 Jackson Gore Road, Okemo Mountain Resort, Ludlow, VT 05149
Location: United States > Vermont > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackson Gore Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson Gore Village includes a variety of beautiful, classic and luxurious residences. In addition to the original Jackson Gore Inn, the adjacent Adams House and Bixby House offer larger, more spacious units with the newest furnishings in an ideal setting. Options include standard and executive rooms, studios, one and two-bedroom suites (some with lofts), up to 3-bedroom penthouses. Most units have a jetted tub and all have entertainment centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson Gore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Gore Hotel Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing