We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best value in Vermont” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D J's Restaurant

D J's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 45 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mount Holly, Vermont
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply the best value in Vermont”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

DJ's is always busy because they have a wide selection of excellent dishes, a fresh salad bar with lots of good stuff. Reasonable prices
for exceptional food. The Prime Rib is the best anywhere. Excellent Filet Minon, Roast crispy duck, Baked scallops. Excellent service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CEO25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    63
    33
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good standard American fare.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Entrees were large. Good standard fare. Family of 4 was $75.00. Salad bar was constantly refilled. They are only open during dinner. Close to Okemo.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
115 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A year ago..."Consistent, solid dining", what happened???!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have visited DJ's many times. I'd label it a "supper place". Nonetheless, we'd always get a pleasant meal, decent comfort food, inexpensive to moderate prices. We visited this past Saturday evening. Typically mobbed, but just reconfirms in my minds eye a packed place doesn't indicate what is about to be preented to you. I was actually visiting another Trip Advisor Ludlow Restaurant link, and saw a link to DJ's. Uponst clicking it, I saw Review after Review proclaiming this restaurant to be on the Pope's American Dining Itinerary!!! Then I noticed, I was on page 8 or 9 of the Reviews? Uponst clicking on pages 1 and 2, it was obvious 6 out of the last 10 Reviews are not too thrilled with what's going on in 'Real Time' at DJ's? We were extremely disappointed with this most recent sojourn. A party of 7, half of us couldn't finish due to the poor quality. A couple of folks thought it was OK, and one actually enjoyed the Duck Entree! How can you do Duck well... and then miss on simple Pasta meals...???!!! Nice wine and beer selection. Friendly Service. Chef on vacation?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sno-Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonawanda, ny
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wish I had chosen another restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This seems to be a nice place for an older crowd… perhaps senior citizens. The booths were nice and spacious. The food was plentiful, warm rolls, a salad bar ….menu choices seemed interesting. However, the older waitress recited choices in a monotone voice which made us chuckle. When the food arrived it was overdone… chicken cutlets very dark and Au-gratin, burned around the edges. Overall for the money spent, it was disappointing. The restaurant had been recommended by our hotel too… wonder why?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vintagejunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for big groups, food is nothing exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ate here with a big group (10 adults, 4 kids). Was easy enough for a big group with lots of kids. They seem used to getting groups this size. Service was good and quick. Menu is decent sized, food is OK. Nothing exciting. Prices are high but so is everywhere else in Ludlow.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CycleChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D J's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to D J's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing